We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing penthouse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Ocean Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early & Save 15%
Ranked #59 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Salem Or
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing penthouse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If this was the condition of their Atlantic penthouse unit I shudder to think of the smaller units. Toenail clippings behind the chairs in living room and master bedroom, mud print on stair carpet, stained furniture, living room ceiling black other than right around ceiling fan, toothpicks near murphy bed, First pack-n-play delivered was broken. Pillow missing for murphy bed, kitchen only had 1 towel, Noisy washer and dryer. When they delivered clean towels they put them on the floor in one bathroom and on the toilet tank back in the other. At check out they tried to charge us for an extra day parking (another person mentioned that on their trip advisor review) and never even asked us how our stay was. Took insistence on my part to remove the extra day charge. Strange layout: the 2nd upstairs bedroom with the murphy bed is large with one vague light, and the closet and bathroom (with a jacuzzi tub) for it is outside a strange sliding door. That bathroom fan sounds like a jet engine. Poor mirror lighting in that upstairs bath. Only the master bedroom has a king bed. Master bath had a rain shower but no jacuzzi tub. Had to make the murphy bed ourselves. Basic layout is: common living area and lockoff studio (with jacuzzi tub) on first floor. 2nd floor is king master with rain shower. See above for 3rd bedroom/bath on 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors have limited cell phone reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    107
    69
    49
    45
See reviews for
187
122
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at this resort many times and I am constantly reminded as to why I love to stay when I return. The service is always first rate, the rooms are well kept/maintained, the swimming pools are the best, you have your choice of four ( 2 indoors/ 2 outdoors). The ambience is the best with the fire pits and the lounge chairs and located directly by the ocean. I have stayed at several other resorts and hotels thru the years and the others pale in comparison. It also has wonderful activities for the kids and state of the art game room for kids.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Just left and have to say, after speaking with the manager, we are not happy :( After a recent illness, we were looking forward to a relaxing getaway at the beach
A few things were not disclosed when we made our reservation:

1. Their indoor pool is closed so you have to walk outside to the hotel next door.

2. The hot tub was dirty with clumps of hair and green foamy substance. When I asked an employee he said it was a combination of dirt, makeup, hair and general "smeg" he didn't seem too concerned about it.

3. The biggest issue was construction noise. There were bulldozers and dump trucks working on the beach directly in front of the hotel ALL NIGHT! We called to complain at midnight and 3 a.m. Only to be told "it's the
city nothing we can do" this sentiment was echoed by the manager upon checkout :(

4. The oceanfront view also consisted of these construction vehicles.

5. This is also a timeshare resort. The timeshare desk is directly across from check in so be prepared to be hounded by them to take a tour. We disconnected our room phone after several calls asking us to take a tour.

The room was clean, many employees were very nice; however, the manager was rude and indifferent. We will not return to this hotel and I strongly suggest anyone considering it ask for a complete disclosure beforehand!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Did an Interval International Exchange so I guess they stuck me on the 2nd floor out of 16 floors because I was not an owner. Booked for a week to visit my son and g-daughter and help the family move. I did meet the manager, Mr. Trey Matheu, at the. owner's party the second night. Very nice man who asked how everything was. I told him about the electical tape holding the batteries in on the TV channel changer, the cob webs over the bed, the duct tape holding the air conditioner/heater together but I hadn't seen the blood stains on the bed spread until the next day. He indicated that he would address the problems but nothing done while I was there.
Coffee is provided from 7am to 10am each morning and was usually ready by 9am if they could find it or if anyone knew how to make it and it was good when they got it done-with or without grinds. Since I was there on off season, I guess they might have been short staffed?? I always saw many workers. The fire alarm system does work, a worker set it off at 12:40am and the horn and flashing lights and voice telling you to use the steps to the lobby got my heart pumping. I would say that it is in a great location for the summer, take a time share tour and see what they give you...maybe a free nights stay. Enjoy the pictures, Jeff

Room Tip: Ocean view on the higher floors 6-18 would be very nice. The second floor as a bit noisy, they play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in a unit that we traded for through Interval Int'l. We had a full kitchen and a nice sized livingroom, bedroom and bath. Whirlpool tub in the bathroom was nice. The pool area was OK, you had to go next door to Oceanaire for a hot spa, and it was full of small children whenever we were over there, they told us it was ages 21 plus, but no one seemed to enforce it, it wasn't very relaxing with a bunch of little kids jumping and running around. The boardwalk was all lit up for the Holidays and we walked the beach to take that in, it was nice. Everyone was polite and helpful and it was clean and comfortable. We bought tickets at the concierge desk for Colonial Williamsburg, and had a great day walking around there.

Room Tip: Harbor units are on the side and only have an ocean view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just returned from a stay at Ocean Beach Club. We exchanged through Interval International and overall were very pleased with the resort. The oceanfront location (34th st) was great. The indoor pools, hot tub and gym were also very nice. Since we were there in the winter we really enjoyed the firepit overlooking the ocean. The two bedroom units are completely separate....separate entrances with no adjoining doors. Our only real complaint were the horrible beds. They are very small...seemed like a double not even a queen. They were also terribly uncomfortable. Besides that one detail, we really enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We're Va Beach local and decided to do a "staycation" this year to save money. Having lived here for so long we know that if you want a high quality experience at a hotel the best at the beach are The Old Cavalier, The Hilton, and The Ocean Beach Club. We've stayed at the hilton and the Beach Club was comparable, even better when it came to the room (they're all suites with two ocean view rooms and a kitchenette), but the Hilton wins when it comes to amenities. The "adult only pool" at the Beach Club was teeming with kids and it doesn't have a restaurant like Catch 31 at the Hilton. All that said, the room was great, everyone there was very kind and we enjoyed our stay. If I had family staying in town for any length of time I would highly recommend it just for the fact that you get more space and get a kitchen with a fridge, oven and microwave.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view room. If it's the height of the summer ask for a room on a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest oceanfront resorts in Virginia Beach, Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Martini Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar.Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.