We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average! Average! Average!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterman's Surfside Grille

Waterman's Surfside Grille
415 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)
757-428-3644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,238 restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average! Average! Average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Realizing that a restaurant on the beach has the objective of maximizing customer turnover and profits, it's difficult to differentiate one from the other. During my recent visit to VB, I could not find a decent restaurant where the service, food and ambiance were in line with the overpriced menus. I suppose many survive on their past reputation and treat unsuspecting tourist with disdain and/or negligence. We love VB, but the eating establishments have much to be desired, IMHO.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    408
    254
    95
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent food, awesome drinks! Best hush puppies I ever had, bacon-wrapped scallops were to die for! Excellent steak and really good ribs with delish tangy BBQ sauce. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ocean front seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice restaurant on the beach. Sat on the patio next to the boardwalk. Seafood pasta (shrimp and sea scallops) was yummy. Service was good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, & awesome atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

First time to VA beach & I must say we really enjoyed this restaurant. I had crab stuffed flounder & my husband had peppercorn flounder - both were very good. Remember to go to BOTH hostess stands. There is one for inside & one for outside seating. You will get two pagers. The valet parking is nice too! Overall good pick!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and great place for either a couple or a whole family which was our case. Very reasonable for a high class meal. About 100 bucks for a family of 5.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterman's Surfside Grille also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Waterman's Surfside Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterman's Surfside Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.