We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible people” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency

Save Saved
You added Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   308 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

No service, horrible customer service, smelly place... Go somewhere else, even the low rates are not worthed. They took wrong reservation, we had no apologies from them and no help to find à place for the last day of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    21
    15
    30
See reviews for
49
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for the past two summer's. Rooms were reasonably priced, and not too far to walk to oceanfront. Could be better stocked with more dishes in the kitchenette rooms. Not enough for the max. number of guests allowed. Phones need to be replaced in rooms. They are old and beat up. Internet only works if you go sit right outside of office. Need better routers for service throughout hotel. A laundry facility on grounds would be great to have. A/C in rooms need to be cleaned. Rooms smell when you first turn ac on. Just more routine mat. overall and this little hotel could be a great mini vacation spot at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Rhode Island, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

very disaponted with hotel managment, bad customer service. the only good thing is the location other than that stay away. very dirty from stairs to rooms. im still trying to get refunded for a night i did not spent there. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I don't like to think of myself as snobby or "upperclass", and I'm not the least bit high maintenance to believe I need to stay at the Ritz Carlton when I go on vacation. When my family pulled into the parking lot of the Sundial, it reminded me of an inner city rundown dump....VERY outdated...OLD tv....OLD furniture...the bathroom door was EXTREMELY narrow...the room was clean, the location was nice, staff was courteous and helpful though....the outside was basically a big cement block painted brown...they claimed it was no smoking but the room reeked of it...I was afraid to walk barefoot in the room, and kept my shoes on the whole time. Next time, I will defiantly be staying somewhere else...if you're single with no kids and want to stay somewhere cheap, you might be ok....me, my husband or children won't be stepping foot in that place again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was very disapointed in this hotel. When my friend and I first arrived I pulled down the blanket and there was blood on it all over the inside, and when we told the front desk they acted like it wasn't a big deal. On top of thta some of the lights were out and there was a a good size hole in the wall, sorry but my friend and I both agreed that we would never go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is my second time staying here it's one block from the beach it's not a five star hotel but to sleep its good . The room was clean and I would def go back . You can't beat their price my husband and I stayed 3 nights and we payed $230
That was awesome the oceanfront hotels can't go lower than that

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here with another person on Memorial Day weekend. We did not need reservations, and Sundial was very inexpensive, even with the holiday rate increase. We stayed in two different rooms in the motel and both were okay. We had no problems with sheets, towels, keys, shower &c. A room for two was cheaper than the price for two people to stay in bunk beds at the hostel and offered much more privacy.

At night it became pretty loud with people hanging around outside until late at night, which you notice when you're on the ground floor. We had no use for the pool, so its small size was not an issue. Parking incurred a fee, which the desk clerk waived for us because we were on a budget. They were very flexible about prices.

When I first arrived I got a high fever and the maintenance man came in to check on the smoke detector, I spoke to him about my fever and he was very kind and offered to call a taxicab for me if I wanted to go to the hospital. He called my room with the phone number for a taxi driver he knew personally. He also asked how I was a couple of days later. The people I interacted with were really nice and accomodating.

Room Tip: Our second floor room was nicer, brighter, quieter and smelled better than our ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency

Address: 308 21st Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Inn Motel And Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
Sundial Motel Virginia Beach
Sundial Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.