We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynnhaven Fish House Restaurant

Lynnhaven Fish House Restaurant
2350 Starfish Rd, Ste 101, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1299 (Northeast Virginia Beach)
757-481-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lynnhaven Fish House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 1,159 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Cross street: Shore Dr
Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good fish meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We go to Lynnhaven Fishhouse every year at Virgnia Beach.Good food and nice setting right on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    126
    64
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best seafood in Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we lived in Virginia Beach this was the restaurant for special occasion dining such as an anniversary and any time you just wanted some superb seafood. The She Crab soup is the best anywhere along with the hush puppies make a great starter. The local fresh catch of the day prepared to your liking is always delicious and you can't say no to dessert. Great to see this restaurant maintains standards and remains top-notch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strasburg va
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lynhaven Pier Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Out door seating on the pier was nice. This was an extension of the Lynnhaven Fish House Restaurant. Drinks were good. The crab Cake sandwich was ok.... too much breading. Flounder was very good! The cole slaw didn't have any dressing on it, just chopped up cabbage. I ordered a side of cole slaw which was served in a tiny plastic cup for $2.95 definitely over-priced!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good until the end”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been dining at Lynnhaven Fish House for well over 20+ years (I'm about 40). I have recommended it to friends and tourist hundreds of times. It is generally excellent, but it is not as good as it use to be - times change.

The good: Old school seafood perfectly prepared. Everything from the kitchen was great. The view! Hushpuppies! Atmosphere!

The bad: Saturday night for a Mother's Day and birthday dinner we had to sit next to people in t-shirts and shorts. One guy actually was wearing his best plain white T - just tacky. (Maybe a dress code is in order - or is this place just about packing in the people?)

For a party of three (with a free birthday dinner per their program), the waiter actually included an 18% gratuity - tacky. The waiter even presented two checks - one with and one without the free meal - tacky. He also presented the check without asking and while we were still eating our dessert - tacky. I was offended.

It will be a while before I return to or recommend Lynnhaven Fish House again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a great place to have superior seafood dinner and take in a bit of local flavor. I had the seafood kabobs on a bed of rice and it was wonderful! Aside from the excellent food, the service was exceptional; friendly, efficient and effective. The one downside is that my dinner companion ordered a steak which was a little lacking. But then we all know better than to order steak in a place where the specialty is seafood....don't we?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynnhaven Fish House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lynnhaven Fish House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynnhaven Fish House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.