We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped room, comfortable and a good night's sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #25 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
various
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Well equipped room, comfortable and a good night's sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The title says it all, we only stayed one night but had no major complaints, nice sea view from the room,which was spacious and well equipped. Didn't rate the breakfast very much, the staff seemed distracted and the breakfast room was scruffy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    245
    111
    80
    47
See reviews for
214
228
31
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is one of the nicer Hilton properties I have had the pleasure of staying at. I am a HUGE fan of the Hilton brand and their entire line of hotels. This oceanfront resort is really one of their greats! The rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are great, but the pools and hot tub and the roof top are by far the highlights. The bar in the hotel is awesome, but was very busy when we stayed last weekend, and there was not ever an empty bar stool in the place! The hotel breakfast was standard, and very well presented. The quality of sleep leaves something to be desired, due to the noise levels from room to room. The bed was very comfortable, but it was the noise that kept us up all night. I stayed on the 7th floor with a south facing balcony. Every single time somebody within 10 rooms on either side of our room, entered or exited their room, you could clearly hear them walking in the hall and talking, the door open and slam extremely loud, and then depending on how close their room was to yours, you could sometimes also hear their conversation once they entered their room. The hotel was slam packed with weddings, conferences, and other events that weekend so a certain noise level is to be expected, but at least the room I was in needs some serious noise reduction help. The other issue I had during my stay was I got trapped in the elevator on Sunday morning. It did not last more than a few minutes, but was terrifying none the less. The most bothering part was when I went to the front desk to follow up with them on what had just happened, they did not seem to care about my concern at all and did not give the type of customer support one would expect after something like that had just happened. Very abnormal for the way Hilton treats its guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

WOW the female greeter at the main door was OUTSTANDING! I will stay here again if I travel to the area.
Great location, rooms and customer service ! Just work on allowing an earlier check in for guest that come in earlier.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review and visit in our hotel. We are happy to read you enjoyed our location and rooms.
Your warm comments have been communicated to the entire team here as they represent a great source of motivation for each and every one of us.
We sincerely hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall, the hotel is really nice. The rooms are pretty nice, but the rooftop pool is really impressive. The hotel is located right next to live entertainment, which can get a little loud, depending on where your room is located. The new King Neptune statue on the boardwalk is cool, but scares the heck out of some little people and the proximity of the new playground equipment is a little too close to the big, intimidating piece of art.

Unless you are into timeshare presentations and the "perks" offered, it's best to avoid it because you end up getting talked into taking 90 or so minutes out of your visit if you commit. That wasn't what we went for, but ended up doing it. I'd just rather not take time out of my weekend to listen to someone try to sell me a timeshare vacation package. Asking questions of the concierge is what got us into this. I just wish we'd said no.

Still a nice hotel; I'm just not excited about chunks of oceanfront turning into timeshares.

People in room next to ours were screaming at each other in the morning. Funny, you'd think paying these kinds of prices, you could avoid that, but no. Or maybe the same crazy people just follow us around the country and stay at the same hotels we do.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are more expensive of course, but are really nice with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Good location in the nice part of Virginia Beach; and friendly staff throughout the hotel.

Stayed in an ocean front king deluxe room which had a beautiful view of the beach.

Room service took a ridiculously long time but the food was good throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is great. The service is excellent and the views are stunning. If you are fortunate to stay here when the upper deck pool is open, you will not be disappointed. It is an extremely relaxing hotel and a nice mini vacation spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my first trip to VA Beach! As well as my first experience staying at a Hilton Hotel.
My husband is active military and we received his government rate as well as excellent customer service. We stayed at the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront towers which are along the Virginia Beach shoreline. This 21-story building offers guests stellar views of the ocean absolutely beautiful. The first-class service, awarding wining restaurants (including at four-diamond steakhouse) as well as its location right on the boardwalk brings anyone looking for luxury to its doors. Rooms are also set with comfortable king or double beds, reclining chair, an amazing five-speed luxury shower, and a 32-inch flat screen TV to create ultimate comfort and pampering in the suite. The Hilton also offers an indoor and outdoor pool, a sky-bar and infinity pool. My overall stay was a 5 star rating I will definitely return again!!
Thank you
Brittany Morrison
(God Bless America)

Room Tip: I asked for a room on the 17th foor or higher !!! i would recommend staying on the higher floors be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your receny stay. All guests’ comments are read with utmost interest as this is the best means of measuring the standard of hospitality that we strive to acheive for all of our guests.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Hilton Virginia Beach
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Virginia Beach Hilton
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.