We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service saved them” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Virginia Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Travelodge Virginia Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2802 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #86 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Temple Hills, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Customer Service saved them”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was not cleaned sufficiently. When I arrived, I found bread crumbs and empty water bottles behind the headboard and night dresser. The maid stopped cleaning another room and came in to correct my problems. The WiFi was the worst. Kept crashing. The room safe was broke and although I talked to management and was told the maintenance men would be sent, no one showed and no follow up was given to me until I mentioned it as I was checking out. Really the only reason i'm giving them a pass is because I did a survey and the Wyndham Corporation had the manager contact me regarding my complaints. Since Wyndham went out its way to try to satisfy me, i'm giving them an average mark. Prior to them contacting me, I was going to give them a failing mark.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM2802, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.


Sincerely,

Mike Patel

TRAVELODGE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    75
    48
    78
See reviews for
137
57
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was average. You need to carry your breakfast back to your room. There are nice pancake houses nearby if you'd rather eat there. View of beach is blocked, but you just have to walk across the street to get to the boardwalk. It is not very far away from King Neptune's statue. The hotel could use more maids, though. Twice we got to the room after 3 pm, and it was still unmade. We finally just put a do not disturb sign outside, and kept the room unmade. We weren't sure if we were going to show up from swimming in the ocean, and have to wait outside for our room! Next door is a fun little yogurt shop called SweetFrog's, where you can make your own sundaes, and they charge by the ounce. We went there 3 times!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM2802, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.


Sincerely,


Mike Patel
AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you like dirty, this is the motel for you! Filthy blankets on the bed, smell of sex in the room, cupboard door hanging on by 1 hinge, small white spots on the rug, thr pool looked as if someone put flour in there, it was very foggy and the guy at the front desk was a real idiot I immediately left and got another motel. They kept my first nights payment and said they wouldn't give it back because housekeeping said"it was clean" Yeah right! If Virginia has a health department, they need to go there and shut that place down. It was HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The pictures they show you online must be from when it first opened cause they definately aren't from anytime in the past few years.

Room Tip: Leave there and go to......... Cerca del Mar, it's right up the road and the place is Clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM2802, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.


Sincerely,
Mike patel
AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights just after labour weekend, chose it because it was cheap and very close to the beach. My room was quite dirty and when I opened the microwave it was obvious it had not been cleaned for weeks!
I told the reception and to their credit they did clean it the next day.
Breakfast was very disappointing. It is served in reception and extremely basic and you then have to take it back to your room to eat as there is no seating area.
Overall if you're looking for cheap and cheerful then take a risk but personally I'd pay a little more and go somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM2802, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.


Sincerely,
Mike patel
AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed three nights after labor day so the hotel was not very crowded.
Enjoyed it. Had a great price. They have low rates so it's not a Hilton, don't expect a Hilton.
The staff was friendly. The rooms are very nice, clean. There's a safe in the room. Bathroom is small but clean. I would'nt stay four people in the room but perfect for two.
The pool is clean. They serve breakfast that you bring to your room. Cereals and pastries, coffee.
Nice location there's great stores and restaurant on the street. 1 min to the beach. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask 2nd ou 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM2802, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.


Sincerely,
Mike Patel
AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Not exactly sure what the others are talking about. I spent two nights there with my husband and 2 kids. Our room was clean and did not smell and there was no sign of mildew in the washroom. There certainly weren't any bedbugs as I checked every corner of the beds. The staff was extremely polite and friendly.

The kitchenette had a mini microwave, mini fridge and a small stove which had 4 small burners and a small oven. If you plan to use it bring your own pots and pans as it didn't have any. I used the stove to boil water for my daughter's formula. The fridge to store cold cuts and drinks for the beach and stored left overs from the restaurants meals. There is an ice machine for your cooler located on the first floor.

The breakfast was nice as it had mini donuts, muffins, juice, tea, coffee and cereal, there isn't a place it sit which didn't bother me as I prefer to eat in my room anyway. I actually brought my own toaster, to toast bread and eggos for breakfast. The pool would be cleaned in the morning but by the afternoon it would have some sand as some people don't rinse off from the beach and head directly for the pool. We had no issues with parking.

I am giving a 5 star rating because I felt I got alot for what I paid for. I have stayed at the more expensive hotels and I felt that I got more bang for my buck here. I saved money on breakfast, the internet and a couple of meals because of the kitchenette. With the money I saved I hit the stores. I would recommend Burlington Coat Factory as I found quite a few bargains there.

The only negative was that our room wasn't ready at 4pm but were given another room within 5 minutes. The noise from the planes from the navy base was very irritating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM2802, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.


Sincerely,
Mike Patel
AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place was totally nasty inside and out. stayed for only one night. "Thank Goodness" On our way to Bush Gardens.
Holes in the wall, wires sticking out of walls,filthy inside and out. Embarrssed I took my twin teenagers their, total waste of 100.00 bucks. I would not pay 30.00 bucks a night. The only good thing about it , it was close to the ocean. Stay Away........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM2802, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.


Sincerely,
Mike patel
AGM
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Virginia Beach

Address: 2802 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Virginia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach At 28th Street Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.