We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I decided to visit Virginia Beach for my wife's birthday. We choose the Hilton as we are regular users of Hilton hotels and the standard is pretty good. The location of the hotel was also ideal for what we wanted for a weekend getaway. Its right on the boardwalk, easy to drive to, and parking is right there (valet or self)
The hotel was busy, it turns out it was some sort of college escape weekend. Note to self do more investigations in future on whats going on! We had a beach front room that was typically spacious and with a balcony that was not really private. Nevertheless a well apportioned room with all the amenities, space and a comfortable bed, you find in most Hiltons.
We had no issues with the hotel at all, however the high police presence in the area throughout the weekend (Again down to the college weekend) was a little off putting. There were three guys on the door of the in house bar and restaurant on the Friday night and two on Saturday. Ocean 31 is a great place to eat and drink, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had got in late Friday night so our main experience was Saturday night and it turned out to be the ideal location to have a few drinks.
Overall classic Hilton, and no issues, would recommend staying here if you are in the area and looking for a place to stay.
One final point, at nearly $300 per night for a standard room with balcony, its certainly not as cheap as some of the hotels I am sure there. But you get the classic Hilton experience with good staff, clean and tidy hotel, and a comfortable bed. For me worth the price.

Room Tip: make sure you get an ocean front balcony and above the first couple of floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    314
    141
    93
    53
See reviews for
260
286
34
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Rooms were comfy. Oceanfront view was gorgeous especially the sunrise. Ask for extra towels as they are not replaced daily. Food costs are a little high, but the food was delicious. The location next to Neptune Park was great as there is always something going on at the park, and the patio off the bar has fire pits where you can relax, enjoy a drink, and just watch the events and people walk by. Hotel is literally steps from the sand which my children loved. Outdoor pool and hot tub is under renovations, however if you can handle the strong chlorine smell :) the indoor pool was an ok substitute.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went for a meeting, off-season, and it was fantastic. Very clean, great food, beverages and spacious rooms. No complaint at all. One small snafu with room service that was made up for 110% without me even asking. Highly recommend for VA Beach area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
btravelling
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel seems to be located in the middle of all the action with adjacent outdoor amphitheater, shops and restaurants. Valet with convenient self-park across the street with sky walk to hotel. While the staff was friendly during check-in, our room was not ready. We were offered drink tickets. Room (oceanfront) was nice and clean with great views. Flat screen TV, mini fridge, clean bathrooms. One small issue with shower head which was immediately fixed by the engineer after notifying the front desk. Probably would have been just fine with ocean view room on the north or south side...are not blocked by other high-rise hotels. A very good experience over all and what should be expected of a large hotel chain with ocean front property.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We are finishing a great weekend stay at the Va. Beach Hilton. Upon arrival I found this hotel to be welcoming, clean and well maintained. This is our third stay at this property. From beginning to end the staff is professional, courteous and accommodating. Diner in the Catch 31 Restaurant was good with great service. The lounge area gets pretty busy on the weekends and the bartenders do a great job serving the busy crowd. This is a busy hotel providing great service to its guest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was here for several days of a conference in the end of March. The room and the conference areas were clean and tidy. Having a balcony with chairs and a small table was awesome even though I was the second room in on the side for ocean view instead of ocean front, room 816. I could see everything beautifully. The indoor pool was small but adequate, as few others were using it. If it had been crowded, it would be much too small. The construction on the roof area did not disrupt my stay. The restaurant was good for breakfast but very expensive. Other mornings, we went to Pocahontas Pancakes down the street or had breakfast included with the conference. All of the conference food was very good. The staff was more than helpful with questions. The bar was crowded the one night I went after our conference party, and it isn't cheap. The bartender was very busy so service was pretty slow. They really needed another person behind the bar. If it had been warmer, we would have spent time at the outdoor bar which was really nice.

Room Tip: Get ocean view or ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

So many people helped to make our stay with you this week a delight. But the one person we need to thank the most is Lars from the Empyrean Club. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful experience. We loved our room and the Empyrean Level and lounge was such a treat. Everyone we encounted, from parking to check-in to the restaurants was great. We will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.