We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma's Summer Cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel to your Saves list
Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3614 Atlantic Avenue, Across the Street From the Ocean, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
NoHo Ma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Grandma's Summer Cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in "The Studio" in the historic cottages part of the hotel. If you go in understanding what this hotel is you will not be disappointed. This is a different hotel experience. If you are looking for resort level amenities go elsewhere. I can only compare it to staying at Grandma's summer cottage. The decor is dated. The furniture is dated. The fixtures are dated. If any of this is important to you go elsewhere. If you are looking for a cozy, unique space to stay, this is the place for you. Its charms are many. It is quiet and private. The yards are gorgeous with barbecues and picnic tables scattered about. We used the one by our cottage, a shady little niche, surrounded by flowers and plants. Access to the beach and boardwalk are ideal. The price is fantastic. This is the kind of place you would enjoy returning to because it is so unique, not impersonal like the larger "cookie-cutter" hotel rooms. I love a luxury resort, but this is a relaxing vacation experience that is unique and eclectic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Your review was very accurate, I thought. We are old but we do try to keep the unit clean and in good repair. Thank you for the opportunity to serve. We hope you will come again soon. Most Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    7
    9
    13
See reviews for
39
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our stay was a real pleasure! "Mr Jim's" was small yet very clean, quiet, and just across the street from the beach and boardwalk. More than enough to do within walking distance. The beautifully landscaped yard served as parking while also allowing space to relax and prepare meals on the public charcoal grill. Kudos to Mrs Cook and her lovely properties and staff! We will definitely be coming back again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Most Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Cutty Sark recently, and unfortunately it was a disappointing experience. We had stayed there 3 years ago, and had no issues - perfect location, like supporting the smaller motel operations, clean, quiet, etc. This time, however, we had issues with cleanliness & noise. There were stray hairs left in the bathtub from previous guests (including a gross hairball floating from the shower drain) & on the bathroom floor. The room itself was clean, but I went to use a cup from the kitchenette and noticed someone's lipstick marks left on the rim. Needless to say, that wasn't used. The worst part though was the noise - we were located on the second floor - and our neighbors to one side left their television on ALL NIGHT LONG with the volume up. Loud enough that I can tell you Carmen Electra was being interviewed on one of the late-night talk shows, because I could hear the conversation clearly through the wall. Around 3:30am, my husband went next door to politely knock on the neighbor's door and request it be turned down, but there was no answer. With no front desk assistance available during the night, there was nobody to go to for further assistance. On top of that, a car alarm went of 4 different times during the night (for 5 minutes each time) in the parking lot directly across the street - I understand this is in no way the fault of the motel, but it added to what was already a sleepless night. When we arrived, we had been considering staying a second night - but ended up leaving after the first night's stay - neither of us wanted to go through a second night of this. Unfortunately, after this experience, when we return to VB in the future, we will be searching for other accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I am so sorry you were disturbed by a loud neighbors. We live on premise in Season and I am usually the first one to hear a disturbance and put a stop to it. Again I apologize for the inconsiderate neighbor.. The car alarm., that was beyond our control in another parking lot. I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Juliet, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great but had some issues with the air conditioning and the toliet got clogged up. Other than that staff is great and the location is amazing loved the heated pool. Parking isnt to great though. Ask for more towels and they'll come warm. Good.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Your review, I thought was very accurate,. We are not suited to every one. We are old, but we do our very best to keep our Cottages clean,comfortable and in good repair. Thank you for finding the time to write your review .We look forward to having you with us again soon. Most Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

June 22 to June 30 was our third stay at the Cutty Sark in as many years, so you know we love it! Not fancy, but we can't imagine staying anywhere else. The location is perfect and the kitchenette provided allows us the freedom to get up early or sleep in without worrying about making it out to a restaurant. A fantastic money-saver, as well - couldn't imagine paying for four people to eat out three times a day! Mrs. Koch, Jerry and all the staff are super-friendly and always willing to help. We had a street-level room with balcony this year, so we were a bit concerned about the potential lack of privacy, but VB is such a laid-back place! We'd have conversations in our pj's with passers-by while having our morning coffee! The units we've stayed in have always been clean with plenty of towels, toilet paper, dish soap, coffee filters and clean dishes. All in all, can't wait to go back - feels like home! Thanks again, everyone!

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We love that we have pleased. Our High volume of repeat guest that keeps us in Business We get such pleasure seeing you over and over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Gap, TN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed June 23-27. The hotel was an average one but it definitely had some great qualities. First, price! By just moving back one street from the ocean, we saved 50% on our stay. And honestly it takes no time to get to the ocean, which you can still see from your room. The rooms were small but had everything we needed. We used the refrigerator, coffee pot, and dishes but not the stove (we just didn't need to). The location is wonderful because it's away from all of the hustle and bustle so it's easy to sleep; however, you can walk right down the street and be in the center of everything. We loved the pool and also staying on the first floor- very easy access. They are very concerned with making sure you have a place to park- front office staff was kind and so were the housekeepers. Decor and stuff was pretty old... but it fit in with the overall style of the hotel. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and neither was the sleeper sofa but that's just a personal opinion.

Room Tip: We loved the bottom floor because of the direct pool access. Made coming in and out with all of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your honest review of our Little Hotel. We will take your compliments to heart . Your other comments we will work on to make our Little Hotel even better. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

June 12th was my 23rd Wedding Anniversary. My husband and I planned a trip to Virginia Beach. The Cutty Sark was the perfect home away from home for the night. Hotel staff was polite and professional. Our room was perfect....balcony facing the waterfront on 37the St & Atlantic Ave. The heated pool was very nice and private. We loved waking up to the bright morning sunshine from the oceanfront! Just romantic! We were offered alternative parking next door at the cottages just in case we took a drive out and lost our parking spot! In which we did! We will definately be making another trip before the summer ends to stay here. Even our other friends were jealous of our amenities and room features! (they lodged at the Sheraton across the street) They also want to be guests here on our next trip! Inexpensive, convenient, and just like home!!!!
I would recommend this spot!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Your review was so very nice. We do appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Address: 3614 Atlantic Avenue, Across the Street From the Ocean, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cutty Sark Motel is located in the exclusive, quite North End of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and directly across the street from the Ocean. Balconies have wonderful view of the Ocean and the Dolphins who live there. Free entertainment nightly at Neptune Park. A great way to start the evening. Shopping, fine dining and live entertainment are but a stroll away. Each guest room has a full equipped efficiency with everything a family of four needs to prepare light meals. Refrigerator, microwave, stove toaster as well as coffee and tea service. Dinette, sleep sofa, color, cable TV with HBO, air conditioning and free wifi. Most rooms have balconies with memorable views of the Ocean. The Cutty Sark is convenient to the Virginia Beach Convention Center( 5 Minutes ) The Cutty Sark is 3 mi from Edgar Cayce/ARE Center, 4 mi from the Virginia Aquarium, 7mi from Oceana Naval Air Station, 1 mi from Old Cape Henry Lighthouse and 13 mi from Norfolk International Airport.Golf, Tennis, Fishing and Boating are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.