We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Four Sails Resort to your Saves list
Four Sails Resort
3301 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$59 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Haymarket, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Attention to Details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Have been a timeshare owner here for many years. Four Sails is a timeshare/hotel property that always exceeds my expectations. Although the one bedrooms are small due to Virginia Beach code that is in place to allow more people to have oceanfront rooms, if your concern is more in location, service and update-to-date furnishings, this is the place. First time back to my home resort in a couple years. The management here has always been known for continually using its maintenance fees wisely to upgrade and improve. Immediately noted new flat panel TVs, new curtains, bedspreads and furniture. Hurricane curtains have been installed on balconies if needed. Also new audio systems and ipod clock radios. The view continues to be superb. What was once the upper end of the boardwalk with lesser development now has now blossomed with Marriotts and Hiltons. Check-in was fast. This timeshare has no sales pitch. They have a couple of signs that direct you to an office if you have any interest in resales. Max has been there for maybe 15 years. The first morning a call came from Housekeeping asking if everything was ok on check-in. Found plastic covers on all glasses, utensils, etc after they were sanitized. Indoor pool when the weather requires is always kept up well. For internet users the only drawback currently is that all rooms are hardwired with cable - but I hear that wireless is on the agenda. The jacuzzis in each room are huge - the largest of any facility I've ever stayed at. This is the kind of place where you could just relax the entire week and enjoy the ocean view - but should you not be content with that the choice of restaurants and activities (walking the boardwalk, biking, swimming, shopping and all the things to see in the Hampton Roads area) make this an ideal vacation location. I prefer the winter period - most think its cold and why go to the beach? Yes - some days can be chilly but with the ocean and the Chesapeake Bay the gulf stream current keeps the area warmer - the next two days will be in the 60s. Overall - this is one of the best maintained timeshares I've seen and is well deservant of its Silver Crown status.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanliner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is a wonderful place right on the beach! We were searching for something that would work on a tight budget for a family of 6. It was worth all of the searching! We had the Penthouse Room with the best ocean view. The room was just the right size & the staff was amazing. They also just updated everything so it was even better then we had hopped. We all ready booked everything for our trip back next year!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4monkies4mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

a timeshare right on the beach, and near many terrific restaurants. No frills, basic unit but with a whirlpool tub. Easy check in, not so great parking.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwardivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great location, Staff friendly. Parking tight for my SUV but just took it slow and backed into spots. You could park on "roof" with no poles and lots of space. Internet worked great and is "secure" with a Cat-5 cable. Great Views, restaurants within walking distance. Took advantage of off season rates that are cheaper than Myrtle Beach. Will stay again!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

to really sum it all up i would say "wee". its like a polly pocket hotel; but in a good way.
the rooms are really nice; we got a king suite with kitchenette and ocean front balcony at both living room and bed room. it is VERY quite in the room. GREAT location, about 2 blocks up from King Neptune. they have party tents set up outside; they haven't had any concerts, but if so here is the perfect spot! OF view of the party and "free" admission from your balcony. perfect view of the sunrise. great place for a great price.
only draw backs are TIGHT parking.....and i mean TIGHT!!!! i drive a beetle, and it makes me cringe to pull in and out of the garage. i urge you not to drive an suv or truck....rent a metro. they don't really have a lobby with a nice curb side unloading area like most places. also there isn't a free continental breakfast, nor is there free wi-fi in rooms; only the restaurant. they have Ethernet, but you have to buy a cable at the front desk.
definite plus is the shower!! the tub is HUGE and the shower has water pressure! better than home....and good shower pressure always wins my heart.

overall: great place, great use of space, great price, great view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blewmeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piggott, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

staff was very courteous. rooms are very nice. we chose this hotel for our honeymoon, and we couldnt have been more pleased. we are going back and this is where we are staying!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bshaw_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Four Sails on August 15-18, 2010 and loved it. We chose this hotel based on the reviews and this was a great choice.

Pros: Clean, easy check-in, easy check-out. Cute rooms, plenty of towels, nice Jacuzzi, awesome view of the beach, quiet, few rooms on each floor and nicely spaced so you don't hear your neighbors. Flat screen in the living room and bedroom; full kitchen. Free bikes to ride on the bike trail boardwalk. I could go on and on.

Cons: Infamous slow elevator but it honestly did not bother us and the tight parking lot.

This was truly a great experience for us. We would stay at the Four Sails again.

Side note: It was tough finding nice places to eat. Calypso Bar and Grill has horrible, horrible food; pricey and horrible, seriously. Pocahontas Pancakes was good with friendly service. There was a wait but it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fullazzets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#1 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#5 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#3 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#15 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#6 of 112 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Address: 3301 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing