We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Paddle Boarding Package
Ranked #27 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Central PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great conference hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid-March for a conference. I was impressed with the view from my room--truly a great ocean view. Room was very clean and tastefully appointed. The Hilton staff seemed to be pros at putting on conferences--everything seemed quickly and efficiently done, from setting up meals to letting attendees store their luggage after checking out. I was on the 5th floor and can see that in the summer, it might be loud w/ the restaurant/bar right below you. However, it was cool/windy when I was there, and the hotel was quiet, as was all of Virginia Beach. The young man at the concierge desk was so helpful one evening in helping us find a restaurant and get a reservation. The beds were very comfortable; would have liked to take one home. My sole complaint: I couldn't seem to find a way to get from my 5th floor room to the conference level via the stairs--everything seemed to be labeled "emergency only" or took you directly to the lobby level. Waiting for the elevator occasionally got tiresome. But a minor quibble! I took a conference shuttle to the hotel, but the parking looked fairly convenient--a garage right across the street connected by a bridge.

Room Tip: Higher rooms away from outdoor bar/restaurant probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    267
    116
    85
    51
See reviews for
232
246
32
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very modern decor but lacking some basic amenities like a decent gym and a pool that is not closed as it seemed to have been built 30 years ago!! Awfully loud music playing in the lobby making it hard to speak to the front desk staff. Very nice ocean view room but when we arrived there was only one towel in the room and when we called for more they brought 2 more bath towels and nothing else?? We had to leave a note asking for hand towels and face cloths from the maid the next morning. Also, upon our arrival after a long drive, we ordered a bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers from room service and this took 45 minutes?! The waiter apologized, saying that the kitchen staff wanted to make a work of art out of the cheese and crackers!! Food in Catch 31 was very ordinary and rather pricey, but the waiting staff was attentive and professional. We had dinner in the room and it was brought on a tray and the waitress asked where we wanted it?? There was only the desk so we had to perch our plates on our knees. What happened to the room service cart that opens up to a table that we have seen in many other hotels? Because of these problems, I hesitate to fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent a short time there, next time will spend more time there. Went for relaxation and a pick-me-up from work. Got both. Great views nice balcony to enjoy the fresh air. Weather was fantastic for early April. Friendly and attentive staff.

Room Tip: We had ocean view on the 8th floor, when I realized t wasn't oceanfront I felt deceived. It tur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For the price of the room and the Hilton brand, I just expected more from the hotel. There wasn't a mini fridge in the room, and we only had down pillows. The staff was very friendly, though, and everything was top-notch in quality. However, based on the amenities provided, the overall value was not inherent for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here in April for a long weekend. I was there for a wedding, which was taking place on the beach outside the hotel and inside for the reception.

My first impression was that the hotel seemed a lot nicer than any other hotel around it. Granted, I didn't stay in or even visit any of the other hotels, but if I had to pick from the outside, I definitely would have picked this one.

Inside is very nice and clean. Check-in staff was very friendly and accommodating (I asked for late checkout on two rooms and they said no problem).

There is nothing really out of the ordinary here. The decor is nice, lobby and restaurants are attractive and the food was above average. I will say that the main restaurant has a bit of an 80's vibe to it, but I guess the 80s are back, so yeah. Imagine that bar in Top Gun when Maverick and Goose sing Righteous Brothers to Charlie... kind of like that, but with a great dining area and more women. The bartender Nancy was fun and made us laugh, fast with the drinks and great conversation.

The rooms were well maintained, housekeeping-wise. We had one ocean view and even though the room itself didn't "face" the ocean (it was on the corner of the building) the balcony provided a full view, including the sunrise. On the night of the wedding, I actually wound up booking another standard, non ocean view room and letting other people stay in my original room. Aside from no view or balcony the room was nice and exceptionally large.

I did have two issues with the rooms. One is that there are no refrigerators, which I actually use. Kind of a bummer. There is definitely room, so I don't know what is going on there. Also, room 814 has a slow drip/leak under the bathroom sink which makes the floor a little dangerous. Room 903 has a faulty toilet flapper which never makes a seal, so the toilet runs ALL DAY AND NIGHT unless you put your hand in the freezing tank and push it down.

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. However, I am easy to please and I don't constantly require management assistance or something to complain about like a lot of travelers, hence my four stars. I would stay there again for sure if I was back in the area and wanted to stay on the beach.

Room Tip: ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely hotel nice ambiance overall. Service a little lacking. Basically the management that I dealt with thinks a pet on the head and I'm sorry to hear that patches any customer service leak he may encounter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We just concluded an off-season weekend visit to celebrate our anniversary. This was our first stay in Virginia Beach and we would definitely go back.

We had a corner oceanfront room which had an extended balcony including a chaise lounge, chair and table. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. I agree with another viewer in feeling disappointed at the lack of a refrigerator. The room has a small bar area that could easily fit one and its a shame that it's not a standard thing. Other than that my only complaint was that our room was not cleaned until 4:00pm, while we were in there wanting to get ready for our dinner reservation! I find this to be completely inexcusable!

Our first night we dined in the bar area of Catch 31. Our meals weren't anything exciting, especially for the price but the atmosphere definitely draws the crowd. Both days and nights this seems to be the place to go. No other beach bars/restaurants seemed to draw such a large crowd.

Our second night we dined at Salacia. A far better experience both food and service. Much quieter than Catch 31 too. If it wasn't so cool and windy we would have sat outside. Maybe next time. Again pricey but we enjoyed it.

Overall, the location of this hotel is great. The beach and boardwalk are clean. Although this was a weekend just for us, we couldn't help but notice all the things that we could do with our kids......again, maybe next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Family-friendly...
Show More
Northeast Virginia Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / N 37th St
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#23 of 115 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#6 of 115 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Ocean...
#13 of 115 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
Northeast Virginia Beach
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#26 of 115 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Pool, Beach, Fr...
Show More
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#1 of 115 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
Northeast Virginia Beach
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#16 of 115 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.