We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room with view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Nice clean room with view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have a room with 2 queen beds. Lots of space. Ocean view. Coffee maker in the room. Lots of electrical outlets. We like it! No problem with heat, as some others have commented. Staff is friendly and flexible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Our goal at the Fairfield Inn and Suites is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I am happy to see that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    169
    46
    24
    9
See reviews for
182
130
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the third time I've visited this hotel while visiting family. For some reason, they have now decided to save money by conserving heat.

Although the lobby was warm, we noticed the hallway to the room was cool and the room itself very cold. The heat had been turned completely off in the room.

Instead of asking for another room, which is what we should have done, we turned on the heat figuring the room would quickly warm-up. We were wrong. It takes quite a bit of time for the system to warm up. So, about 45 minutes after turning on the heat, we still went to bed in a cold room.

Tip: If you plan to visit this hotel in the winter, ask them to turn on your heat before you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
The goal at Fairfield Inn and Suites Virginia Beach is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I do apologize that you came into a room that was cold. That is not the feeling we want our guests to have when they come here. We thank you for your continued loyalty and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for a second time for an event in November. The hotel staff was as accommodating and the rooms were as nice as the last time. The free breakfast buffet was sufficient with a good selection, the beds were restful, the shower pressure good and the parking free. The only negative was a very slow free internet, apparently caused because the hotel was full. As having the hotel full is a good thing, I recommend that the hotel look into upgrading their bandwidth. The hotel has a fantastic view and the location is easy to reach. Several friends stayed at hotels further inland at half the price, but they did not have the great view and the calming sound of the sea at night. The hotel's location also facilitates morning walks and runs on the beach walkway, which is easily accessible directly from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Our goal here at The Fairfield Inn and Suites is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I will discuss the situation of the internet with our manager to see how we could make it easier for you and our other guests. I am happy to see that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a 2 room suite and it easily held 4 people. Hotel is a little worn, but overall better than most Fairfields. The balcony and view, though quite cold, was awesome of the ocean and huge winter waves. Breakfast changed up each day and had hot foods which is rare at Fairfields. The only thing I can complain was the cold pool and the too small whirlpool. What is it with the Marriott hotels. The pools as of late are just too cold, especially for winter, and the whirlpool sizes hold 2 to 3 people for a hotel with over a hundred rooms. The workout room was poor, but with a great view of the ocean and boardwalk. The christmas lights were terrific on the boardwalk and on the beach and from our room we could see the stretch of the Christmas lights which were 3 miles including the santa, deer and sleigh on the pier stretching into the cold ocean and we watched surfers in wet suits. Recommend Busch Gardens Christmas Festival as well.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, some rooms have 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. We are happy ot hear that you enjoyed the amazing views we have here in Virginia Beach. I am sorry that the pool was a little cold and I will let my maintence department know so they can address the situation. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel had a wonderful view of and just a few steps from the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Perfectly clean room with kitchen suite, 2 bathroom vanities, and very comfortable beds. The free continental breakfast was a great way to start the day! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time visiting the town knowing we had a great room in which we could relax at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Even though there was only 2 of us in the room, we chose to upgrade to the suite. We found that thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next time you visit Virginia Beach, VA you decide to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights for a convention that was in Virginia Beach. It's not luxurious, but if you can get a rate around $100, it is just fine. I was able to get an off season AAA rate of $69/night for a 2 double bed room. Very good location, close to the pier. Rooms are clean and all of the staff that I came in contact with were very friendly. Swimming pool area was nice. Breakfast was filling and consisted of bacon, eggs, hash browns, muffins, cereal, fruit, etc. All of the rooms are oceanfront and spacious with a balcony and a beautiful view of the ocean. I loved being able to open the sliding glass door to the balcony and fall asleep listening to the ocean. Some of the furniture in the room was a little beat up, but the tv was nice. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to see that everything in our hotel was not to your liking. We look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach. Thank you for choosing Marriot and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This review is long overdue. My family stayed here this summer for a week and we received outstanding service and hospitality from John, among others. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member this hotel lives up to the Marriott hotel name. With 2 kids the indoor pool was a hit for the times it rained or after dark. Oceanfront view was great. Would highly recommend. Would also like to note that John at front desk was knowledgeable of surrounding restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Can't beat an oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you and your family. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Happy Holidays to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Fairfield Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn Virginia Beach
Fairfield Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.