We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My family is from the Hampton area but I wanted to stay closer to the beach. I haven't been to the area for years so I was super excited about this trip. Prior to my arrival, I had some changes that I needed to make to my reservations and there was a lot of back and fourth but I have to say that Meredith was extremely helpful and patient and I truly appreciate her assistance! When I did arrive, the young man at the front desk was very pleasant and the check-in process was expedient. The lobby was bright and inviting and the guest rooms clean and nicely decorated. I am always skeptical when staying at the beach because you often get the smell of mildewed carpets but not the case here!! The only thing that annoyed me was that there are no elevators in the parking garage so I had to lug all my junk down the stairs to the lobby entrance. This is more my fault than anything cause I didn't pay attention and should have unloaded at the front entrance before parking. Despite that, I had a great stay. The view of the beach is fantastic and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, Front Desk Supervisor at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Erika W,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com. I appreciate your comments and positive reviews on our service and staff. We are certainly glad you decided to stay with us and enjoy the Oceanfront during your trip to Virginia. We look forward to having you again next time you Visit Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    165
    46
    24
    9
See reviews for
179
127
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really enjoyed the 3 days I spent here. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful and the room was great! Every room is an oceanfront room, they provide a couple of chairs and a table/footstool and the location is prime--about midway of the boardwalk. Lots of great conveniences only 2-3 blocks away (restaurants and fast food, pier, drugstore). Also complimentary on-site parking (big plus on Atlantic Ave.) and breakfast. This is a great location anytime, but I love the beach this time of year best.

Looking forward to my next getaway!

Room Tip: Best ocean views are at the top, there are nine floors total (I was on the 8th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, Front Desk Supervisor at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that your three days spent with us were pleasant. We hope you return to us next time you come to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Inn is located on Atlantic Ave, right on the beach. Our family had a room with a balcony and it was a superb weekend. This was due in large part to the service and attention given to us from the hotel staff. Whether it be Meredith at the front desk who attended to our many [ unfortunately] questions and needs, or the lady who within 1 minute had us additional wash clothes, or the maintenance man who at 10:30 on a Friday night was having to mop up a spill in the lobby and yet took time to speak in such a pleasant manner, was I impressed with this place. While the rooms may not be the newest on the block, the updated HD TV's and the original parking deck do help maintain convenience. We saw none of the encampment of individuals that were mentioned in previous reviews and also enjoyed the variety of food offered during breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, Front Desk Supervisor at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. We are very proud of our staff and they will be happy to hear of your gratitude. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Alabama
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at this fine hotel property, rooms were very nice & clean, staff well trained and inviting. I enjoyed the pool and gym as well as the breakfast menu. The only drawback was after dark there was a homeless encampment set up right outside the building on the boardwalk. It makes the property as well as the city seem a little seedy. Overall I would suggest to anyone looking for a good value at an upscale hotel at the beach give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, Front Desk Supervisor at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Sherry,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and the staff! It was wonderful having you here with us for three days. I look forward to your next visit with us in the near future! Best regards,

Randy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fairfield Inn & Suites…. It was just okay. The location was perfect and hotel room was pretty average. The reason why I wouldn’t return to the hotel is because they don’t monitor homeless people that comes in and out of the hotel. There were two different times where my husband and I both spotted a “Homeless Person” walking through the hotel as well using their facilities. I even saw one making coffee. I mentioned it to the Front Desk and the responses were as if they were not surprised…. As if it happens all the time. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, Front Desk Supervisor at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and observations. We are always seeking ways to provide excellent service to our guests by listening to feedback. We love that you took notice to our great central location here on the Oceanfront. I understand how seeing homeless people while on your vacation is undesirable. Unfortunately, there are homeless people in the city of Virginia Beach. We do our best to monitor the activity on our property and provide a safe and clean atmosphere. However, until we can be certain that a person on our property is not a guest we must treat them with the same kindness and respect as one. I'm sure you can understand that we take this specific issue seriously and are taking proper steps to eliminate this issue.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel,
Randy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My stay here was amazing, minus the fact I had to wait till almost 5pm to get my room...it was super clean, inviting, great view and employees. Pool area felt kinda dirty. It's in a prime location to all the boardwalk restaurants and entertainment. Coffee was great and all the beds were comfy! Will stay here for sure if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, Front Desk Supervisor at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Ftk1552,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m glad you had an amazing stay with us and enjoyed our central location. I’m sorry to hear we were unable to get you checked in to your room as this issue was not intended by our staff. We are happy to hear you plan on returning to our hotel and we are looking forward to that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Within walking distance of the start and finish line for the rock n roll half marathon in Va Beach as well as the associated American Music Festival. The complimentary breakfast was fine, served its purpose. Clean rooms and facilities. Wouldn't go there for the fitness room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, Front Desk Supervisor at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
D B,

Thank you for taking time to review our property. The Rock N' Roll Marathon along with Labor Day weekend was a very busy week for the Oceanfront. Thank you for giving our property high ratings in all of the categories. We try our best to give our guests great value and service guests and we are happy to hear we have achieved that with you. We hope to see you next year for the the Rock N' Roll Marathon in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Fairfield Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn Virginia Beach
Fairfield Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.