We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Sails I Shall Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Four Sails Resort to your Saves list
Four Sails Resort
3301 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$59 Special Now!
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Four Sails I Shall Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

My husband and I drove down after I had business meetings in DC. We used the Four Sails as our homebase for the week before Memorial Day. When I walked into our 2 bedroom I about fell over....had two bedrooms, kitchen, living room, dining room and 3 full bathrooms! All of this with a balcony from every room overlooking the water! I loved it....unfortunately, the temperature dropped about twenty degrees within the hour so we had to look for alternative activities rather than just beach. That was ok too! We toured Norfolk (about one half hour away)with its art gallery and naval sights, Williamsburg (about 45 minutes away)with its history and outlet shopping and Virginia Beach warbirds museum, coast guard site and finally we got temperatures that allowed the beach....The Four Sails was clean, updated, friendly, helpful and the best location right on the beach. We just wish we had more people with us this trip to really take advantage of all the room we had. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    79
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed at the Four Sails for 3 nights in June 2009, and I was very impressed. I have been staying in another all-suites hotel on my last two visits to Virginia Beach, but this time I decided to try the Four Sails. The rooms were spacious, and I loved having two balconies. The oceanfront location is great, and there is a cafe on the first floor. All the staff members I encountered were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, and in fact hope to return this fall.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our week over the 4th of July holiday at Four Sails. Yes, it is an older building that could use some updating. However, the other amenities make up for this. We had a one bedroom unit with balconies off the beach and Atlantic Avenue. The full kitchen enabled us to have breakfast and lunch in the room most days. The hotel allows you to rent bikes for one hour at a time, which we did. They also have beach chairs and sand toys you can borrow. Internet access is available. The front desk staff is very helpful with information. The restaurant downstairs is good and inexpensive. The pool, while small, is private and inviting (located on the 4th floor). The hotel is 2 blocks from 31st St. which has live music every night. Our kids, aged 6 and 9 had a blast! The one elevator is slow, but this was not an issue for us since we were on the 3rd floor. I would definitely return to Four Sails.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

we stayed at the Four Sails for one night. The decor in the hotel was kinda scary. But once we got to the room, it was perfect. Not too fancy- but would be great for a week at the beach. We had a balcony overlooking the beach/boardwalk and another overlooking the strip. 2 big screen flat panel TV's. Bed was - OK could use better pillows. Jacuzzi in room was nice. No free breakfast, but the cafe downstairs had decent prices with oceanfront view, the dessert was not very good though. But it was ok. Biggest downfall other than hotel decor is Elevator... only 1 and long waits. Pool was nice, fitness center was adequate

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Four Sails is an unforgettable experience. My family and I had a wonderful time. The accommodation was AWESOME!!! Stellar views and splendid ambiance. This was a perfect location for our spring break and it was exactly what the doctor ordered!! Indoor pool, Jacuzzi room, together with VA beach and beach activities made it a classic stay for our family of 4. We are definitely planning a return in the near future

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

The room was very clean and comfortable for our 4 night stay. Everything we needed was at our fingertips. The pool was ideal for my daughter as the weather was cool & breezy.

We were delighted with our stay & are already planning next years stay.

The only let down was the tight parking area, but the view from our balcony made it easy to forget the parking hassles.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

The Four Sails has everything a couple could need for a week of fun and relaxation. The unit is small but everything is provided except food. The bed was wonderful. The staff is great. One could not ask for better service and the restaurant on the ground floor is very nice and the food is very good. The people working there are friendly and pleasant as well.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay there again if the occasion presents itself.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Address: 3301 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Sails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.