We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2420 Arctic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a few days here in the off-season and still found it to be a perfect experience. Our hosts were lovely and presented us with a delicious breakfast each morning. The facilities were also excellent, with an outdoor hot tub, jacuzzi tub in the room, and a giant shower! They provided us with excellent recommendations for local restaurants within walking distance. Overall, one of the best experiences we have ever had.

Room Tip: We chose the Princess Anne room which provided both an excellent shower and jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    32
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
162
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a delight this little inn is! Our inkeepers, Sharon and Rich, were so down to earth, real and just a delight as hosts. Our room was clean and very nice. The inn had a nice scent of lavender in the room and hallway leading up to our room. The "spa" is a hot tub and that is all but we didn't care since we aren't hot tub people. It is a beach style B&B, not a lot of fluff or high end snooty type but just relaxed and home-like. They had a "guest's pantry" equipped with a full size refrigerator for our leftovers, a microwave, plates and silverware for our needs for a late night snack. A nice touch! We also took advantage of borrowing back pack style chairs to take to the beach and an umbrella. Rich even gave us beach towels to take down since we forgot ours. We were first greeted with wine and some cheese/crackers. The breakfasts were awesome but not "light" in nature. Very savory. As a matter of fact, one day is "sweet" and one day is "savory". Delicious would decribe them overall. Rich is a great chef. Sharon is down to earth and will become your BFF in minutes. Overall, this trip was a 4+ out of 5. We would consider going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Newcastle with a King Bed. It is their only room approved ADA. Other than that, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place did not disappoint for our anniversary getaway, booked because we wanted something close to the beach but not a chain - we found this quaint little bed and breakfast just a few blocks from the beach, our hosts were very caring and we highly recommend Helena - great massage therapist! We stayed in the Princess Anne suite on the 2nd floor. The breakfast was quite good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great location a few blocks from the hustle and noisy oceanfront. So much better than the chain hotels right on the ocean.

The owner and stafff wanted you to feel at home. Our room was neat and clean and breakfast was fantastic. Took some getting use to the "Hammam" shower, but if you try it you will like it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

It was the first weekend away trip for my spouse and I before we married. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfasts defined "gourmet," and the hosts Sharon and Rich were wonderfully responsive. The location is a two block walk to the beach and provided just enough distance so that we had privacy and quiet. A fabulous find and very pleasant weekend get-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Beach Spa B&B on 5th July and were met with a very warm welcome from the Innkeepers Sharon and Rich. There were four in our party and we stayed in the Avamere suite. The room had a private balcony and had a large jet spa shower, and two bathroom sinks. We were there during a heat wave and the room was great to chill out in the air con! The breakfasts were amazing with Rich making something different and innovative everyday. We would begin breakfast with fresh fruit - baked honey grapefruit and poached pear in sangria to name a couple. This was followed by either a savoury or sweet dish, my personal favourites were the homemade quiche and asparagus, Rich's unique French toast and the baked apple pancakes. Rich and Sharon were very accommodating to our needs, they remembered our names and considered our likes and dislikes when serving our breakfast. Coming from England we do love a nice cup of tea! They even provided us with a teapot and milk on our table each morning to facilitate this! Beach Spa B&B is located only a couple of blocks from the beach so you can leave the car at the B&B and walk to the beach in approx five mins. We also made use of the hot tub and the communal fridge in the guest pantry. We also hired an umbrella, two chairs and two beach towels for $10 which we thought was a good deal and saved room in the car. It was our first time at Virginia Beach and our stay at the Beach Spa B&B added to making it such a wonderful experience. We would seriously consider making it an annual trip here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our stay at this amazing b&b was just that...amazing. The "Innkeepers" Sharon and Rich were friendly, attentive and just welcomed you with their charm. The breakfast that we had during our stay was 5 Star chef quality. They pay attention to each and every guest, allergies, likes, dislikes...the food was top shelf. They know the area and were very helpful in our stay. The beach is just a couple of blocks away. So you are close to the beach, store fronts but far enough away to have a quite evening if you wish. We will bring our kids back next time. We have already chosen this location for our second honeymoon in the future.

Room Tip: the fitness center I am gaging with the walking we did on the beach, store fronts and restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2420 Arctic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Luxury Mini Spa Resort Voted #1 Spa Bed and Breakfast in America, Coziest Inn by Southern Living, and one of the most eco friendly Inns on the East Coast by Shape Magazine. The Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast is centrally located to some of the best Restaurants in Virginia. Only 2 blocks to the boardwalk and one more step and you're on the beach. The charming beach cottage, circa 1937, has been transformed into a mini spa resort. Majestic porches, butterfly bushes and a cascading waterfall welcome guests into the enchanting retreat. Historical post cards decorate the Inn. Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast is a great alternative to hotel accommodations and perfect for a romantic getaway. Book your wedding party or anniversary enlightenment.All 8 beautifully appointed rooms feature private bathrooms which may include hydro body massage, steamer, rainfall shower, Travertine tile or jetted tub. HDTV, cable, internet hookups, WiFi are throughout, accommodating the business traveler and vacationer alike. A 3rd floor spa tower awakens your senses to a warm ocean sunrise and the year round heated outdoor spa pool rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Beach Spa b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.