We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Right off the bat I was met with a positive experience. I was checking in and was told I was on the 12th floor. They actually took the time to make my request on the on line reservation web page and make it a reality. You'd be surprised at the number of hotels that don't bother reading any special notations even though they have a space provided to request them. Well, these people do. The room was super clean and even though everyone at this hotel had a dog or three, there was no problems like hearing them bark or stepping in their business. The 12th floor had an excellent view, but it did have an exhaust fan from the ac and it was an odd numbered room, but was a corner unit. I actually really appreciated the little bit of heat that it put out because it was sort of chilly when we were there. It would be a little nuisance if it was 90 degrees out, but nothing serious and like I said, I worked it to my advantage to have my own personal heater and you don't have that ac water dripping all over your balcony. Great location and super friendly staff. Sure, parking was a little bit of a hassle, but it's a very enjoyable 4 block walk if you don't use the valet service and can't find a place at their location. Actually, out of 4 nights, we parked on the premises 2 nights, so 50 percent isn't too bad. Bottom line..I would stay here again in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to friends. Clean and friendly..2 of the biggies you won't have to worry about : )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank You for your great review. we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    149
    60
    28
    5
See reviews for
289
124
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great location. It allows pets, which is great since we have two dogs with us. However, compared to the Residence Inn I just left in Williamsburg, it is not nearly as nice. There were several hairs (human) in the bathroom and bathtub upon our arrival. However, they charge $100 to keep your pet here...I assume for cleaning? What about cleaning up after humans? If we weren't staying here for just a night and the rest of the room wasn't ok I would have asked for a different room because that many hairs I'm the bathroom makes me think it wasn't cleaned very well if at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I'm sorry to see that our service failed to meet your expectations. Although we are a hotel that allows pets I agree that we cannot forget our human guests as well. I will speak to housekeeping regarding this situation. If you decide to stay with us in the future please don't hesitate to bring anything to our attention. We are always here to assist you in any way possible. Thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Residence Inn is a fabulous place to stay at Virginia Beach, whether you bring Fido or not. But the fact that dogs are allowed anywhere on the beach at VA beach after Labor Day I think clearly brings out the pet owners and they all stay here! So if you love dogs and want to vacay with your pet this is the place. Clean, comfortable, right on the beach and you and your pet are made to feel right at home. This was our first trip to the beach with our dog and we loved seeing so many other guests with their pets staying here. And there is no size limit, although the $100 pet fee seemed steep to me, especially since our dog did not make any more of a mess than we did. Otherwise, the service was great. We were granted an early check-in, which when traveling with a pet is an even greater bonus. Breakfast was also good, plentiful and varied. We highly recommend this hotel if you wish to enjoy the beach with your four-legged family member.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank You for your great review. we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

When we checked into the hotel, we were pleased to see that it all looked just as the website pictures showed it - the lobby, the breakfast room, our suite, the works. The location was perfect -right across from the beach, front facing balcony, and a stones' throw from a small beach playground and lots of tasty restaurants, including Starbucks. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was convenient and tasty too, and the comp valet parking made it easy to get in and out of the hotel. While we did have a little trouble with our toilet during the first few days of our stay, the front desk agreed to move us after the weekend when more rooms were available (hotel was sold out over labour day weekend) and in the meantime the maintenance staff was very helpful to keep it all in working order. The only real sore point we had was the housekeeping service(housekeeping staff were great), but the service only went from about 10am-3pm, and once they finished a floor that was it until the next day. So if you decided to sleep in a little and they were on your floor first, then you missed out. And for some reason, if you didn't answer the door when they knocked, they didn't come in - a little odd and the only time I've ever experienced this at a hotel. So while they did leave a couple of clean towels, it wasn't convenient - we had to bring down our own garbage one day and call down for extra towels and sheets on another. And again. the staff were super - as each time we called down for something, they were quick to respond and very helpful.

