We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #26 of 113 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Verona, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two days for a quick getaway. We stayed in a Empryrean leval ocean front room. The view was awesone, the Empyrean lounge was greatt and the ambiance in the hotel was wonderful. I would highly recommend if you want a quiet getaway, stay on a club leval room. This will ensure that you have sufficient privacy and enjoy your stay.

I have stayed at numerous Hiltons all over the world and this hotel is superb. The concierge was extremely helpful. He knew when to be there and when not to be.

The room was marvelous and the bedding was exceptional. Room service was excellent and it was even well priced.

The only downfall to the hotel is the parking. I hate Valet parking, so we self parked, which was fine, however, it was overpriced and the key cards never worked in the garage.

I would recommend this hotel highly, but hopefully they will work on their parking situation.

Room Tip: Choose a Club Leval room. You will not regret it. The rooms are awesome and the view at sunrise are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    323
    147
    99
    54
See reviews for
267
310
37
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I travel extensively for business, so I decided to stay at the Hilton Oceanfront instead of near the hotel. I viewed it as a mini-vacation. Anyway, we arrived to almost monsoon winds and crazy rain. We decided to valet park each day ($16, a value in my book) and took our stuff inside. Once we were in and checking in, the electricity kept going on and off. However, because I'm a diamond hilton honors member, the person checking us in upgraded us. Well worth it. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and, although extremely pricey, the food was good. We never had an issue - this location is much further north than the sites. Perfect for someone that is looking to actually relax, but if you're looking for shopping and fun, this is a bit away from that.

Besides that, the room was an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My extended family and I traveled to Virginia Beach in late February for a funeral. We had five rooms throughout the hotel, and each of them were upgraded to the "Gold" level. The service was excellent yet understated, and much better than what I've seen at some Fairmonts. The bar scene on Friday and Saturday night were surprisingly good and had some off the radar beers on tap.

Rest assured that this hotel is excellent and among the best in the region.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We could not afford the Hilton over the summer month and tool advantage for their winter specials. I am lucky we did as we would have been even more upset paying full for what we experienced. From a dusty room, dirty sheet over to scripted and cold service, there was nothing to write home about. You should not just life from a location and try harder to also match the product with service. We will try another ocean front hotel end of march, Hilton will not be an option for us anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK757, Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive for excellence in cleanliness, service and our amenities. Our location on the boardwalk is a perk our guests usually enjoy very much, as we are central to all the best shopping, dining and entertainment on the oceanfront.

We hope you give us a second chance to serve you again next time your travels bring you to Virginia Beach.

Thanks,
David Schaum, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Its what I expected. I wasn't impressed with all the kids in the lobby starring at us when we walked in. Suppose there was an event going on. Room was cold all night but I'm a woman! (we are always cold!) Felt like waitress was annoyed to serve us but I only say that because her attitude and she had to point out she was suppose to leave but stayed... and I must say when a couple is in a nice restaurant employees should take conversations else ware. Valet was my biggest issue I would have been better of saving 16 bucks and getting my own car. The wait was annoying for me perhaps because I have no patience. All and all I would say yes stay at the Hilton its got best price for what your looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here Memorial weekend of 2012 with our 8 year old son. The hotel has ONE elevator and at night the pool deck turns into a night club. There were two major issues with that. First, the lines for the elevator were long and second, the "boom, boom, boom" from the nightclub could be heard all night. Our room was on the 7th floor and oceanfront. When we first arrived, the wheels to the sliding closet door were missing and the safe fell out of the wall. We paid $1400 for the weekend and had to deal with maintenance for the first hour or so. Also, be prepared to pay for nice lounges on the beach. A lounge & umbrella ran us $50 per day. The pool on top of the building was very busy and no chairs to be found.

The Pro's are: Very nice location, friendly staff and beautiful view. I am writing this review as we intend to return to Virginia Beach in May and will not be booking a room at the Hilton. I hope this can be helpful to another family traveling for a beach weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with my husband to celebrate our birthdays. We thoroughly enjoyed the location, our corner room with balcony and ocean view was both spacious and inviting. Catch 31 - the bar and the restaurant of the same name (on site) were friendly - with good views of the oceanfront, excellent service and very fresh, well-prepared seafood. Try a spicy Bloody Mary "Natcho style" at the bar. If it had been just a little warmer, we might have dined outside by the gas fire pits. We've done that before - most enjoyable. We thought the hotel's location along the boardwalk was ideal - great views and fairly quiet. We've traveled to VA Beach many times over the years and have frequented the restaurant many times but haven't stayed at the hotel before this trip. If you are looking for a more than a basic beach hotel, we highly recommend it. One caveat - the rooftop pool was closed for renovation during our visit. We were informed of this when booking our reservation - it would have been a lovely addition to a great weekend away. We can only imagine how breathtaking the view would be. Perhaps a return visit is in our future!

Room Tip: According to the hotel - the corner rooms are more spacious than the standard rooms. Our 7th floor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.