We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase. Save!!
Ranked #43 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My family has access to the pool via our family condo. The experience at the pool is what I can speak to though our family has a long history with the Marriott company which is excellent. Sarah A. Is the bartender at the poolside bar. She is amazing. She remembered us from the year before. She remembered us by name the second day we came back this stay and her service is always pleasant and great. We don't drink anything exotic but she remembers our drink, they are well made the way we like them and she makes our visit a great one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments. I am proud to hear that Sarah made such a difference in your pool bar experience. She will be recognized for her efforts. We appreciate your business as our neighbor and we look forward to the next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    249
    109
    28
    20
See reviews for
440
155
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend here - facilities are nice enough. Kind of odd that the outdoor hotel pool and restaurant aren't connected to the building and the bar/restaurant is only open until 8pm - even on weekends at the height of the summer! Same deal with room service. Our biggest complaint is, after returning from a long day at the beach, we found our room hadn't been cleaned. Wouldn't have been as big of a deal except the sheets on the bed were too small and kept popping off the corner all night (revealing a stained mattress - ew). We were hoping to at least have a newly made bed so we wouldn't have to fight with the sheets again. Housekeeping had been in the room next to us that morning and we had very briefly put our do not disturb sign out while we quickly changed clothes for the beach. When we returned later that day (around 5:30pm) and found the room uncleaned, we called the front desk to request someone to come up. We were told we had left the do not disturb on all day and it would not be cleaned. We absolutely did not leave the do no disturb on!! We went to the front desk to discuss it with the manager, not to get a discount or complain - just to get our room cleaned. She was incredibly rude and kept cutting my husband off. She assured us that the housekeeping staff always checks and they would not have made a mistake. The situation was handled very poorly - for over $350/night I would expect much better customer service. Too many other options on the beach!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback seriously, and have thoroughly researched this matter. Your comments have been addressed with our team for improvement, as this is not the type of service we strive to provide. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I only stayed here 1 night, sight unseen. I was with my three children. The room was HUGE with two rooms and a bathroom. The view and balcony were beyond our dreams...sun rising pictures were great!

We saw dolphins from our room...staff was great...lobby clean and nice. Price for the room was very reasonable (off season - the week after Labor Day 2103). Little kitchen area was great with plenty of cabinet room, sink, microwave and refrig.

I will be staying here again!

Walk out to the beach!

We did use the pool, very intense chlorine smell, but clean.

Room Tip: high up - nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your stay. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. Positive guest comments, such as yours, are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve. We look forward to being your home away from home whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here several nights and were not disappointed. The service was great and the amenities were as advertised. There is an indoor pool that is great for children. This came in handy when it rained on afternoon while we were here. The excellent outdoor pool has a full service bar and restaurant that has reasonable prices. Sometimes when you go to a tourist city like Virginia Beach you expect to be nickel and dimed but the outdoor pool restaurant had reasonable prices and excellent service. There is easy beach and boardwalk access and a shower just outside the hotel to rinse off the sand before coming back to your room. The breakfast was good but I would recommend trying to get breakfast before 8:30-8:45 because the line gets very large. There are many dining options and beach shops withing walking distance Our room was clean when we arrived and the balcony had a high latch to keep children from wandering outside when they are not supposed too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased everyone enjoyed their time here. It's great to read you made the most of your trip by taking advantage of all our amenities! Thank you for comments and we hope to see you again soon! Have a fantastic year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just got back from spending a week at Springhill. On the plus side, the rooms are oceanfront and have a gorgeous view of the spectacular beach. Also the breakfast was included in the room price and it was good quality. The rooms, however, leave a lot to be desired for the price. Our rug was dirty, the tub didn't work and the housekeeping staff did not got out of their way. A lot of people we knew were staying there and had cleaner rooms than ours so maybe it was a fluke but the room had an overall dirty feel to it . Would DEFINITELY go back to Virginia Beach , it was beautiful and a great place for the family. Wold do more research into the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your feedback. We will use your comments to improve our operation. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spent one night here in an oceanfront room. The view from my balcony was spectacular however, the cleanliness of the room needed improvement. I would have rated the hotel much higher had the room been cleaner. The location is great and the beach is huge.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your feedback. We will use your comments to improve our housekeeping operation. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Springhill this week. By far, the best part of our stay was the poolside service. Our server, Leslie was so kind and attentive, even to our small children. Even though we weren't big spenders, we felt valued by her and the other outdoor pool staff. We also really appreciated that the prices were really reasonable. Where can you get a glass of iced tea or pop for $2 with free refills? It made us feel like the hotel valued us as customers and weren't trying to gauge us at every turn. Can't say enough about that part of our experience.

The breakfast was really good and free, which is always a plus. They might want to rethink the way it is served because the line is pretty long after 8:30. A little hard to manage with small kids, but the food is hot and there are plenty of options. Also, one day when the line was particularly long, one of the employees came down the line with little samples of sweet bread. What a great touch!

We had one small problem with being charged for a night that should have been points, and it was resolved quickly, but did cause a minor inconvenience as the funds were held at the bank for the rest of our stay. Front desk staff were very apologetic and worked to resolve the problem to the best of their ability.

Location was great. Facilities were nice, but the main reason I would come back is the staff. Though our beat experiences were poolside with Leslie, everyone else we ran into smile and greeted us.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel and the kind words about our staff. We are glad that you had such an extraordinary stay with us while you were visiting the Virginia Beach area. We are lucky to have people like Leslie on our team to give such great attention to our guests and provide the kind of service that we strive for. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.