We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Ocean View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Severna Park
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Ocean View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well located. We had a good dinner at nearby Catch 31.
My room (and I believe all rooms) overlook the ocean. Walking and biking paths are out front. You can watch surfers from the room.
The room had a separate living room/kitchen and bedroom. Very clean and well maintained.
I was there for business but I would think this setup would work for a family of four on vacation.
Free continental breakfast had a decent selection.
The fitness center just has a treadmill, stationary bike and two stair machines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we all hope we will see you in the future. Have a wonderful year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    128
    48
    21
    5
See reviews for
247
112
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We go to the Residence Inn Virginia Beach every April and we love it.
The accomodations are all suites, tastefully decorated and they all look out over the ocean. Each has a little enclosed balcony. They offer a full kitchen.
The staff are very helpful and considerate and most of the staff have been there for a few years.
The breakfast room offers a great array of breakfast items....hot & cold and the coffee is on in the lobby all the time.
This hotel is the only "pet friendly" accomodation on the beach. The place is immaculate and they also offer free WIFI and for those not bringng a laptop, there is a computer in the main lobby for guests to use.

Room Tip: Rooms are assigned by the person booking your trip and they don't guarantee a room but it really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you concern us a home away from home. Being a Residence Inn we are delighted to hear that you are a repeat guest to our hotel. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the services and accommodations for our guest. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel was clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was large enough for 3 adults and 2 kids. Loved that we were located right on the beach and had an oceanfront view. We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Would stay again and will be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. I am very excited to hear that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our staff and our location. I hope you are able to visit us again before the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff and service at the Residence Inn at VA Beach Oceanfront was excellent(Jullie, Lillian, and the two drivers at the Valet parking) were excellent. no issues with the quality of customer service.

The Heating unit inside the unit needed some required maintenance. The first night we didn't notice because the unit did not kick in, the second night, the heating unit sound almost like an old car with a bad belt, throughout the entire night. They were at 100% capacity so another room was probably not available, so we ended up leaving one night short than planed.

Other than the noise, the room was clean, with a great view to the Atlantic and the beach, they told us an upgrade to all units is coming, if we can do maintenance to reduce the noise, things will be great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I'm terribly sorry about your inconvenience and understand your frustration. We value your business, and would like to address all of your concerns. It is my goal to restore your confidence in our hotel by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again. Thank you for your comments and taking your time to bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is pet friendly, but next time I will leave my dog at home so I can stay at a hotel where the wifi actually works! During our multiple day stay the wifi only worked for a few minutes at a time. Apparently routers are located on alternate floors and if your room is on the other side of a concrete slab you will not be getting a signal! Also note that they do not have any alternative connections in the rooms! Your iPad will not work either unless you find a starbucks or head to the convention center! The wifi they advertise in the lobby area is unstable and horribly slow as well. If you contact the front desk more than once to let them know about the wifi they will tell you to contact AT&T! Whose job is it to contact AT&T? Mine? Seriously?

If you have indeed chosen an internet free vacation, be aware that the breakfast buffet they advertise is very limited. Day 1, I found two badly bruised bananas. Day 2 we were down to one badly bruised banana. Day 3, sadly, no more bananas. On day 1 there were two different types of yoghurt, activia and light and fit. By day 3, no more yoghurts seemed to be available.

Oh and then there is the heater/airconditioner in the room. In the bedroom there is a closet with a single locked louvred door that must contain a giant heater/airconditioner. When this beast cycles on you have to turn the TV up significantly as it is so loud you won't be able to hear the TV anymore....good luck sleeping with this turning on an off throughout the night! Between the next door neighbors slamming their doors and the air turning on and off, sleep at this hotel is difficult.

Speaking about sleep, upon arrival I checked the sheets and they definitely had stains on them and I also found a hair that was part of the bed and did not belong to us...we've all read about hotels not changing sheets between guests, be warned, this may be one of them!

The pool is very small and has limited fun for kids. The fitness center has about three pieces of equipment in it.

But the location is great. Right on the boardwalk and within walking distance of many great restaurants. And the staff is extremely friendly. Although the amenities are not up to the Marriott standard, the staff definitely is.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, which is a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments in which you informed us that our hotel did not meet your standards. We are sorry that you experienced this problem and we want you to know we are working to improve our standards so that you and our future guests are able to have a great experience while staying with us in the future. Here at the Residence Inn we take all guest concerns very seriously. While we make every attempt to ensure that our hotel meets every guests standards we apologize that this unfortunate incident was missed by our staff. We are very appreciative that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention and would like to thank you for staying with us here at the Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamoras,Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

the hotel is located right on the broadwalk, all rooms face the Atlantic. just a short walk out the back and your right there at the beach. they are currently doing a replenishment of the beach and should be finished in time for the summer time. The hotel staff makes you feel right at home. we cant say enouugh good things about the whole staff at the Residence Inn ,Virginia Beach.Its always a pleasure to stay there.They have a fantastic breakfast everday of the week and a social event a few nights of the week. pretty much anyting you would want to eat for breakfast. They have an indoor pool........during the off season.we look foreword to our next rrip there.............

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. The staff here at the Residence Inn is happy that your enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We always enjoy staying at this property. The staff is wonderful and we always feel so welcomed. They try to make our stay as nice as possible. We usually visit during the "low" season and find the stay very relaxing.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms. we like a higher floor so we can see more of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for noticing our drive to always provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere year-round! We definitely strive to make sure all of our guests, whether in the high summer season or the low winter season, are always met with prompt hospitality and great service! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.