We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean views...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great ocean views...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the possibilities of a beach vacation......Breakfast is complimentary and very good. A large buffet awaits you with plenty of choices. There is a nice sitting area as well as a small kitchenette. You can not cook in this kitchenette, but you can heat up in a microwave....clean, well kept up and reasonably priced for what you get...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your stay. I am please you enjoyed your time here. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. Positive guest comments, such as yours, are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve. We look forward to your visiting again whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    231
    94
    27
    16
See reviews for
411
143
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here for our honeymoon and really loved it. The room was beautiful and immaculent, and we had a fantastic ocean view from our balcony. We made good use of the amenities, indoor pool and hot tub..so relaxing. As well as the complimentary breakfast, this was great and unexpected, there was an assorment of hot foods each morning not the typical cereal at most places. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We walked in directly from our wedding reception exhausted and everything was ready for us.
We really had a wonderful stay and will for sure go back.
Thanks to our housekeeping staff too..Melissa even left us a note congratulating us on our marriage. So sweet!

Room Tip: We were on 12th floor in a suite, this was quiet, clean, great view. Stay on ocean side if you enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here and honored to be a part of your special day. I am glad Melissa's personal touch made a positive difference in your stay. Thank you for comments and we hope to see you again for your anniversary, if not sooner! Congratulations on your nuptials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

They bill this as an all suite hotel because all the rooms offer an additional sitting area as well as a form of a kitchette. I have stayed in many of these types of rooms before and this one was dissappointing due to it's layout. One walks into the room to immediately face the kitchette area which is mere feet away from the door; in my room to the left was a small sitting area best described as an alcove. Both of these areas held little functionality due to their layout, and were unappealing because they were crammed into the back with no natural light; to me, they felt motelish. Farther in was the bed, before the slider to the balcony. This area was fine, and was the only space really used. I just felt a bit decieved by the all suite billing, as the room would have been fine as a standard hotel room w/o the "suite" area.

The location itself was great. Good beach of course, boardwalk right there. The building did front the water, no obstructions. Ok pricing, though I felt a tad elevated due to it's billing.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to inform us about your visit. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and want to thank you for teaching us how to serve you better. I can understand your confusion between the studio suite you stayed in and our one bedroom suites and will forward this feedback to Marriott. We do hope to see you again when you are traveling to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Going in the off season end of Oct 2012, the indoor pool was very important for our family vacation. The ceiling was dripping water, floors slick, I felt that I was in a wet cave. All pool windows were soaked with water. In the hallway entrance the windows were sweating so bad you could not see the pool. You could not see out the windows to the beach. Breeding ground for mold.The rooms are nice but so far I'm disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. I surely understand your frustration with the pool area. As I explained while you were still here, a compressor for the dehumidification system unexpectedly went down and was on order for repair. Fortunately the pool and whirlpool themselves are still functioning properly, and I do hope your family still took advantage of them. Again, I'm sorry we disappointed you but hope you will consider staying with us again in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We traveled here in early September and could not have been happier. Wonderful location, nice breakfast, and most importantly for me, an outdoor pool, which very few VB hotels have. It's nice being right on the boardwalk with easy access to everything.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I hope our location and service exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review and are pleased to hear you will visit us again when you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

just spent a few days while in town for a wedding and to see some friends. room was great was clean and good size great view of the ocean. ck in was perfect. we got there about 11pm after an 8 hour long drive i think the young man was rashad not 100% sure but any way he had us in out room in 3 min was happy to see us and did a great job. even the other young man at the desk kept his cool when some jerk trying to also ck in was giving him a hard time.only down sid is there are only 6 handicap parking spots that were filled at all times and there is not enough parking in general. as i was with a disabled person we had to park in the 4th floor of the lot which was the last parking in the place and use the elevators to go to the lobby then back up to the 14th floor. if we did not get that space we would have had to go to either the street or a public garage which would have meant a lot of walking back. would have been nice to have a handicap spot to use. other then that a good stay in a good location

Room Tip: beach view 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent trip. I am glad our staff was accommodating during your stay. I do apologize that you experienced parking issues. Unfortunately it can be a challenge during busy times, but we are testing options that may improve it in the future. We look forward to your visiting again the next time you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Loved the hotel. Staff was very friendly and our housekeeper Nina was great. Called down to the front desk for more towels and blankets, and we had them within 5 minutes. Amazing service. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your thoughts about your stay with us. Your compliments of our team are very much appreciated. If you are ever back in the area we hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.