We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #30 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumberland, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from VAB and my stay at the Hilton Garden Oceanfront. What a nice hotel. Staff are extremely kind and helpful. The concierge services were spot on with suggestions for restaurants. The rooms are all ocean front with beautiful views and private balconies. Family friendly with an indoor/outdoor pool. My only suggestion would be more luggage caddies and larger ones. When I travel for business I have many items. Overall, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    329
    152
    103
    55
See reviews for
279
317
37
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beautiful hotel great staff that is very helpful. The rooms are good with a wonderful view. I would not say that the cost is equal to what you get. I would probably choose another hotel if I visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel says that a shuttle is available. I was part of a wedding party and only needed to go 5 blocks away. It was raining so hard I was not able to walk. When I called in ADVANCE to utilize the shuttle, the valet said there was no shuttle. I tried to utilize the shuttle on the Friday of my stay and the Saturday of my stay. I am most disappointed in the attitude of the staff when I inquired about a service the hotel claims they offer. It was like I was asking for something totally unreasonable. It really made question whether or not I will stay in that hotel or any Hilton hotel at all. All you needed to have done to have exceeded my expectations is actually offer the service that you advertise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel shuttle. We will double check all printed and web based collateral to ensure it reflects the shuttle is based upon availability. We have already mentioned your concerns to our valet staff to ensure they respond appropriately, as the answer to your question should have never been “There is no Shuttle”. There is a shuttle. Thanks again for pointing this experience out to us. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you.
Regards,
Dave Schaum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Perfect location. Ocean view room was perfect to sit on the balcony and listen to the nightly musicians. Dinner at Catch 31 was pricey but food was excellent. Roof top pool was awesome. Room was clean and had upgraded amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We certainly appreciate your praise. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Regards,
Dave Schaum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I came here with my husband and it was horrible it had long queues for breakfast and the beds were uncomfortable and the railing for the balcony was very unsteady. But besides that it was very pretty.

Room Tip: Higher room have better views and are more larger in the corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and bringing the balcony railing to our attention. I’ve had the Engineering team check all balconies to ensure the utmost safety for our guests. I’m sorry that you don’t like our new Hilton Serenity mattresses. We strive to find a bed that suits many different tastes. Once again, thank you for your comments so that we can improve our hotel and services.
Regards,
Dave Schaum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at this Hilton for 3 nights and the location was good enough that we did not have to use our car during our entire stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did encounter quite a bit of noise on our first night due to a room on the north side of the building while one of the concerts in the adjacent park was going on, traveling with a 2 year-old, the concert went a little too late for her but the hotel was quick to send up a bellman to move us to a higher room on the south side of the hotel. The restaurants within were also very good, and the relationship they have with the beach vendors was very convenient.

One major gripe I did have with the property is that this Hilton is franchised by a company that owns a majority of the larger newer properties on the beach which also happens to sell Time-Share for many of those properties. The company, Gold Key, has employees right at the concierge desk side-by-side with the actual concierge referring people to go on one of the time-share tours in order to get free tickets to a local attraction. We decided to go ahead with one of their sales pitches as the person at the hotel stated they were new and it would help them, promising it would only be a 90 minute tour; however, we ended up losing a good 5 hours of our first full day at the beach. I suppose that is the price we pay for being nice, too bad it ended up costing us a day at the beach.

I must say, I am a bit shocked that a Hilton would let a time-share company sell on property, especially at their concierge desk. It really soured my entire experience at Virginia Beach. After seeing how much of the beach Gold Key owns, I likely won't vacation in the area again.

Room Tip: Request a high room on the south side. Stay away from the concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to post your comments. The Neptune Park’s 31st stage offers a wide range of musical entertainment, and the hotel’s north side allows our guests to have the best seats in the house. I have reviewed your comments with the Front Desk to ensure that at check-in, we offer our guests location options (close to the music or not) if there is room availability. As for the time-share, it is a popular option for some in Virginia Beach. The team that promotes it is passionate about what they do but recognize that it isn’t for everyone. I hope that your experience won’t permanently tarnish your perception of the entire city. Thank you again for your feedback. We’ll see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Regards,
Dave Schaum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel rooms -5th and 7th floor that we viewed are aged and showing wear. The lobby is very nice, the executive lounge was pleasant. Walls are thin and could hear neighbors next store. As a Diamond member, we were not provided an upgrade, we had to return to the front desk and ask. There was an empty beer can left in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. It is our practice to upgrade our Diamond member guests to oceanfront rooms if there is availability. The summer vacation season makes it difficult some times. I have reviewed your comments with the Front Desk and Housekeeping teams in order to improve our service delivery. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We’ll see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Regards,
Dave Schaum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.