We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay the week before Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Beach Club to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Lexington, KY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay the week before Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Loved this place. We traded through Interval, and I was nervous due to some negative reviews. But I don't understand what anyone found bad. We almost had the resort to ourselves. The staff was amazing, the indoor pools are georgeous, loved the workout room with ocean views and the firepit overlooking the beach. The rooms were nice as well. Not as large as some resorts, but we had a 2 bedroom lockout oceanfront on the 3rd floor and we had two balconies. Stay here - you will have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    121
    74
    50
    45
See reviews for
200
134
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We just returned form a week at the OBC, and had a great time . I called a week before arriving and got in touch with the nicest girl by the name of Danielle , since it was the slow season I asked her if she could get us an Ocean Front room , and she was able to do it , the view was Great , the room was 1full room with kitchen, and it was Cozy. The parking garage is just across the street, making it very easy to go in and out . we did the Board walk of Lights which I would say were just OK. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant , and we have only good things to say about the OBC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had 1 bedroom 1 living room unit for the week of 12/14/12. After reading some of the reviews, we were concern about the resort. But unlike the reviews, our experience with this place was very pleasant. From the bellboys to upper management , they were super nice, helpfull, friendly and very pleasant group of people which they can set great example for the hospitality industry . Danielle Lambert, Natasha and the rest of the team, thank you for making us feel home.
Units were small but continent and comfortable. Location is great.
Cons:
Bathtub can use hand rail for older guests.
Internet and cell phone issue big problem .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Although previous reviews were both good and bad, I am glad I stayed here. I booked as an exchange through my home resort. Parking was $7 a day for non-owners of the resort even through exchange in structure across street. First encounter with front desk was not friendly but all other employees were nice. Concierge was excellent and accommodating. Room on 8th floor was a 2 bedroom with both rooms oceanfront. Very clean and looked almost new. Full kitchen with utensils. Jacuzzi tub. Second bedroom had one bed and patio with oceanfront view and was adjacent to other unit. Had to go out of 1 bedrm unit to go to 2nd, but left both doors open for easy access. (Foyer still to access both rooms). Full acess to jacuzzi and rooftop deck at new building Oceanaire. Sat by firepit by Oceanaire. Great vacation. Restaurant in hotel was open but I was not aware of this til last day there. Had no problem getting oceanfront and parking structure was no hassle. Probably both due to it being off season. Restaurants across street closed early. I'm sure it is more hectic in the summer. Will be returning next year.

Tips: call a few days ahead of arrival and ask for oceanfront room for all your rooms, not oceanview. Eat at Doc Taylors on 23rd street.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've stayed at many timeshares but have never been treated this poorly or stayed at something this dirty. To start off with, we asked for a two bedroom. We got a one bedroom and a studio. (Two separate rooms which doesn't really work when you have two small kids) They told us parking and internet was included but still charged us $7/day for parking and refused to give us free internet since we were doing a transfer and not a Gold Key member. Their free wireless in the lobby was useless. My phone picked it up but it was so slow that I couldn't do a thing.

We checked out a day early and when we checked out, they said they would not charge us the last day of parking fee (since we were not there to park) but still charged our credit card.

The room was so filthy. My two year old kept picking up dried up cheerios, Cheetos, and random food off the floor when we first checked in. The bottom of the shower curtain was black with mold. It was nasty!!

Couple of the front desk people had attitudes with us after they found out we weren't with Gold Key. We were treated like second class citizens because we are owners at a different timeshare and was doing a transfer.

The beds were uncomfortable and the indoor pool was freezing.

Overall, very disappointed in this resort and will never stay there again. Would NOT recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We love staying at this resort no matter what time of the year. We have stayed in November, February and July. They have a great indoor pool and two heated outdoor pools. The gym is small, but who needs an indoor gym when you can walk or run along the beach. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have been coming to this timeshare for years, usually on use it or lose it points (lousy system) and this year, we should have just lost the points. .

We were stuck in a "studio" with a street view which is about 300 square feet, much smaller than most nice hotel rooms, and it doesn't have a kitchen! A week without a kitchen while on vacation, it was a lousy way to spend the week. When we asked if we could switch to a room with a balcony, the curt response was no, they were booked up. This is a 17 or 18 story building with over 300 rooms and only about 100 occupied!

Parking is across the street, which is fine, but this year we were told very rudely that we could not park on the 2nd flood, that was reserved for their Discovery Club guests only! Been an owner for years, but now.... And since they own the garage, they need to clean the stairwells, they look like they're being used as bathrooms!

The place is really run down. The carpets are nasty, haven't been vacuumed in forever - dried food everywhere, the walls are filthy, the furniture is dirty, the bathroom door knob was broken, the freezer(??) in the under counter fridge was iced over, there's peeling wallpaper everywhere, clogged drains, and dust everywhere. Where the cleaning staff should be, they obviously aren't - trash on the floors remained there all week.

Hope never to come back here again. It's not worth what felt like a filthy germ fest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest oceanfront resorts in Virginia Beach, Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Martini Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar.Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.