We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase. Save!!
Ranked #41 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great view. I like that the balconies feel private since there is a little bend in them. Nice location being at the end of the boardwalk. Fun to watch the surfers. The front desk and valet very nice. The room looked clean, it just didn't feel clean if that makes sense. There was sand in the bar sink and a towel left on the bathroom hook. But the beds were crisp and fresh towels so I slept great and got to see the ocean so I was happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team to improve their focus. We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review and hope you will visit us again when you take a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    249
    108
    28
    20
See reviews for
439
155
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good first:
Nice room - plenty of space
Every room is oceanfront with a balcony
Good free breakfast every morning with lots of choices and lots of seating
Indoor and outdoor pools
Quiet with rooms only on 1 side of the hallway

The not so good....
Rooms were sprayed with an excessive amount of air freshener that was overpowering
Indoor pool has no ventilation so you can't stay in there without burning eyes
Employees are allowed to park on the ramps in the garage - blocking traffic
Key cards are very particular and had to be reprogrammed frequently during our stay
Outdoor pool is actually at the hotel next door - weird?!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share some of your thoughts about your stay with us. I am pleased you were able to enjoy our amenities. I apologize for the confusion on the parking garage. Occasionally associates move their vehicles around to accommodate guests oversized vehicles, which results in temporarily parking on the ramp. If you are ever back in the area we do hope you will choose to stay with us again. Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just got back from our short 2 night stay in VA Beach. Not our first, but our first at this hotel. I've read other reviews about the friendly and helpful staff and have to concur. From the Valet that helped unload the bags, to the housekeeping crew, to front desk. All friendly and helpful. We requested a crib and within minutes of getting to the room, it was brought up. We've used hotel cribs before, but have had to call a few times to see where it is.
The room was nice, definitely liked the separate sleeping area. The pullout sofa wasn't the most comfortable, but how many are. The views were fantastic. We didn't use the outdoor pool, but used the indoor pool every time we came back from the beach, since the little one didn't like the waves. Water was warm, but the chlorine in the air really got to you after a while so we couldn't spend much time there.
Breakfast was nice, eggs, sausage, french toast and off course make your own waffles. Plenty of coffee, I went down in the afternoon for a "pick me up cup" and there was only a little stale coffee. I mentioned it to the front desk. She went straight away to take care of it, and a couple minutes later a fresh pot.
The internet was something that was lacking. We were on the 10th floor all the way at the end and connection was spotty at best.
Kids want to go back and will definitely look at staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent trip. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at our hotel and am glad our staff was accommodating during your stay. I do apologize that you experienced issues using the wireless internet in your guestroom, but we have since identified the problem and look forward to your visiting again the next time you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We searched all of the Marriotts along the beach front and the Sprinhill looked great. The hotel seemed a little beat on and need of some upgrading but overall was OK. The highlight of the weekend was Sarah at the Beach Bar by the pool. Her service was perfect and the drinks were great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words about Sarah and taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We take great pride in the service we provide to our guests and when we hit the mark it is very satisfying. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First visit to VA Beach and stayed here for 3 nights. I thought it was a nice hotel overall. Clean room and great balcony overlooking the beach. Good breakfast. Everything you need. Friendly staff. From what I've seen, probably one of the better hotel options. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to inform us about your visit. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We do hope to see you again when you return to the Virginia Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were a nice size with 2 queen size beds, a seperate toilet/shower room and sink. The room also had a sitting room with a seperate TV and pullout couch. The kitchette was equiped with a microwave and coffee pot with dishes. The breakfast buffet was the best continental breakfast I have ever had. It was well stocked with scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, 2 kinds of waffles, 3 types of dry cereal, hot oatmeal station and pasteries. The beach front was very nice and accessible with plenty of room to spread out. The pool was also a nice size with plenty of seating and a nice pool side bar and grill. Also loved the fact there was a restroom by the pool as well as pool towels. Many nice restaruants nearby. Subway and Dippin' Dots right across the street. Would stay here again! This made my first trip to Virginia Beach very memorable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs and hope we exceeded your expectations. I am pleased we made your first trip to our area a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again for your next getaway to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not only was my room extremely clean, modern and comfortable, but the staff were the kindest group of workers I have had the pleasure of being around. The Pool Bar staff, especially Sarah A. and Jon F. were the most customer service oriented individuals I have encountered in a very long time. Springhill Suites is fortunate to have these two individuals on their staff. They alone, make me want to re-visit this facility the next time I am in Virginia Beach.

The hotels breakfast offered a great variety of choices. The downside is that the lobby area where you can enjoy breakfast tended to be quite hot, making it uncomfortable to eat in the space at times.

Unfortunately, even with their staff's hospitality and good breakfast, it must be mentioned that future guests should be aware of the hotels lack of properly securing their poolside umbrellas. Several umbrellas flew out of the umbrella stands, one even landing right on my face as I was reading a book poolside. The hotel secured the umbrellas after the incident, but a day later, the same thing occurred. The hotel needs to do a better job at ensuring that their guests are able to enjoy a safe, free from harm poolside experience. They lacked at this immensely during my stay.

Room Tip: I heard after the fact that choosing an oceanfront room on the 2nd floor provides a much larger pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is our goal to provide the best service and vacation experience possible. I am pleased Jon and Sarah had a positive impact on your visit. We will look into the umbrella issue that you described and see if we can combat this with a better strategy. Thank you for your review and we can’t wait to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.