Room Tip: We booked a room with a pull out sofa, so we'd have extra space. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank You so much for your review. We take pride in our property and do our best to maintain it. I hope the next time you come to Virginia Beach you choose us as your home away from home. Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel itself is like most residence inn's. The location makes it an easy walk to most places along the strip. The parking lot holds about 20 cars, so you will most likely have to valet. The breakfast was usual residence inn assortment. The pool and gym were also pretty standard. The rooms were nice and comfortable. I did not give property a great rating because of the parking and because the hallway and elevator floors were always wet. I never saw anyone trying to keep them dry. But otherwise this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that you were not happy with our parking arrangements. Unfortunately, parking is an issue for this hotel but we do offer the complimentary valet service so parking will not impact their stay. I also apologize about the wet hallways and elevators. My valets and houseman try to maintain everything throughout the day but with people constantly coming from the pool and beach while dripping water that is harder to keep up with at times. Again, thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront for two nights for a short family vacation at the beach with our two children ages 6 and 2. We arrived at about 3:30 and our room was ready for us. Fortunately, there was a spot for parking available in the very small parking lot on the property. We didn't use our car during our stay, so we did not use the offsite parking or the valet service. The valets were very helpful and polite in unloading the car and helping me to get the luggage cart into the hotel. We chose the Residence Inn due to the separate sleeping area as we like to be able to put our children down for a nap or to bed in a separate area. I couldn't find a floor plan on the hotel's website, so I was concerned that the balcony might be in the bedroom area where our kids were sleeping, but the balcony is off of the living area. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. I wasn't a fan of the pillows, but I am really picky with pillows. There was plenty of space in the bedroom for our son's pack and play. The sink area was separate from the toilet and shower, and both were off the bedroom. I prefer a suite where the bathroom is outside of the bedroom area, for less noise and disruption to those sleeping, but in this case it wasn't a problem. There was a sink in the kitchen of course, which definitely helped. The kitchen was very nice, with a small table with two chairs. We just pulled the chair from the living room and the desk chair up and sat around the table to eat. The balcony isn't the largest, but we could all fit on it very comfortably. There are only two chairs, but at least another chair could fit. The view is amazing. Especially from the bedroom. I thought maybe the picture online was fake, but it actually doesn't even begin to due it justice. As for the complaints about the load air conditioner, I actually thought it wasn't as bad as some other air conditioners I have heard in some hotels. I would leave the bedroom door open while sleeping as the thermostat is in the living room and the bedroom got warmer than the living room. It does blow warm air onto the balcony, but it only hits you when you walk out and stand right next to it. Sitting on the chairs wasn't a problem, and it didn't bother us. With regards to the complaints of the hallway being hot, it was hot in the afternoon because one entire side of the hallway is glass and the afternoon sun comes in. It certainly wasn't bothersome at all to walk the short length of the hallway to the elevator (we were the farthest away from the elevator) There are only 6 rooms per hallway. We do not own a pet, and have stayed in pet friendly hotels before without any problems, and this stay was no different. It appeared that the hotel put dogs in rooms next to each other, and children next to each other. I never heard any hotel noise, people or animals, except for once when I was in the bathroom and I could hear some people talking. The breakfast was nice and what I would expect from this type of hotel. 4 different kinds of cold cereal, oatmeal, waffle making station, several hot items (pancakes, sausage, potatoes, etc.), yogurt, bagels, milks, and juices. The area was always full, but the food was kept well supplied. There was seating inside, as well as outside. Although I did see several guests at the hotel walking their dogs in the lawn, I never saw any "droppings." There is no restaurant in the hotel, but lots of places to eat within walking distance. We loved that we were so close to Neptune's Park and the playground that is on the beach. We didn't use the pool or fitness center, so I can not comment on that. We plan on returning to Virginia Beach next summer and will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach, VA. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at the Residence Inn Oceanfrint and we would definitely go back. We originally stayed here because we were going to bring our dog but ended up leaving her home with a sitter.
I had a problem with the charge going through on my credit card and Adriana and Brian were very patient and helpful to help me get it resolved.
They have complimentary valet and free parking for one vehicle which was great. The staff greeted you and always asked if you needed anything and they were very helpful.
The room had a very nice kitchen with dishes, pans and silverware. The beds were comfortable and in the bedroom was a very cool window view of the beach. There is a small balcony and the living room has a full size or Queen sofa bed. There is a big Samsung TV in the bedroom and living room.

There is a little shower right outside the back door. As soon as you walk out to go to the beach, the stairs beyond the boardwalk to the beach is right behind the hotel so you don't have to walk far.

Right across the street is a store and a Ben & Jerry's and live bands a block away with other shops and restaurants. A Harris Teeter and Farm Fresh grocery store are not far at all.

The gym is a bit small with only 3 stair steppers, a bike and a treadmill, although that was fine for vacation purposes. There is only a small indoor pool and no outside pool, but that suited is fine.
We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that Adriana and Bryan were able to assist you with your credit card issue. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach, VA. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#3 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#6 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Ocean...
#8 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#39 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.