We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean, Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Delmar, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean, Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We traveled to Va Beach for our wedding anniversary and decided to pick Fairfield Inn as our hotel of choice since we stayed in a Fairfield in Tennessee during our honeymoon. We enjoyed the stay so much we decided to try again. We were definitely pleased with the choice. Fairfield Inn has never done us wrong. The check-in was fast and easy. The room was exactly what we wanted with a whirlpool. Everything was clean and tidy. And the view! Amazing! We were in a central location so everything was within walking distance. The boardwalk was so clean, the beach was clean, the streets were clean and the landscaping was beautiful. Yes, there were a few homeless people on the boardwalk but even they kept their areas clean! The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet which was o.k. We did go out for breakfast one morning. You can't really complain about free though. At the end of our stay check-out was smooth. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We truly appreciate your business and are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We were privileged to have the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your business. We look forward to future visits from you and your familiy. We are committed to providing you the best customer service. Thank You for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    157
    43
    23
    8
See reviews for
166
118
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kudos to Fairfield for having top notch employees--every one of them. They made our stay a complete success. All areas of the hotel were clean and well-maintained. The location is prime--right in the middle of everything. There were so many places we could walk to that we only used our car once in a week's time to visit the Landings (which is well worth the visit).

How often can you say that every single encounter with a hotel's employees was over-the-top helpful and friendly? The cleaning staff went out of their way to hold elevators for us if we were anywhere in sight. Any requests were answered promptly. They were freaking happy to be of service. My experience has moved Virginia Beach up on my list of places I must visit again, and we won't be staying anywhere by the Fairfield.

Room Tip: All are ocean front, but the corner studio was well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you and your family. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Thank you for your wonderful comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was clean and the view was incredible. The hotel provides free breakfast but the service was slow. When we came down at around 8, most of food was gone. To have another hour to go (6 to 9 AM), it was disappointed to see no replenishment for the late comers. i would stay again as the location was very convenient and close to all the action.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. This situation will be addressed with the staff so we can make breakfast even better. I am happy to see that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We checked in on a Friday night, and were originally scheduled to check-out the following Wednesday. We opted to check-out the next morning, and found alternate accommodations.

Our 1st night was paid for with Marriott Rewards points, and I had $100 in Marriott gift certificates to use towards our 2nd night. I turned the certificates in at check-in. Upon arriving to the room, we realized that things would be tight for a week with 2 adults and 2 young children so we inquired about upgrading to a larger room/suite. They didn't have the available for our entire stay so this was the main reason we checked out early.

However, when I went to the Front Desk, they said there wasn't anything they could do about the $100 Marriott gift certificates. Upon calling Marriott, they informed me that the hotel should have called them to figure a solution out. The Front Desk told me they'd have the supervisor call me within 15 minutes, which never never happened.

Later that night, we called down to the Front Desk to get sheets for the pull-out sofa as there was only a blanket and pillow in the closet. We waited about a 1/2 hour before calling the Front Desk to see if we could come get them as both the kids had already fallen asleep, but she didn't have anything so they sent their Chief Engineer up. So after 45 minutes we were finally able to make the pull-out sofa.

At check-out, we ended up talking with the supervisor Clarence who we had actually been unhappy with the night before-- he said he was never told that he was suppposed to call Marriott about our certificates or inform us of the outcome. He didn't seem to care one bit about any of the issues or inconveniences the hotel caused.

AFTER check-out, I discovered the Front Desk had charged my credit card $50 rather than direct billing Marriott for points stay, and the Front Desk never cancelled the 2nd part of our reservation so they charged me for a no show fee. The hotel Front Desk told me there was nothing they could do about releasing the charges so they gave us the name of a manager named Tanner and said she'd call us the next morning. We ended up calling her-- and she was probably the only helpful person we encountered. She was able to release both charges by the next day, which was greatly appreciated.

That being said, I can't said I'd recommend this hotel as there is such a lack of service the management team needs to address.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments and thank you for informing us that our hotel did not meet your standards. We are sorry that you experienced these problems and we want you to know that we are working to improve our standards so that you and our future guests are able to have a great experience while staying with us in the future. Here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites we take all guest concerns very seriously. While we make every attempt to ensure that our hotel meets every guests standards we apologize that this unfortunate incident was not corrected by our staff and that we were unable to retain you as a guest. However, I am very pleased to see that Tanner was able to fix the issue with your credit card. We are very appreciative that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention and would like to thank you for staying with us here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We usually stay at Marriott hotels so we chose the Fairfield. All rooms are ocean front with balconies and have awesome views of the beach and boardwalk. We took advantage of the free breakfast every morning. Some small things were wrong with our room; cracked bathroom tile, blanket on bed instead of a comforter, closet door broken/unable to close. Overall the room was clean and modern, it was just obvious that it wasn't new and that it was frequently used. We compared the price with other hotels and found that the fairfield 's rate was the same or cheaper since we wanted an oceanfront room. The hotel was busy for the 1st part of our stay, but they never ran out of breakfast and we were the only people down at the pool/hot tub each day we used it. This was the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. We were not woken up once from noise of other people or housekeeping. We would definitely stay here again. *there's also a restaurant/bar right next door with a great 2 story deck to eat at and people watch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. I am sorry for the issues you had involving the wear and tear of the room. I am sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you. I want to assure you that we will work to improve these issues. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Walking into the lobby smells like a bad case of body odor. I initially thought it was the person behind the desk. Figured it was the lobby because for 4 days the smell didn't leave after walking through the doors. Can't tell you last time the AC in the room had been cleaned. Just one big mat of brown dust. The bathroom toilet seat was half broken and the grout in the shower between the wall tiles was missing in many places. Basically the hotel is way over due for an update with the faded carpets and wall paper peeling in the rooms. LEts not even talk about the bed coverings. Seemed more like a Mom & Pop run motel stuck in the 80's. Not worth the $239 per night we paid for a king size room with no amenities in August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are actively working to improve customer service and your feedback is very important to us. I apologize our hotel did not meet your expectations. We take all guests concerns very seriously and I want you to know that we are actively working to improve these issues. We really appreciate your feedback becuase it helps us grow so we do not continue to have the same problems. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We usually stay at the Hilton on 31st, but since we were going to a concert at 5th street with 4 kids, we decided to stay somewhere closer. As the Fairfield was comparably priced (a little more than the Hilton for the same night, actually) we gave it a go. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't great. On the plus side- you can't beat the location, everyone was very nice and helpful, the room was pretty spacious, they didn't hassle us for having 2 big & 4 little people in 1 room.
On the negative side- hair that was not ours all over the bathroom, the blanket for the pull-out bed had obviously been folded up without being washed (YUK!!!), 2 of our towels were literally shredded in spots, but neatly folded and hung on the rack (what?!), the included breakfast was very weak.
It served our purposes by cutting 16 blocks off of our walk, but the price was WAY out of line for the quality of the property. There's a brand new looking Country Inn & Suites right next door. Might try that if we find ourselves in a similar situation, otherwise we'll stick with the Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. All of your comments will help us improve for you and future guests. Thank you again for your comments and we hope the next time you visit Virginia Beach you decide to give us another try. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Fairfield Inn Virginia Beach
Fairfield Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.