We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, fantastic service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catch 31

Catch 31
3001 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
(757) 213-3472
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: For avid diners who are visiting Virginia Beach or live within 20 miles of the VB Oceanfront and are looking for the premier dining location, Catch 31 with unique oceanfront dining vignettes and located on the most recognized and valuable real estate in Virginia Beach offers the largest selection of fresh fish and seafood delivered in contemporary style and with high energy.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal, fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

We dined at Catch 31 and could not be happier with the meal and the service. My husband ordered the New York strip and it was prepared perfectly. I had the seafood platter and there was far more food on the plate than I could eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to share your experience of Catch 31 and leaving us wonderful review. While we are noted for having the best seafood on the beach we do also serve excellent quality steaks as well. I’m glad your husband enjoyed his so much and we look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    294
    143
    75
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

right on the beach, great fresh catch of the day, casual elegant atmosphere - somewhat pricey, though

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for the great five star review of Catch 31. We do serve between 5-7 different fresh fish every day so it’s usually easy to pick one that you really like. Thanks again for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Beautiful Restaurant near the beach. We enjoyed our meals which included crab cakes, grilled shrimp, salmon, lobster tail and red snapper. All the seafood was very fresh and tasteful. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating so we decided to take advantage of the warm summer evening by dining outside for my sister's birthday celebration. I would definitely go back again whenever I am in the Virginia Beach area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food and Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing Catch 31 for your birthday celebration as well as your enthusiastic recommendation to return. I also appreciate that you noticed the freshness of our seafood as we are fanatical about selling our fish no more than three days out of the water. Freshness like that is apparent from the very first bite. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The wait staff was friendly, the food was okay and the restaurant was crowded so getting seated was a hassle and the area we were seated did not have a view.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
I’m very disappointed that you did not receive the type of experience we are so well known for and why we rate so highly. Visiting Catch 31 should never be a hassle and I do apologize that we made it so for you. I do hope you give us another opportunity if you visit the area as I’m confident that we can regain your trust and earn your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food - excellent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We went here and had a great meal - the food was fabulous. The bar scene is great as well, if you are into that sort of thing!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review of Catch 31. As you note if you enjoy a high energy, see and be seen atmosphere there is no better restaurant on the beach than Catch 31. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch 31 also viewed

 

Been to Catch 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catch 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.