We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
2973 Shore Dr Ste 111, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
(757) 412-2200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #317 of 1,255 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, great show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

NEVER disappointed at a Sakura's. The food was fabulous and the chef was amazing as always. We have eaten at at least 5 different Sakura's and they are almost identical in food & presentation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable hibachi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stopped in while on vacation; knowing nothing about the place. It was very quiet when we were there midweek but had a very pleasant meal at the hibachi. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester,VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

fresh food, great staff pleasant atmosphere accessible from the boardwalk, one block off on pacific avenue

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great unassuming restaurant, a hidden gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

I was on a business trip and had dinner here yesterday. The restaurant is very quiet and clean. I ordered the Ton Katsu and it was wonderful. The large pork cutlet was moist and the breading was dry and crisp. The sauce was a good compliment. The only minor quibble was that the waitress hovered too much for my taste. She certainly was attentive. Will return on my next trip.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not all Sakuras are the same.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've eaten at 3 different Sakura Restaurants in Virginia Beach - the 3 had different decor; different menus; and different Liquor licenses!

Worst - they had very different service and food quality.

The only Sakura location that shows up is the Shore Drive site...though we frequent the Princess Anne location - which is great. Nicely decorated and good attentive service. (We had a great lunch there today).

We went to the "Beach front" location this Friday night - and it was terrible. No Liquor license. menu was limited. Interior looks like it was renovated years ago and used to be a beach wear shop.

They have a "Hibachi" sign prominently displayed on the building - but no Hibachi grill in the restaurant.

Service was slow - and the food just wasn't up to the quality of the other locations we've been to.

All to the point that we question if, despite the same name, the restaurants have the same owners.

I have to rate this restaurant chain in aggregate - and it's just not a reliable experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.