We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dining Place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain George's Seafood

Captain George's Seafood
1956 Laskin Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23454 (Northeast Virginia Beach)
+1 757-428-3494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Greek, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Farmville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good food, lots of choices on the buffet, and very reasonaable price. Overall, our experience was a 10 out of 10. Thanks!!!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    194
    77
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not the best one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We love the Captain George's in Myrtle Beach SC & Williamsburg VA. This one just doesn't stand out. The crab legs disappointed my fam the most. They were difficult to peel, overcooked? The quality of the food just wasn't as good. That was the 3rd time we have gone in the past few years, same results. I guess 3rd time is not the charm here. I was soo hoping!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maybe it was because it was a slow day...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family and I went during the week, a couple days before Christmas, and we were all underwhelmed. The food on the buffet (at $35-ish/person) was very disappointing and we all left saying that it was a one-and-done place. The food needed to be refreshed more often to prevent the crust that was starting to form on some of the foods plus the food all looked the same. Also, the crab legs, though plentiful, had the least amount of meat in them that I have ever seen.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lots and Lots of Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went here for my birthday, and enjoyed the experience. I do think Phillips Seafood House (in Ocean City, MD and Washington, DC) has a better buffet, but Captain Georges has really good food and plenty of choices, so everyone is apt to get enough to eat that they really enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Best Seafood Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

As usual the choice for seafood and other food items was incredible. Just a warning go hungry! All the choices make it hard to walk out without being stuffed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Captain George's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain George's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.