We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Carousel Motel

Save Saved
You added Beach Carousel Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Carousel Motel
1300 Pacific Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
“good hotel for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are looking for a fancy place to stay this is not it. That being said if you are looking for an affordable place with a clean room and friendly staff you will like this motel. It's located a block from the beach and close to almost everything and was one of the lowest priced places in virginia beach. The only complaints i have are that the parking is very tight you have to pay for ice and there is a futon instead of a sofa bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
57
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Beach Carousel during the week on June 3rd and was very pleased. The rooms were efficiency's and very clean. The beds were comfortable and great water pressure in the shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was within a block of the boardwalk and beach. Would recommend this motel to others and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have only been to Virginia Beach one other time then this past weekend june of 2013. This was the weekend of the soccer tourn. Beach Carousel was pretty good, place was a little dated, but we had an efficiency unit that had two double beds, and small kitchenette. For us and our kids, it worked great. Close to the beach, shopping, and restaurants. For the little bit of time we spent there, it was just fine. WIFI worked just fine. the Cleaning staff worked with us each day, due to the weather, and with having so many people checking in and out that weekend. One great thing i will say about the owner/manager of this hotel, we left behind something, and he called us and let us know. Was very nice of him to do so. Not many places would do that, and he was willing to send it to me.

If we could give the owners/management one suggestion, it's this. units on the first level have no place to hang beach towels from the day on the beach or day at the pool. since most of the units have painted plywood front below the windows, maybe think about installing (2) towel racks for each unit on the outside right below the windows. This was your guests have a place to hang wet items to dry over night. Will not really be seen either with the parked cars there in the front of the units.

But, overall for the economy of the units, and amenities they have to offer. This place was pretty good. Just keep in mind it is dated somewhat. But most of the time your sleeping there. Thanks for the Great long weekend stay. Had a blast.

Room Tip: would recommend a efficiency, has a small kitchenette, works well for breakfast and lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the motel for a week. It is definitely worth the money. The rooms are clean, it is close to the beach and pier, and the staff members were great. We wanted something that was clean/affordable and this was it. With 2 kids we didn't want to be spending most of our vacation cash on a hotel, yet for their health and safety we wanted something clean. Thanks beach carousel for making that possible :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The place is 3 min from the beach, there a lot of nice restaurants close by, also it is quiet, clean. I cannot say that the place was great since I had some little issues, but in general for the price you pay it is a good deal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I travel quite often and tend to do a lot of research prior to booking any potential place to stay. That being said, I obviously did NOT do enough research with regards to this establishment!!!! The pictures on the website and the customer reviews are ridiculously misleading and should NOT to be used as any type of accurate description of what this place truly is: a run-down, over-priced, outdated motel:-(
The gentleman who checked us in at the office was very kind and efficient...the room (on the other hand) was not so pleasant.
As soon as we opened the door, the overwhelming smell of must smacked us in the face. None of the switches were connected to any of the lighting (either that or they just didn't work) and the individual rooms resembled prison cells (cold, dark, and lifeless) rather than the bright, inviting vacation rooms pictured on the website. The front window was completely sun damaged and in desperate need of repair...yet the marquee sign read "newly renovated rooms"!!!
Once we were over the shock and disappointment, I went to speak to the manager to inform him that we could not stay at his motel given its current condition (especially for $179/night). I was then rudely told that he would do nothing further but switch us to another room because the room was "nonrefundable". I declined switching (given the state of the motel) and kindly requested a refund (even if not for the present night but for the next two nights of stay) but he arrogantly refused. His unprofessionalism and ignorance continued and escalated to the point where I finally walked out and immediately phoned AMEX to file a dispute.
During that time, my husband went back into the office to get the manager's name. My husband expressed his displeasure with their poor service and stated "Your sign says Newly Renovated Rooms...well it takes more than two small flat screen TVs to make them newly renovated...that's false advertisement!"
Upon returning to the car (which was approximately 10 rooms down from the office) and attempting to find another place to stay, we looked up to find the manager outside at the marquee sign TAKING DOWN the "newly renovated rooms" portion of the sign!!!!!! Our mouths completely dropped to the floor...so much so that we couldnt even get to our phones quick enough to take a picture of him doing it.
Rude, sneaky, and dishonest NEVER makes for a good manager and is a direct reflection on the entire establishment!!!!
All that being said, do yourself a favor and avoid this motel at all cost!!! Either find a different hotel/motel close to the beach or go inland approximately 10 minutes and stay at a place that actually takes pride in their establishment and values their customers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family and I use Beach Carousel every year for your family vacation. The staff is friendly, professional and accomodating and the prices are unbeatable. The rooms are clean and spacious and we have never had any complaints. I recommend the Deluxe apartment style room for larger families. It comes with two bathrooms, two beds and two futons.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Carousel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Carousel Motel

Address: 1300 Pacific Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel located one block off of the oceanfront strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Carousel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Carousel Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Carousel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.