We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant

Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant
3001 Atlantic Avenue, Hilton Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
+1 757-213-3473
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 31st Street & Atlantic Ave
Description: As Virginia’s only AAA 4-Diamond Steakhouse and recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Salacia offers an unparalleled oceanfront dining experience featuring culinary delights, artistic presentation and extraordinary service in an intimate environment.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very upscale. Nice evening and good food. Pricey. Atmosphere is wonderful and service is impecable. Scenic view on the beach inside of Catch 31 for entry.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for dining with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed everything and had good time. I hope we can earn the 5th start from you on your next visit. Please let us know if we could be of any service.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    36
    13
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another Enchanted Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

In a fine dining experience, the service and ambiance is as important as the meal itself. Again, Salacia masters all three exceptionally well.

We had recently tried the seafood fare at Salacia and were amazed. As they are Virginia's only AAA 4-Diamond Steakhouse, we were anxious to return and try the steak as well. We were NOT disappointed.

We took advantage of Virginia Beach Restaurant Week, during which time Salacia offered a 3 course meal for $30 from the following prix fixe menu:

COURSE 1 CHOICES (choose one)
1. "Unrivaled" Lynnhaven Oysters
Steamed or Raw, Traditional Accompaniments, Half Dozen
2. Petite Wedge Salad
Crisp Wedge of Baby Iceberg, Bleu Cheese Dressing, Diced Onion, Chopped Bacon, Vine Ripe Tomatoes
3. Virginia Riesling Poached Pear Salad
Endive, Hill Country Bleu Cheese, Frisse and Miniature Green Lettuces, Maple Walnut Vinaigrette

COURSE 2 CHOICES (choose one)
1. Petite Filet
Plum Tomato, Grilled Asparagus, Steak Fries, Béarnaise, Natural Reduction, 1500° Degrees
2. Pancetta Wrapped Atlantic Flounder
Creamy Eastern Shore Clam Risotto, Confetti Carrots and Leeks, Garlic, Sautéed Winter Spinach
3.Hardwood Grilled Rib Eye
Gruyere Potatoes, Whiskey Mushroom Sauce, Spinach, Squash, Gratin Tomato, Rosemary

COURSE 3 CHOICES (choose one)
1. Butterscotch Crème Brule
Caramel Corn, White Chocolate and Macadamia Nut Clusters
2. Chocolate Ganache
Rich Chocolate Ganache Cake, Cracked Almonds, Brandied Cherries, Pistachio Gelato

We started with Lynnhaven Oysters. Our waiter suggested a glass of champagne to compliment the oysters, which was amazing.

For our 2nd course, I had the Petite Filet and my wife ordered the Hardwood Grilled Rib Eye. Both steaks were cooked to perfection and were amazing in taste and presentation. Those who know us will tell you that we're a bit picky about our steaks. I know it's clichè, but as a native Texan I consider myself somewhat of a steak connoisseur (snob). This may be the best restaurant steak I've had outside the state of Texas.

Finally, for dessert, my wife had Butterscotch Crème Brule and I had the Chocolate Ganache. To say they were decadent is an understatement, but there really is no other way to describe them.

The service here is unrivaled.

We have since visited another local "fine dining" establishment that I will be reviewing in the near future. They would do well to take a lesson from Salacia in service and presentation.

We look forward to our next visit to Salacia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your business, great review and returning guest! We strive for perfection and I am glad to hear that you always have great time with us and keep returning. We appreciate your business and are looking forward your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Salacia takes you on an unforgettable and delectable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

After having resided in the Hampton Roads area for nearly 8 years, my husband and I finally experienced fine dining at its best! Your tastebuds and appetite will praise you for treating them to Salacia! Don't let the intimate location or cost keep you from dining at this establishment. Reservations and veranda seatings are highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you very much for dining with us and taking the time to review us. We appreciate your business and are looking forward your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection continues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Salacia is still the place to dine in Virginia Beach when you're counting on a perfect experience. The superb professional service, atmosphere and cuisine leave nothing to be desired. Getting every detail right for your evening out really matters to the management and staff in this calm, elegant blue grotto by the sea.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your business and nice review. We are happy to learn that you had a perfect experience with us and enjoyed what we do here at Salacia. If we can assist with anything in the future, please let us know.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had dinner tonight again at Salacia and, as always, it was perfection. This time we had the crab bisque ..mouthwatering delicious..., the petite filet....could cut it with a fork and the taste was spectacular, and, the butterscotch crème brulee and the chocolate ganache......absolutely divine......Could not have been better and the service, which is always critical, was every thing we could have come to expect......Our waiter, who we requested, was Errol, and, he was wonderfully attentive and knowledgeable as always.....Salacia is a the best restaurant in the Tidewater area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolay D, General Manager at Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your patronage and kind review. It is very nice to hear that you had great time and loved everything. We are looking forward your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Nikolay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salacia Prime Seafood and Steaks Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.