We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Powell, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. 2 adults and 4 kids. The suite with 2 queen beds and pullout couch was very comfortable for all of us! The kids are 8-10. The rooms were bigger than expected and the bedroom was seperate which helped for early risers. The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. The windows and balcony gave great views of the beach and ocean. As other reviews have mentioned the balcony is unpleasant when the air conditioning unit is running- very very loud and blows out hot air. We had the top floor which was great for the views but next time I'd request the 2nd floor because they had wonderful huge balconies.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views but 2nd floor has larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I wish there was something we could do about the vents blowing on the balcony but unfortunately the only suggestion we have is to turn off the air conditioner when you are on the balcony. Remember the 2nd floor is the wheelchair accessible floor so that floor cannot give that floor to everyone. Again, I thank you for your review. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    119
    44
    19
    5
See reviews for
229
103
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

we just checked in today and it is already excellent. Lillian from the front desk (Special Mention!). Got a 12th floor room, great views and we are cooking our own pasta in the Kitchen. Can't beat that! I will always come to this property every year for my Beach Vacation! I travel quite a lot but this hotel is a Special Mention for the People and the service! 5 Star again! Thank you Lillian! & Co.

Chandra

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I am happy to see that we you are enjoying yourself. I am also pleased to see that Lillian was able to accommodate you. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Virginia Beach, VA. Thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed, 08/13; at the Residence Inn Oceanfront in beautiful Virginia Beach. We had a great few days and the hotel staff did everything possible to make it a great experience.
I personally would like to say thanks to Adriana and the Manager for doing everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. We had a few issues that were out of everyone's control , however they went out of their way to make things right making our overall trip wonderful.
Thank you again,
Brian and Karin, NY

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I am happy to see that Adriana and the Manager helped make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach, VA. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

When we arrived we kept getting stuck in our room because the lock was jammed. It took their engineers 4 trips of us calling for them to finally decide to replace the mechanism in the lock. Upon further discovery we found a urine stain on the window side of our bed... it was a large stain that wasn't easy to miss... house cleaning claims they changed the room out, but I'm certain they just swapped our sheets with someone else's room. When we requested our bed to be swapped out we were met with the engineer again that decided he had worked enough on our room so he said to his fellow employee while standing in our room, " why don't they just check out?". We called the on duty manager and she insured us she would speak to him... We later needed 3 towels because they only provided us with 3 and we are a party of 5... we couldn't believe it but the manager sent the rude employee back up to our room to deliver the towels!!! My husband and I surmised that for an employee to feel comfortable to speak to guest in such a rude manner that the management staff has no respect and has bred an environment that is dysfunctional. The management staff must be talking poorly about guest for a low on the totem pole employee to feel he has the go ahead to be rude.

The manger is sure to respond to my complaint on here and say that they are working to fix the issues, however if you read back a year ago or so... guest have had the same issues that we had and nothing has changed. Stay here at your own risk, but be advised they are rude, they lack leadership and the place is not just dirty but GROSS with no hope for change.

Room Tip: For a view of the ocean, any room is good. However if you want use of your personal deck request an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from July 14-19th and it was awesome! The staff was extremely nice. Our room always looked good and was cleaned well. They provide breakfast (a nice variety too) each morning til 10. We stayed with our 2 young children & it worked out very well. They are centrally located which makes finding food, entertainment, etc. very easy. The valet parking was nice also. Would definitely recommend this hotel! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor which was really nice for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next time you visit Virginia Beach you choose to stay with us. If there is anything else we can do for you please feel free to contact us here at the Front Desk and we will be more the happy to assist you. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff were great in every respect. Breakfast was really nice, and had good variety. Beautiful view of the beach, not far from Neptune's statue. Family, pet and Senior friendly. Only down side is the price is at the upper limit of the competition.

Room Tip: Upper floors have great views, but get one without the a/c vent blowing on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about us here at the Residence Inn. I'm sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you. I wish there was more we could do about the price for you. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and the location was good for families. The service is non existent. There was no flexibility on check in time, I called for a Bell Hop, they left the U-Boat in the hall and were gone when I answered the door, the staff had no recommendations for the surrounding area. The hallway was sweltering hot, the breakfast was worse than hospital food, the mattresses were awful!! I am a loyal Marriot guest, you can do much better than this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service for all of our guests and encourage our guests to inform us when our service is not meeting their expectations; so we have the opportunity to correct the situation. I am sorry you had an issue with the check-in time but we do need the time between check out and check in to properly clean the room. I am sure if you arrived early we took your name and number and called you once a room became available. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Marriott and again I do apologize that you found our hotel less than satisfactory. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Marriott and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.