We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahogany brisket...god help me.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que

Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que
601 19th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4103
757-422-4222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,159 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
VB
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mahogany brisket...god help me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

All I want and all I need is that mahogany brisket. I tried other menu items and it's good, but that mahogany brisket has me driving out of my way to pick up a bucket every here and again. Super casual, very beach caz oriented-which is fine, but that is why I order to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    65
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten on most fronts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you are staying close to the beach and bbq is what's on your mind, then this place should nicely satisfy your hankering. We went here 3 times during our week long stay and each time ordered the food to go for picnic style meals on the sand and we were never disappointed. The portions are generous, the price more than fair. The sides along with the pit beef, brisket, chicken and pulled pork were all equally satisfying. Now I know there are probably bbq afiicionados who will claim that it's better in some other part of the country (i.e. Texas, Carolina, KC etc) but I think this place can stand upto most of if not all of those places. Couple that with the fact that its only 3 blocks from a famous beach lined with tourist traps and scores of mediocre food joints, this place represents a real value.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent brisket..small portions..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Thie is a nice spot about three blocks from the beach. It is a really casual place as you would expect people to come from the beach with beachware, flip flops, etc...which is great. The staff is friendly and the food preparation goes on right before your eyes. Freshly cut meats. The brisket sandwich was great, moist, and plentiful. Didn't care for the vinegar base that the chipped BBQ was basted in. The side portions are too small. The prices are a bit expensive for a casual place such as itself...order your food, pay, your number is called and you pick it up from the counter. The sides arae good but just small. The sweet tea is southern sweet tea for sure!! Have been there several times and will more than likely go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and value for bbq”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

If you aren't picky about your barbecue worth a visit virginia beach. You have to like carolina bbq.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bklyn,ny
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Still smackin' our lips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Simply put-this place has delicious BBQ, nice portions, great sides, LOW prices and friendly staff. You walk up to place your order and the servers assist you in bringing your order back to your table after it's ready for pick-up. Lots of take-out orders while we were there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.