We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tautogs Restaurant

Tautogs Restaurant
205 23RD St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3205
(757) 422-0081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have a picky family, but everyone was pleased with this restaurant. The only drawback was they seated us right by the door and left the windows open and some of us got a little chilly. It looked like there was nicer seating further inside which required a longer wait. Also, it was raining when we first got there and they have no inside waiting area, so we had to sit out in the rain! But we persevered to wait for a table and the food was excellent. Each dish was prepared with tons of flavor and very good. I had the salmon which was prepared with pickled ginger and seaweed and rice pilaf. The chef knows what he/she is doing that's for sure! This was one of the best restaurants we visited on our entire trip! And did i mention we are a hard crew to please?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    207
    77
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Finally! A great, affordable meal in Virginia Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were very very happy with the meal we had tonight (August 22, 2013). The atmosphere was wonderful, service was fantastic and the food was excellent. It was the best meal we had in Virginia Beach so far and the most affordable. Thank you Tautogs!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“I.LOVE.THIS.PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

we have been to Virginia Beach twice in the last 13 months because of our daughter's dance schedule.... I have friends that live in the area that turned me onto this place. In turn, I turned about 100 sets of dance parents on to it this year, and we kept that place hopping the last week of June. Many of us ate several evenings there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I visited here for our first anniversary and were not disappointed! We both had the She Crab Soup, which rivaled that of our honeymoon experience that was prepared by a famous chef! Highly recommend starting off with the soup! I ordered the sesame tuna special with a soy reduction sauce. The tuna was prepared perfectly and the soy reduction sauce was tasty, although it was a bit overpowering if you had too much. My wife ordered the shrimp and said they were excellent as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Tautogs = Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is a MUST if you are going to be in the Virginia Beach area. I have tried to eat here for several years, but timing has always been an issue. They open at 5:30 and you can count on a line forming 30-45 minutes prior to that. They do not accept reservations unless you have a party of 6 or more. I would not dream of going here without one if you have a large party. Their menu is top notch with a large variety. They have a couple of pizza options, steaks, any kind of seafood you can think of and more. At our table, we had the cheese pizza, the crab nachos, the wings and the brownie sundae dessert. We were not very hungry, so we stuck with appetizers. They were all so good. The crab nachos were perfect. Our server was attentive and did a great job. They have a wonderful wine list and a full bar. People can say what they want about this place, but it is worth the wait. They have a FREE parking lot behind the restaurant, a plus if you are traveling in the area and not staying at a local hotel within walking distance. Not to be missed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tautogs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tautogs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tautogs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.