We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ammos

Ammos
324 North Great Neck Road, Virginia Beach, VA (Northeast Virginia Beach)
+1 757-340-4343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ammos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,159 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Who would think a Greek restaurant would have the best beef! I finally went away from the standard Greek food (which is also very good) and ordered "Beef kabobs" they were excellent and at a very good price. Don't miss the Greek salad it's terrific.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    61
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

When my daughter decided to host a surprise birthday party for me, she visited Greek restaurants throughout the Tidewater area.After she dined at Ammos, she knew she had found the place that she would have cater the dinner. The moussaka was absolutely delicious. I appreciate all that the folks at Ammos did to help my daughter host a party that I will remember for years.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Tasty Greek food, delivered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We really didn't want to go out, so we were happy to discover that Ammos delivers. I ordered the Greek combo and my wife ordered the Gyro. They arrived at our room in less than 30 minutes, and the food was still nice and hot. We're by no means greek experts, but everything tasted great and we would order from there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our second visit to Ammos. Our first was several years ago. Both times we had coupons from restaurant.com. I didn't notice until Thursday evening that the certificate was not good on weekends but we went on Friday evening anyway because we were leaving on Saturday. When I asked about the certificate they said they would honor it because it was off-season. Both times when we've been there it has been dark but we did see that there is an outdoor area when the weather is nicer and the view would be fantastic, looking right out onto the ocean and boardwalk, Last time I had the sampler plate and found I could not eat it all so this time I had the gyro with a side of french fries. It was excellent! The fries are nice and crisp and were good and hot. I like my food to be hot! My husband had the mahi-mahi with sides of roasted potatoes and green beans with tomato. He really enjoyed everything. We think the menu said that the mahi would come with a sauce or salsa on it but it didn't. He didn't care. It was excellent without it. We decided to try the two types of baklava they have. One of each. We preferred the traditional one. We would definitely go again if we are back in Virginia Beach. (Free parking in the newly renovated hotel for off-season. Ammos is at the back of the first floor of the hotel.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephstr, Manager at Ammos, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent visit with us as Ammos. I was pleased to hear that this was your second visit and that you were pleased with your experienced both times. As a small family-run business we are grateful for our very loyal customers. For your next visit, I just wanted to clear something up about the mahi dish that your husband has so that it does not happen again. We actually have two types of mahi on our menu. Just the regular charbroiled ( the one your husband received)and the mediterranean style ( with the topping ). It could have been a misunderstanding with the server or perhaps you guys did not see it, however, next time make sure you ask for the mediterranean style. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Greek dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This restaurant was calm and on the boardwalk. they have outdoor and indoor seating. elegant and tasty Greek food. I recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ammos also viewed

 

Been to Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ammos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.