We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sanford, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent a couple of really enjoyable nights at this location, the only Res Inn at an ocean front I'm told. Accommodations were super in the one BR suite and the overall atmosphere was welcoming. Patrick greeted us with a smile that reflected the mood of the hotel. Adriana was also most hospitable and helpful. The breakfast was hot and a big step up from the continental fare at other places. The hot wings, chicken salad, pasta salads and garden salad bar Wednesday evening was a pleasant surprise. Next time we visit we'll include both a Wednesday and Thursday night so we can see what the manager's reception has to offer.

Room Tip: If you are not one of the lucky twenty to get parking in front you will need to take advantage of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. we are so glad that you had a great stay, our hope is that you continue to visit us here in Virginia beach. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    140
    56
    22
    5
See reviews for
267
120
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herndon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I am a returning customer. I stay at this hotel once or twice a year. The main reasons are: It's dog friendly; it's oceanfront; it's in a great location; it has a kitchen; the staff is friendly; it has free breakfast; and it offers valet parking. I have written reviews on this hotel every time I stay there. The one thing I noticed that is a little off is that I found some area in the room that isn't very clean. I am okay with it. It's the only hotel in VA Beach that I will stay at. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the high floor. When laying on the bed and looking out the window, you will feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your awesome review , its always a pleasure to have you visit us each year. we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I enjoy the winter beach and Residence Inn in Virginia Beach made that experience even better. Although parking could have been a challenge, our Valet took great care of us ensuring we found a spot upfront and had a cart ready for us. Check in was easy. The room on the 10th floor was just perfect as this beautiful sun rose up out of the water and the sky an explosion of colors.
The beds were comfortable and the breakfast . . . just right: hot and tasty with an excellent presentation. The place was clean and the staff was so pleasant. The place was pet friendly. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that you was able to enjoy your stay .We look forward to your return the next time you are in town. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was my first stay at the hotel. Very clean, accomodating staff. Excellent view with a well appointed room. Pet friendly with deposit.. Parking adequate but not plentiful. Valet parking available at certain hours. Safe and close to restaurants.

Room Tip: High room, ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that you was able to enjoy your stay .We look forward to your return the next time you are in town. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was an amazing trip. From the ease of booking the room to the final goodbye. Special thanks to Patrick at the front desk, he goes out of his way to make you feel at home. The hotel is pet friendly which is a plus for us. The breakfast buffet is nice and they change the hot dishes each day so you have a choice of different food. The staff is wonderful and friendly. I had problems getting my food to the room so they helped me carry it right to the room. The rooms are clean and well decorated, each room has a view of the ocean. The pool and hot tub are very nice and the fitness center is excellent. The location is great, a park for the kids is nearby and many restaurants are within walking distance. I have stayed here twice within the past 2 months, our January stay had a bonus of seeing the dolphins right from the balcony. This will be my first choice when I and traveling to VA Beach.

Room Tip: All room have a view of the Ocean so you can't get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank You so much for your review. I am very happy that we could make your stay a great one, We take pride in our property and do our best to maintain it. I hope the next time you come to Virginia Beach you choose us as your home away from home. Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with our young children on a weekend. Hotel is ok (free breakfast and big rooms) but not quite as ambient as the other Marriott Oceanfront properties in this area. Lobby is quite small and the heater in the room woke us up everytime it cuts on! Front desk crew are not as friendly as most Marriott staffers we encounter. Needless to say, this is pretty ok if you need a place to stay but necessarily enjoy. PS--and the pool area was in bad, bad shape!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a not-so-noisy heater?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your standards. We appreciate that you have taken the time to bring your concerns to our attention, we will address all staff and service issues. thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stay here fairly often on business. They probably have the friendliest and most attentive staff of any hotel I've stayed in. Have never had a problem with the room. Always able to get a late checkout to accommodate business meetings, etc. If you don't like feather pillows make sure you request foam ones--feather is standard. Really relaxing having that ocean view. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I always request the top floor (13) and have always been accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the taking time in posting such nice comments about our hotel. I’m happy we were able to meet your expectations we look forward to your next visit and we Thank You for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.