We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Home Run!!, Thanks Nikki and Staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Home Run!!, Thanks Nikki and Staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was my second time back to this hotel and the staff and hotel were wonderful. This time, my brother and his wife also stayed in the next room based on my recommendation. Rooms were clean. The most comfortable beds and pillows I ever slept on. The staff was wonderful. The only problem was the ice machine was not working on our floor. Brought that to the staff's attention and it was fixed the next day. The pool, oceanfront view, and nearby entertainment was awesome. Everything within walking distance. Quit reading this and book a room at this hotel!!!

John McCauley, Alexandria

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your return visit! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and are glad your brother joined you this trip. We look forward to seeing you again next September and hope you have a peaceful and prosperous year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    237
    99
    27
    17
See reviews for
423
145
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at this Marriott! Our room (on the 14th floor) had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. The balcony was just big enough to sit out on at night and in the morning to enjoy the view. There happened to be a wedding at the hotel during our stay and we were able to witness the occasion from our balcony! The bar and pool were so much fun! We thoroughly enjoyed talking to the bartenders, learning about the hotel and Virginia beach and surrounding areas. The bartenders (especially Sarah and Patrick) were very sociable and made us feel at home! Our room was very clean and we honestly had no complaints about our vacation! The breakfast was good and worth waiting in the line! I would highly recommend this hotel and hope your experience is as good as ours! :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the 14th floor and did not hear anything throughout our stay. It was very quiet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind comments. I am proud to hear that Sarah & Patrick made such a difference in your stay. They will be recognized for their efforts. We appreciate your taking thetime to complete a review and look forward to the next time you can visit us in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is our 2nd time back - a girlfriends long weekend and I don't think we'll ever stay anywhere else.
Why we like it: the valet parking (which they don't have after Labor Day I don't think), the parking is free and on site, the front desk staff is always friendly (especially Shay) - check-in is always a breeze, clean rooms, comfy beds and pillows, amazing views because each room is oceanfront, even the sunset from the hallways is gorgeous because of the huge windows!!
The free hot/cold breakfast buffet - nothing to complain about. Love the grits and the selections change. Can the line get long? Yup! But oh well, just get up a little early and enjoy the beautiful view from the dining/lobby area. We were there 9-11 to 9-15 so the lines weren't bad at all.
The Turkish students working for the Summer are AMAZING!! Super friendly, always lending a hand and working non stop!!!
The pool (outdoor) and the pool bar - by far some of the best and friendliest staff - Patrick, Alexus, Alicia, John S, Sarah A and Jon F (manager). Great drinks, specials, food and service!!! I think we had the blackened tuna bites and Old Bay wings every day for the 5 days we were there!! YUM. Oh and the chicken salad sandwich too . . .delicious, hot, quick, affordable food and the portions are plentiful.
And we LOVE the sound of the jets going overhead during the day - it's all part of the VA Beach experience.
We always met the friendliest people here too and we always make amazing memories!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy everyone enjoyed their time here. It's so great to read you made the most of your trip by taking advantage of all our amenities! We appreciate your return business and thank you for your comments on the staff. We look forward to to seeing you for next years getaway weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in August and really enjoyed our stay. Staff is very friendly, hotel is very clean, breakfast was good every morning (go early to beat the rush), elevators were quick, and the room was nice. If anything could be improved, the pullout bed could be better (seems they are all bad though), the pool is unfortunately around the side of the building and the indoor pool is small, but these were minor drawbacks. We really liked the location on the southern end of the beach as it wasn't as busy. Be prepared for the Navy jets overhead, but that a VB issue not one for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your thoughts about your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here. If you are ever back in the area we hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We used our Marriott points for one night here. Location was ideal, right on the ocean and near lots of food choices. Pools indoor and our were small but nice and overall well maintained.
Breakfast was ample with tons of choices and while it was crowded the staff were all very pleasant and good at keeping tables clean and breakfast items filled.

Room was nice overlooking the beach. Balcony had chairs to sit out and there was a nice mini bar area with a fridge to keep our drinks. We would chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs and hope we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again for your next getaway to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We have always stayed at Marriott hotels since I traveled for work and accumulated points. Last summer we decided to trade some of those points in towards our vacation at Springhill Suites and once again Marriott exceeded our expectations. The breakfast buffet is amazing, both pools are clean, and the staff goes above and beyond to deliver customer service. The view is also unbeatable and the location allows you to walk to a number of attractions and restaurants. After staying last summer we decided to get the Marriott rewards card and we are back for our second year, experiencing the same five star experience for a phenomenal price!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your return visit! It is guests like you that give us the motivation and the incentive to provide the best service and vacation experience possible. We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed 3 days (after Labor Day) at this hotel and have to say it was very, very nice! The check-in was smooth and quick. Kudos to Keith M. he was professional, knowledgeable, and friendly.

All rooms overlook the ocean. My room had a sitting area, micro-wave and mini fridge. And both areas had 32in flat panels, a nice touch for NFL kick-off :)

Now for my particulars;
The room was very clean with plenty of hot water and the bed was very comfortable. Pillows were fluffy and the towels were fluffy as well.
The hotel had decent amenities - full breakfast, a small workout facility and a small indoor pool with hot tub.
For the outdoor pool, hmm... you have to walk about 50yds to get to it. It looks like it belongs to the hotel next door but it's actually the Springhill's. It was nice. It had a bar, served food from 12-5, and was a nice place to hang out. But the water was freeeeeeeezing!

There are plenty of places to eat along the beach; pick one. I found this place called Bubbas (about 15 mins) away from the beach; excellent food! Well worth the drive

Although this review does not say a lot about the hotel and surrounding area, overall, if I were to travel to VAB, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit! We appreciate your choosing our hotel and I'm glad you were pleased with the service you received from Keith. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.