We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol De Mexico

Sol De Mexico
3809 Princess Anne Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23456
(757) 471-5022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #370 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
1 review
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good food and very friendly people. Lunch service was fast and friendly. We highly recommend this restaurant for Mexican food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Great!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First we are not crazy about mexican food, we move from Hawaii to Norfolk ( bad experience in Hawaii with mexican food) and while we stay at the hotel we visit the restaurant, the people are super friendly, the food arrived hot and fast to the table, the margaritas are awesome!!, nice restaurant and good price , we love it !!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sol De Putrid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Ok, I have never written a review about a restaurant, so that in itself tells you how this is likely to go. My family and I were all in town for a funeral and decided to get together, eat out, and reminisce. The place looks questionable from the moment you see the sign. Like a road you should not go down where murder tape is posted up. The fact that it was empty at dinner time should of been a indicator not to eat there. The service was good, The food however tasted awful and got 3 people sick from our family. This place was absolutely got awful. I do not recommend anyone take their animal to this place. I am a reservist, and a blue collar worker, so I am not an uppity person who is hard to please. Save your family from getting sick, do not go there!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knotts Island, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Great Price Fast Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

#1 Lunch Chile Rellano is my wife's favorite. Broiled not fried. The staff and manager are super friendly. It is amazing how fast the food arrives at your table. Everyone I know that eats here loves the re-fried beans. We have never eaten dinner here, just lunch. A lot of bang for the buck.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“!Muy sabroso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

You can't go wrong at El Sol de Mexico, no matter what you order, or whether you go for lunch or dinner. They have an extensive menu of Mexican and Tex-Mex favorites and if you don't see it listed therein, well, just ask. This is, after all, an authentic, family-style Mexican restaurant, so they will usually be able to make it for you, just the way you like it. What's more, everything is reasonably priced and they frequently offer specials on their bar selections.

I have enjoyed outstanding fajitas, especially the mixed (chicken, beef and shrimp) and another of my favorites here is their chile relleno. !Todo esta muy sabroso! It's all very tasty!

Oh, a hint, if you can speak Spanish, no matter how much or how well, try to speak it a bit here and you will get extra smiles and attention throughout your meal. You meal has now become a cultural experience.

One more thing, if you are a student or faculty member at Tidewater Community College (whose Virginia Beach campus is across the street), remember to show your ID card when you are ordering. That alone will earn you a nice 10 per cent discount. !No esta mal, not bad!

!Buen provecho! Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol De Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Sol De Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol De Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.