We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omg!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shell Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shell Motel
Save
You added Sea Shell Motel to your Saves list
2301 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“omg!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We called ahead because it was only two pet friendly hotels in Va. beach, No elevator and being disabled this was not good! But we had the dog, the other would only allow dogs under 40 lbs! Stuck! So we endured a night of hell! The first room was leaking something so we were moved before we even moved in. Light bulbs had to be put in and refrig had to be plug up to a outlet that was not looking to safe so I unplugged it. My daughter found a bug in her bed took it to the office they offered new sheets! Then I found a bug in my bed they said it was a lady bug! Not not not! Mini blinds torn must I go on! In morning no surprise no partial refund. Almost forgot can not leave anything in room can push door open with out key! Do not I repeat do not go here!

Room Tip: None the tip of the day is drive as fast as you can past this place and board the dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    2
    20
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Location was great! The night clerk was rude! I had to call the cops on her and the owner did nothing about it! Unacceptable behavior! When the cops showed up she wouldn't come outside, instead she hid. It's not worth the hassle for the money!!! Beware of this place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Looked at the reviews. looked at the website. decided to stay here 3-31-14 for 4 nights due to being ocean front. the room was dirty. blinds were broken. no curtains at all. the stairwell was barely over 2 ft wide. barely any parking. not enough towels. we asked for 1 more and was told they were running short. the door had to be forced closed to get the deadbolt to lock. when locking with the key from the outside you had to pull and pull just to get it to lock. room smelled very funky. you had to turn sideways to get between the bed and the dresser. then turn again to get between the bed and the wall to get to the small bathroom. after the first night we decided to go somewhere else due to the overall negative experience. great place for spring break guys just to crash. other than that BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Somewhere else would be a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I don't know what everyone is complaining about. The night clerk was extraordinarily good. Her customer service was top shelf. This is not a 5 star super expensive resort with white glove service. They are a small hotel in a city filled with giant chains. Don't expect it to be brand new. It is a bit worn around the edges but it's where you sleep, not hang out. You're going to be spending you time on the beach anyway (which is right across the boardwalk). These are very nice people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I was nervous about staying because of the reviews but since it was last min I went with it. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were old but they were clean. The bed sheets were clean no cig burns. I didn't see any bugs dead or alive, and the room stayed ice cold. Location was the best. Owners were nice especially the wife.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Rooms were not so great (as previously noted numerous times), but the location was great. There was "Sandstock" going on the weekend I was there (numerous cover bands on two stages on the beach). The stages were perpendicular to this hotel's patio and the music could be heard clearly. So money was saved on alcoholic beverages that one could drink on this patio vs illegally drinking in the open, or driniking at near by bar/patio. Thee dog allowance is also a benefit (IF you are a dog owner/bringer). Parking is tricky and small, but if one is at the beach the car should be parked and left until final departure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed over the memorial day weekend and had an absolute blast! I thought the employees were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and big, I brought my dog with me. very quaint and cool little place, I will go back.

Room Tip: the efficiency rooms are big and cheaper than oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shell Motel

Address: 2301 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern family motel, located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.