We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is Terrific and Breakfast is Better Than Most Fairfields” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“View is Terrific and Breakfast is Better Than Most Fairfields”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a 2 room suite and it easily held 4 people. Hotel is a little worn, but overall better than most Fairfields. The balcony and view, though quite cold, was awesome of the ocean and huge winter waves. Breakfast changed up each day and had hot foods which is rare at Fairfields. The only thing I can complain was the cold pool and the too small whirlpool. What is it with the Marriott hotels. The pools as of late are just too cold, especially for winter, and the whirlpool sizes hold 2 to 3 people for a hotel with over a hundred rooms. The workout room was poor, but with a great view of the ocean and boardwalk. The christmas lights were terrific on the boardwalk and on the beach and from our room we could see the stretch of the Christmas lights which were 3 miles including the santa, deer and sleigh on the pier stretching into the cold ocean and we watched surfers in wet suits. Recommend Busch Gardens Christmas Festival as well.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, some rooms have 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. We are happy ot hear that you enjoyed the amazing views we have here in Virginia Beach. I am sorry that the pool was a little cold and I will let my maintence department know so they can address the situation. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    156
    43
    23
    8
See reviews for
164
118
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crownsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel had a wonderful view of and just a few steps from the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Perfectly clean room with kitchen suite, 2 bathroom vanities, and very comfortable beds. The free continental breakfast was a great way to start the day! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time visiting the town knowing we had a great room in which we could relax at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Even though there was only 2 of us in the room, we chose to upgrade to the suite. We found that thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next time you visit Virginia Beach, VA you decide to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights for a convention that was in Virginia Beach. It's not luxurious, but if you can get a rate around $100, it is just fine. I was able to get an off season AAA rate of $69/night for a 2 double bed room. Very good location, close to the pier. Rooms are clean and all of the staff that I came in contact with were very friendly. Swimming pool area was nice. Breakfast was filling and consisted of bacon, eggs, hash browns, muffins, cereal, fruit, etc. All of the rooms are oceanfront and spacious with a balcony and a beautiful view of the ocean. I loved being able to open the sliding glass door to the balcony and fall asleep listening to the ocean. Some of the furniture in the room was a little beat up, but the tv was nice. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to see that everything in our hotel was not to your liking. We look forward to your next visit to Virginia Beach. Thank you for choosing Marriot and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This review is long overdue. My family stayed here this summer for a week and we received outstanding service and hospitality from John, among others. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member this hotel lives up to the Marriott hotel name. With 2 kids the indoor pool was a hit for the times it rained or after dark. Oceanfront view was great. Would highly recommend. Would also like to note that John at front desk was knowledgeable of surrounding restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Can't beat an oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you and your family. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Happy Holidays to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyers Cave, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for a wedding and to visit family while in town with our 2 year old. Rooms were great size,everything was very clean, the bed and pillows were great. The staff went above and beyond and went out of their way to be helpful. We missed the continental breakfast by 15 minutes because we were playing with our 2 year old in the wonderful jacuzzi in our room. When we realized we missed breakfast, the staff went in the back and grabbed a few things for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends that come to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am happy to see our accommodations and service were to your liking. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you return the next time you visit Virginia Beach. I am happy to see that my staff was able to help you the morning you missed breakfast. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is at a perfect location right on the beach and in the middle of the boardwalk. The room was spacious, had great views and was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was nice and even though we didn't use the workout room (I ran on the boardwalk instead), it looked decent. The breakfast came with the room and it was okay but not much selection - pastries, breads, cereal, coffee and some pancake thing that was actually made out an egg (a little weird). They had a egg mcmuffin kind of thing that people seemed to love. It was a great stay and a lot of fun and I'd go back here if I get to VA beach again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to see that your stay was pleasant and that our accomodations and services were acceptible to you. I am also happy to see that our staff helped make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for choosing Marriott. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We traveled to Va Beach for our wedding anniversary and decided to pick Fairfield Inn as our hotel of choice since we stayed in a Fairfield in Tennessee during our honeymoon. We enjoyed the stay so much we decided to try again. We were definitely pleased with the choice. Fairfield Inn has never done us wrong. The check-in was fast and easy. The room was exactly what we wanted with a whirlpool. Everything was clean and tidy. And the view! Amazing! We were in a central location so everything was within walking distance. The boardwalk was so clean, the beach was clean, the streets were clean and the landscaping was beautiful. Yes, there were a few homeless people on the boardwalk but even they kept their areas clean! The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet which was o.k. We did go out for breakfast one morning. You can't really complain about free though. At the end of our stay check-out was smooth. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We truly appreciate your business and are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We were privileged to have the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your business. We look forward to future visits from you and your familiy. We are committed to providing you the best customer service. Thank You for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Fairfield Inn Virginia Beach
Fairfield Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.