We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but edible.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Bites

Masala Bites
2133 Upton Dr, suite 128, Red Mill Commons Shopping Center, Virginia Beach, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Masala Bites is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,272 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Upton Dr.
1 review
“Not the best but edible.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not bad. Flavor is somewhat weak. Portions are small. Very nice decor. Saffron in Towne Centre is the place to go for great indian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    6
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the exterior!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Fantastic restaurant! Beautifully decorated and very clean. Our server was very knowledgable, attentive but not intrusive and the food was amazing. This restaurant has a nice upscale feel, plenty of seating, cozy booths, real flowers in the vase on the table and a candle for ambience. I had the chicken Korma which was outstanding and the garlic naan was drool worthy! I wish we lived closer because we would come here all the time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finally, an authentic indian restaurant in virginia beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't know where sandee ate, but this food is outstanding. I've travelled and lived in many parts of the country and masala bites is one of my favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad food, nice ambience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hands down worst Indian food ever tasted.
No resemblance to Indian food.
Rude waiters.
I will not suggest to anyone wanting to eat some spicy Indian food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Positive Experience At All Levels ...and Ample Portions, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family of three had a wonderful experience for dinner tonight (a coolish, rainy Thursday) at Masala Bites! There were only a handful of customers in house, which was surprising in light of the high ranking this establishment currently enjoys on Trip Advisor.

We were promptly seated by a gracious and most accommodating hostess. Our waiter was pleasant and very helpful with food sensitivities. Service was prompt and professional. Hubby ordered Crab Masala; and the chef additionally whipped up two special orders of Vegetable Tikka Masala and Mattar Panir entrees without onions or garlic which just "sang." All three dishes were served promptly, piping hot, and spiced to perfection. [At level 3 (scale of 1 to 5) you'll know you're getting the authentic experience!] Portions were of ample size for sharing. Hubby was impressed with the generous quantity of crab in his dish. The samosas, while a wee bit pricey at 2/$5.00, were worth every penny. They certainly merited a double order tonight. (And no onions or garlic... yes!) The sampler basket of three different breads was lovely and warm; filled to the brim with freshly baked naan. To complete the meal, we shared a single serving of Pistachio Kulfi, which was small but presented with elegance and rich beyond measure - the perfect little something to savor and to engage the palate at meal's end. Again, worth every penny (about $4.00) for "authenticity" and the sheer sensory experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Bites also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Masala Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Bites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.