We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two lighthouses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Cape Henry Lighthouse

Old Cape Henry Lighthouse
583 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23459
757 422 9421
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a recommended drive to the oldest government-built lighthouse in America.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Two lighthouses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We did not climb the 191 steps to the top of the lighthouse but just looked around. There's a very nice beach there but this is a not a must-see.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    138
    64
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great picture spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

took alot of great photos here...plus got a bit of exercise!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice VA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Anyone who visits Va. Beach needs to go to the top of this lighthouse at least once! It's well worth the effort. I had the privilege of living at Ft. Story as a child and considered the lighthouse to be part of my environment. Now as an adult I appreciate the history of this structure.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“not much there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

It's on a military base and you need to show ID upon driving into the area. It costs $5 to climb the lighthouse. There are a total of 191 steps including the steps to get to the lighthouse. It wasn't that high up so the view wasn't that great. There's a small gift shop.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view! Neat history! Good price! A lot of stairs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I live here in Virginia Beach and recently had some family in town. It was a cool, clear day and I realized that I had not been up to the old ligthhouse in years and I thought it would be a nice thing to show them. The lighthouse is on a Military Base (Fort Story) so unless you are haev military ID you will have to go through a checkpoint and vehicle inspection. The soldiers at the gate are super friendly, but they will go through your vehicle so please don't bring your gun :)

Once on base it's about a 30 second drive to the parking lot for the lighthouse. There is a small gift shop with some nice local art and nic-nacs. The cost is $6 per persone to walk to the top of the light. 161 steps will get you to the top where there is a great view. Nothing more, nothing less.

If you're looking for a quick something to see, someting to do, this is for you. If you're looking for a guided tour with lunch and cocktails, this is not for you.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Cape Henry Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Old Cape Henry Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Cape Henry Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.