We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best property @ the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best property @ the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great service, food, rooms and overall service is A+. Ive been here many times and thou it was too cold on this trip the kids love the indoor pool with lights and the big kids enjoy the infiniti pool on the top floor. It's like nothing you've seen with a full view of the city. The jet noise takes me back to being a kid! Great food and serive at Catch 31 and a good exec lounge too.
I've included a pic of breakfast at the lounge. Love the ouble shower head and confy beds. Internet was fast. Not many get 5 stars from me but this one did! Great job Hilton!!!

Room Tip: Ocean View. 20th floor has the lounge for VIP
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    314
    141
    93
    53
See reviews for
261
286
35
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol,tn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is awesome. Valet parking, hotel staff awaits as you pull up to unload your bags and take them to your room. Valet is optional, if you choose to park yourself, we did, its just a short walk to the hotel. The customer service was perfect, everyone is welcoming and eager to assist you. This hotel is on the ocean which has a 2 1/2 mile long boardwalk for walking, running and bicycling, I ran every morning as the sun came up, very nice. Virginia Beach in April was of very exciting, we never travel there so not sure if it gets any better during summer but the hotel was best part of the city we found. The only issues which to me is kinda BIG. There is an activities desk downstairs next to lobby so I thought, "cool, they even help you plan fun things to do" but we were mistaken, the owner of the hotel, not the actual Hiltons, have timeshares so of course you have to get hounded by these guys on going on a tour and they'll give you coupons and dinner, etc. To me a luxury hotel shouldn't have this going on in their lobby but cash is king. Apparently the owners of this hotel own over 50% of Virginia Beach establishments so there are multiple places you will get hounded on timeshares, coupons, dinners, etc. kinda tacky. But overall great hotel just stay clear of the "activities desk".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We splurged for the club level and must say were slightly disappointed that the room wasn't a bit more nice for the cost. The perks that came with the club level were nice except for the fact that they wanted an additional $11 for wifi when even the cheapest of hotels offers it for free!! We enjoyed our stay but must say that their sister hotel Hampton Inn next door is just as nice, half the price, free hot breakfast and you still earn Hilton Honors points. We will continue to stay at the Hampton Inn for the value and just as nice rooms. I will always walk the half block to Catch 31 because it is simply the best!

Room Tip: Don't splurge on the club level. Ask for oceanfront not ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront was impressive. The location within VA Beach is perfect for getting around and going to the beach. Unfortunately, my wife and I were there in March for the Shamrock Marathon, and it was too cold to go on the beach. The location was close to the start and finish lines for this marathon, however.

The hotel itself was huge and very clean. The restaurant on the ground floor was great. We got mussels and pizza. The view from our room was spectaculat as well, overlooking the ocean and King Neptune. I recommend this hotel, but please go in the summer as the weather isn't as hot as one might think.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Anytime I am in Virginia Beach for business or pleasure I stay in the Hilton. Excellent staff, wonderful, spacious rooms, convenient location, restaurants and bars with ambiance, and right on the beach. It doesn't get any better in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and really hoped it would get better (especially since it's the nicest hotel at the Virginia Beach oceanfront). Unfortunately, it's gotten worse and is unlike any Hilton property I have experienced. Why? The service. The hotel itself is pretty. It has decent amenities. It looks like a Hilton, feels like a Hilton, but...everything stops there. The service is deplorable. From the front desk staff on the bottom floor to the wait staff on the roof...it's awful! I have really never experienced staff that just don't care about the guest like this place! My seafood soup was missing the seafood - I got an "oh" from the waitress and was asked if I still wanted it. I sat at a nice table outside and was told by the waiter that his shift was over so no one would be over to take my order for about 45 minutes. The waitstaff at the rooftop bar spent the entire time chatting with each other so we had to get up and get our own drinks. My group asked the valet for directions to a restaurant (which ended up being 5 blocks away) and he said he had "never heard of it". Seriously...I don't think these people could care ANY LESS about the guests. But...it's pretty.

Room Tip: Do not choose a Murphy bed room - the beds are uncomfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with our team members have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As a Hilton Honors member, I must say I was extremely disappointed with this hotel!! We were booked way in advance as a group with my daughters soccer team thinking we were booking a block of rooms only to find out when we arrived that the hotel only blocks off rooms through the events coordinator. This should have been mentioned when booking our 12 rooms. So our team was scattered throughout the hotel. Also upon arrival we were told that the pools were being remodeled and that we would have to be shuttled down to another Hilton property. Not a good thing to tell a team of 11 year old girls. Upon arriving to our room we walked in on a staff member removing the refrigerator and were told that they did not come in standard rooms. I was less than pleased and told them to find us one or return the one he was removing. We did eat dinner that evening at Catch 31 and it was fine, not outstanding by any means. The rooms already look dated and for the price of this hotel, it is so not worth it. The location is good. Also make sure to check your bill, we were double charged for parking. We were charged for both valet and self
park. The staff at the desk were less than friendly and helpful. I will not stay here again and have stayed at Hampton Inns that have been more superior to this hotel, at least you get a comp. breakfast at a Hampton Inn!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and poor service that you and your group encountered during your time with us. Our team has been addressed in regards to your review and the necessary corrections have been made. Again, we apologize to you all and if there is anything we can do for you, please let us know. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.