We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always love Waterman's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterman's Surfside Grille

Waterman's Surfside Grille
415 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)
+1 757-428-3644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,272 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Description: Waterman's Surfside Grille captures a slice of coastal living for the true flavor of Virginia Beach! Family owned and operated since 1981, Waterman's serves only the freshest seafood, steaks, and ribs. Serving lunch and dinner daily and brunch on Sundays, we offer indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the ocean, as well as a patio boardwalk bar. It's not a trip to Waterman's without a taste of our signature She Crab Soup and Original Orange Crush cocktail!
W Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“We always love Waterman's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is one of our favorite places in Virginia Beach.
We have eaten here several times, and their food is always good.
Today, we had lunch on the patio. Our table was quite a booth, quite comfy, and the view of the beach was great.
Service was pretty typical, but our main server was above average in her jovial manner.
We had a fried seafood platter which we shared. It was smaller than we expected, but everything was delicious - - - except.... the coleslaw was made from packaged cabbage and you could taste and smell the chlorine spray. A disappointment.
Cute gift shop -
The free valet parking is a GREAT bonus since the beach area is so busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    348
    112
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Pricey But Worth it on Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a wait before getting seated at Waterman's, so I tried one of their signature Orange Crush cocktails--very tasty! I think this was the BEST she-crab soup ever--very filling though, fair warning! We really could have shared entree's (OK, maybe not the boys!) because the soup was so thick and filling. I had the crabcakes, very good, and the sweet mango salmon was good, as was the crab-stuffed flounder. With one glass of Chardonnay, it came to $115 before the tip! WOW!

This is an oceanfront restaurant, down near 5th where the surfers are. Still a very nice vacation dinner of delish seafood and fun memory-making.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“You go for the view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was not happy at all with this place!! I had the worst fish tacos for lunch and paid WAY too much for a tortilla shell and a piece of fish. Looked like it was missing a few ingredients. The place was beautiful but I will never waste my money here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of Washington, DC
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best on the Boardwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Waterman's is in a great location with nice ocean views. The food and service have always been outstanding. Check for daily specials - they can save you a bunch. Parking might be a little tight, if you're close you may want to walk or bike, but well worth the effort! We'll be back to VA Beach in a couple weeks and of course Waterman's will be one of our stops.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood on Beautiful Oceanfront Covered Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We found Waterman's on a local website by selecting Sustainable and Oceanfront. Arriving in the late afternoon, we enjoyed free valet parking, followed by their tasty and unique Orange Crush cocktails (made with hard-to-find fresh-squeezed orange juice), and a short wait for an oceanfront table. Our meals included delicious crab cakes, shrimp pasta, and a burger, as we relaxed in the pleasant ocean breeze while looking out over the ocean, in the shade of their covered terrace. The server was friendly and attentive. It was a great meal and we look forward to returning. The only negative we could mention would be the Hush Puppies. They were described by our server as a cornbread, but were just boring little lumps of fried dough, with no sign of corn. Everything else, and especially their crab cakes, get A+ grades from us. The whole experience was delightful, the best of Virginia Beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterman's Surfside Grille also viewed

 

Been to Waterman's Surfside Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterman's Surfside Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.