We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly and Great Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill

RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill
1601 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
757 213-7625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 1,238 restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The oceanfront's only Beatles memorabilia themed restaurant that offers a fun and casual boardwalk atmosephere with inside and outside patio dining and simply prepared fresh seafood for the entire family.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Friendly and Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family has been going to Rockfish since they opened. This continues to be our go-to spot. The kids love it because it's upbeat and we love it because the food is extrodinary. The staff is energetic. No slow service here! Our server Sam Stephens was on the ball every moment. My water glass stayed full. Overall, it's always a very pleasant experience. Our family highly recommends Rockfish! Oh, earlier in the week we had a server named Spencer (didn't catch his last name) and he was an amazing person too! Thank you Rockfish for always making our vacation over the top!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    141
    56
    47
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service, Excellent Food, Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was an amazing evening. The appetizers (jumbo steamed shrimp) were fantastic, the drinks were tasty and the service was outstanding. For dinner we both had the Crab Stuffed Flounder and can not rave enough about it. The only problem that we have is that there is not one of these restaurants closer to our house. We will definitely be stopping here every time we are in the Virgina Beach area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not sure why such good reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate here later on a Friday evening (around 8) our first night arriving. party of 5 but were told was self seating on patio as was wait for restaurant (told same menu, etc.). Service was simply awful and food was just average. Server continuously forgot about us and other tables around us (i.e. had to ask for menus, had to ask for silverware). Then when food finally arrived, 4 people in party had food arrive and my meal took another 10 minutes (was just salmon so shouldn't take that long). I insisted everyone eat so they all finished while I waited except for my husband who refused until my food arrived so his was cold. Mgr came out and apologized but got defensive when I complained as this was one of many issues we had had. He took 20% off bill but I would never recommend. Also, bar patrons were there visiting their girlfriends who worked there, lots of inappropriate comments and just a general "casualness" amongst the staff who were hanging with their friends while they were supposed to be working and having no regard for language around customers/families. It's a shame since place has great spot on beach and outdoor location but I would never go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was here last weekend and had a blast! Regardless of the fact that it was slammed our bartender Justin gave us incredible service and recommendations. The manager Dave came by and couldn't have been nicer and grateful for our patronage. We will definitely be back sooner than later!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Came down to the beach for a night out and had a great meal. This was our first time at Rockfish...We sat outside and had a great view of the beach! My husband had the crab stuffed flounder and I had the signature crab cakes...both were delicious! We will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave1897, General Manager at RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I am so glad to hear you guys enjoyed your trip to Virginia Beach. We are very glad you stopped by while you were here. The signature crab cakes are very good indeed, I actually had them for lunch today myself. I hope you guys will come back and see us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill also viewed

 

Been to RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RockFish Boardwalk Bar and Seagrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.