We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tautogs Restaurant

Tautogs Restaurant
205 23RD St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3205
(757) 422-0081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Eaton, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

These are the same owners of Doc Taylors for breakfast/lunch. This restaurant is open only for dinner. They have also just purchased another place which is a bar. The service here is excellent. The servers have a good knowledge of the food and the beverage list. One night I just got carry out of a greek salad. This was a very large salad with lots of ingredients and the taste was great, all for under 10 dollars, minus tip. The second night I ate there I got crab cakes and grilled red potatoes. The servings were large and the taste was wonderful. I got key lime pie which they make there and it too was well worth trying. Total bill was under 20dollars, minus tip. Overall experience with this restaurant was wonderful. It is a little hard to find, it is in a house with a small sign that sits on the walkway. I saw many people do what I did which was walk on by looking for it. Just look for the crowds. It is a very popular place and you often have to wait, but it is well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    207
    77
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Very good service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My familys first time at Virginia beach and this restaurant rated very high so we decided to go here. About a half hour wait for a Friday evening so the kids played at the arcade a block away. The appetizers and meals were very good and Don provided excellent service. Really lively crowd late as a wedding party arrived...but still a good atmosphere between the restaurant and bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The restaurant is open at 5:30. We arrived at 5:25 on a weekday and people are lined up already. Salmon and bread were good. She crab soup is average and soft shell crab is average. I am not sure if we will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Mother's day - perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We enjoyed a relaxing casual meal for Mother's Day at Tautogs. The service was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Price to quality ratio is good (other restaurants charge $10 more for the same or lesser quality food). The crab cake sandwich was delicious (as an established beach restaurant, this is one thing they must get right!). Party of 6- all ages - all meals enjoyed. Great local atmosphere. Thanks for holding down the fort and not giving in to become a tourist trap!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Locals Restaurant that is Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stopped in after reading the reviews and not disappointed.
Ordered the Blackened Tuna rare with new potatoes. Large portion and tasty. If you don't like raw red onion and gorgonzola cheese choose a different topping. However I do so I enjoyed every scrumptious bite.

Also ordered She Crab soup and herbed bread and equally good. Bread came in handy to scrape up and hint of food left from my plate.

Great choice, priced right and reviews are right on target.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tautogs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tautogs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tautogs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.