We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Seafood Restaurant Beloved in Virginia Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn

Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn
653 Thalia Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23452-1850
(757) 340-1156
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,272 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood Restaurant Beloved in Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This upscale restaurant has been in business and owned by the same family in Virginia Beach for around seven decades and is a favorite of residents.. Lovely traditional dining room with a water view at some tables, outside deck dining, and added dining rooms (without view). Excellent, professional service. Fresh seafood is delicious. The fried shrimp is known throughout the region and is a MUST if you like fried shrimp.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    37
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“94th Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal at a true gem of Virginia Beach.We were concerned that with former Chef Huber leaving to open Braise it would be a problem.The various options ordered were wonderful and up to the high standards they are known for.We alway list Steinhilber's as our top 5 to take guest.Service was exceptional.The new patio addition will be wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service, lovely view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just tried Steinhilber's for a celebratory dinner, we had the jumbo shrimp with creamed spinach and the etouffee, both dinners were wonderful. The service by the waiter, water server and bus person was very good, really nice people. It was raining, full on thunderstorm, and the view of the garden and water was beautiful.

The interior is all wood as you enter, peaked roof and (oddly) had a slight barn scent, not a strong scent though. White tablecloths on all tables. Most people were dressed in business casual to dressy.

We would recommend this place for a nice dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I ate here with my bf on a nice spring night. The outside area is beautiful. The seafood was AMAZING!!!! I def recommend the seafood platter (broiled). The staff was also friendly and attentive. I def recommend this place for a good meal!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Style and Elegance on the water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Steinhilber's is a traditional local restaurant with some of the best food in the area. I am not a huge seafood eater but even I love the crab puffs. My wife raves about the large butterflied jumbo shrimp. Service in always good and the food is always excellent. I wish it was closer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn also viewed

 

Been to Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.