We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Ocean Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early & Save 15%
Ranked #60 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great relaxing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a great visit. Every member of the staff was exceptional. An example was when we had some trash to discard. We were standing in the hall holding it when one of the maintenance people came by. He asked if he could help with something, we asked where to dump trash, and his reply was " let me take that for you." Then he showed us to the trash chute and explained how to operate it, and asked if we needed anything else. Truly great service. Every employee was a professional. We had a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you for generous review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort along with our guest service. Your kind comments have been shared with our team and supervisors. We are very grateful for your business and look forward to serving you again during your next trip to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    107
    69
    49
    45
See reviews for
187
122
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is our second time at OBC. We stayed in the Studio Oceanfront on the 15th floor and are already looking to book again soon. Both times we've stayed, the rooms have been very clean, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The view is spectacular and I really enjoy the fact they have indoor and outdoor pools. I do wish they had a proper hot tub, though. But you cannot beat the location and hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear larell,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to our teams.
We sincerely look forward to serving you during your next trip to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Normally we stay below 9th Street and Atlantic Avenue in Virginia Beach just to be close to the Inlet. There are lots of shops and restaurants also. We came across a great deal for Ocean Beach Club that we could not resist. The area above 30th Street has been upgraded in the last two years with specialty shops, great restaurants and a mall. The hotel staffs were friendly and knowledgeable. There was a concierge to assist us with all our travel questions. The room was spacious with separate kitchen and dining area. The layout was comfortable. We truly enjoyed the views of the beach and the city from our corner room.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Gene M,

We are delighted that you selected to stay at our Ocean Beach Resort, and that you had a chance to see all the wonderful things that are happening on the North side of the beach.
We thank you for you kind comments which will be shared with our associates. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Really loved staying on the penthouse floor in 1 BR ocean view... views of beach in front and the pier in the distance, as well as the main strip or the bird's eye view of the city. Some construction next door but not a lot of noise. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free valet parking for handicapped was definitely a plus and VA Beach is definitely the most accessible beach I have ever seen. Nice wide beach and paved boardwalk, with separate lane for bikers, skaters and boarders. I only wish there was a recycling program. Having access to both Oceannaire and OBC amenities is really nice and great food in walking distance. Looking forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: I prefer the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear dbcarol,

It was a pleasure to read you kind review concerning your recent stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed our resort's amenities and location. Please keep us in mind on your future visits to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We exchanged through Interval International (II) to Ocean Beach Club in Virginia Beach as I wanted and needed a nice getaway to see the ocean. We arrived and was given room 807 STREET view. I nicely asked if I could please get an ocean view and the lady at the desk, who felt her job was very important, said your not an owner here and don't get an ocean view room. I know usually Interval has some kind of agreement with resorts to make sure we as exchange owners don't end up in rooms like this. Not here obviously. The young lady at the desk reminded me that we don't guarantee rooms. So once arriving to room, there is no balcony and only view of building across the street where construction is going on. First thing my entire family said was that we could have stayed home for this. I travel ALOT trough Interval but first time here and very disappointed. US as timeshare owners keep this venture going. They should realize that and not look down on us as I was at front desk. Also it is $8 a day that you pay to park here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at our resort.
I am sorry to read that some aspects of your stay have not been satisfactory, in particular with the way you were informed that we were unable to upgrade you to an oceanfront room. Your comments have been addressed with the appropriate department heads regarding your concerns. We strive for excellence in guest service and it is our goal to exceed our guests’ expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb Island, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I'll preface this review by saying my family and I have stayed at the O.B.C multiple times. We are teachers and look forward to exchanging our share for here as it is a perfect distance for us to travel with little kids. The location is fantastic and the experience has always been top notch.
This is our first time staying an entire week on the city side of the resort. As others have mentioned in their posts, we too asked if there was an ocean view and were told by Mitch that we should check back Sunday. We did then they said we were not on a list so they then put us on a list saying that we should check back on Monday and it would also be a $50 charge to move.
Well, nothing seemed to come available so we were stuck with our "sunset view" as a young lady at the desk called it.
It's now Friday morning and I can now tell you the resorts trash pickup schedule. It is M-W-F between the hrs of 7:30 am and 7:50 am. How do we know? The trashtruck lays on the horn to let the workers know to push the 5 dumpsters out into the street. He then lays on the horn to say goodbye and then they now roll the 5 empty dumpsters back into hotel(amazing how much noise empty dumpsters make!)
Pool: rules are posted yet not enforced. Took our kids into the pool and had to dodge Shamu the whale float, squirt guns, and beach balls.
Last thing, our parking pass key became deactivated earlier in week. Received a nice talkdown lecture from a young lady behind the desk on how I need to be careful with the card and what I probably did to deactivate. Impressive c.s.!
Finally, the guest services staff/valets are outstanding! Quick to respond to requests and extremely cordial!! The hotel is very clean. Although how is it possible that in the yr 2014 there is no recycling?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear irishhoops,
Thank you for selecting our property for your family’s vacation. We appreciate your feedback as this helps us improve our guest and owners satisfaction. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our guest service staff / valet.
Your comments are being reviewed by our department heads to make any necessary changes to our processes, based on your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have stayed at OBC two times in the past and decided to book another stay for spring break. I recently had read some negative reviews from earlier in the year and was a bit perplexed because we had never had a bad experience..but we went ahead and booked anyway. I exchanged through II and somehow got into a 2 bedroom penthouse suite on the 18th floor..it was awesome. The view was great and the space was huge! I had stayed in 2 bedroom units in the past and they are also just fine. My family enjoyed the beach, boardwalk, pool and game room...we all had a terrific stay and would totally stay again and again! The place has a warm feel to it, staff is great and environment is terrific. I even strolled over to the new Oceanaire a few times which has a more upscale vibe to it and also seemed very nice..but I love OBB.

Room Tip: oceanfront if you can on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear travelmom1962,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our Ocean Beach Club!
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to leave a positive review regarding your stay. It's a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed our facility and amenities. Your kind comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest oceanfront resorts in Virginia Beach, Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Martini Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar.Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.