We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans 2700

Save Saved
You added Oceans 2700 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oceans 2700
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Pacific Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
1 review
“Rip off.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

They claimed they have pool in the website and even when I checked in day but the next day I tried to get in the pool they had a sign board saying pool is closed. So when I called in the front desk the lady who is very rude claimed the pool was only seasonal. Which was only till labor day. Don't ever stay in this hotel its a rip off. They don't even have a breakfast meal they charge money jus to sleep in the bed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri D, General Manager at Oceans 2700, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Freespeech 2013,

We do thank you for choosing Oceans 2700 for your lodging needs. I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your stay. You had made several comments in regards to our facility that I would like to address at this time.
You stated that our website indicated an outdoor pool, which is correct. Our pool is seasonal in which the standard season runs from Memorial Day to Labor Day, at which time we did in fact close for the season, as did the surrounding properties as well. However due to your concerns with the pool we have decided to re-open while the weather still remains some what warm for those individuals that would like to occupy it. Due to our pool not being of use during your stay, we did offer to you alternative pool options. I am sorry if these options were not to your liking.
You also made mention that we do not offer breakfast. This too is correct, however as you mentioned, you clearly saw this on our website prior to booking.
Your last comment in regards to our hotel being a "rip off" due to the fact that we charge for sleeping in a bed, Sir with all due respect, I find this statement quite harsh and unfair. When renting any hotel room, this is what you are being charged for. I'm not exactly sure as to what else you were expecting to pay for. In your review you gave us a terrible rating, but yet you stayed two days and accepted compensation for your alleged inconvenience with our pool being closed.
I can only ask that you re-consider your words and the truthfulness of them and kindly remove your comments. If you would like to further discuss this situation, I will be more than happy to do so.

Sincerely,
Terri Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After our first night there, it all came to shambles. The housekeeping forgot towels, coffee, cups, and more! They also didn't sweep everyday. The first room we stayed in was a good price, but then they moved us because they were "full"- "no vacancy" at double the price into a room with no blankets. My sister and her husband stayed in a hotel with ocean view for $70; we stayed at Oceans 2700 for over $100 with no ocean view and hair in our beds. When we talked to the front desk about it, they just said, "housekeeping probably hasn't serviced your room yet" but they had! We had new sheets (still no blankets), a couple of little towels and the trash was taken out - that's it. The housekeeping then told the front desk that they had given us everything and serviced our room, blaming us for our problem. Then I had to follow housekeeping around while she looked for spare towels and cups. She told me they ran out of cups. By the way, there were no apologies from the staff for any of this. Don't stay here, there are better places with better prices!

Room Tip: There's a place on 36th St that costs $70 a night that is right at the ocean. Go there. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from Labor Day extended weekend at Oceans 2700. Remember this as being the Castle and they have done a great job with making this place look crisp, new and clean. First, the price was one of the best I could find at the beach on a holiday weekend. Even though it's on Pacific Avenue (one block back from beach) we have always liked the location at 27th which pretty much sits in the middle of the strip. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating but a few on the cleaning staff, well not so much. We had minor issues with not enough towels for 4 in our party, etc. which front desk took care of immediately but it continued on a daily basis. A/C worked well and there wasn't much traffic noise during the night that bothered us. Nice little pool. The only annoyance I can speak to is there was a pedastool sink in bath and absolutely no place to put toiletries. There was a large table against bedroom wall where I kept blow dryer (none provided but I did borrow one from them) and toiletries, etc. This was very inconvenient to keep going back and forth to bedroom for all those items. There was a lot of extra floor space in bath so not quite sure why they didn't utilize the space by placing a table or cabinet there for convenience. There was enough parking even though they had a full house and it was a bit tight. All in all, I would definitely stay again because of value, location, cleanliness and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Based on the TripAdvisor reviews, we took a chance booking a room in this motel at nearly half the going rate of most hotels in that area and we are very glad we did. Our room was very basic but felt new and it was immaculate, both for the bedroom and bathroom areas. The location was very central, close to both the beach and the streets where evening animation was staged. This turned out to be an excellent value for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

very helpful staff, really clean with regular monthly voluntary inspections. This is a nice place, It has an outside pool. White bedding with washable spreads, lots of pillows, great shower with products. No carpet which seems cleaner to me.

Room Tip: We really liked the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel has had a very nice facelift from its old days as the castle motel. Everything is painted fresh giving it a clean look. The floors look nice with a beige tile. The brown wicker furniture looks appropriate to the beach setting. As everyone else said there was not much furniture in the room. We were in a king studio. There was a night stand on only one side of the bed, a dresser with mirror, the bed, flat screen tv and 3 lamps. The first room we were in didn't have a closet. Just a rolling clothes hanging thing. The pipes were all crazy looking and exposed under the bathroom pedestal sink. No counter space at all in there or hair dryer. After our tv fell off the wall, which was handled as best as possible, we were moved to another room. This room had an extra piece of furniture, a shelf thing with a granite type top.
I read another review from a few months back complaining about no drapes and had a response from hotel that they'd be there by summer. Well unfortunately still no drapes. With street lights building lights and headlights shining threw the mini blinds, the room is quite bright at night. My main problem was the dirty floor. My crawling one year old had black knees after about 5 minutes. The young man working at the desk had no idea how to respond to the problem. I ended up getting extra towels, wetting them and sort of mopped it myself.
The staff was very friendly. Check in and check out a breeze. They tried to help with any problems. If they cleaned the rooms better, got the drapes, and added counter to the bathroom this hotel could easily be ranked higher. The location is excellent and the price affordable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay especially for the 4th of July, we booked a week before the holiday and was surprised they had rooms available, and the price was very reasonable. It is a short block to the oceanfront and close to great restaurants and shops. The rooms are in excellent shape, very clean, and the beds are the best, like sleeping on a cloud. We will definitely come back and stay here again. No complaints here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceans 2700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans 2700

Address: 2700 Pacific Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceans 2700 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceans 2700 guests will enjoy comfortable and luxurious accommodations while within walking distance to all Virginia Beach has to offer; shops, restaurants, entertainment, and night life. Oceans 2700 hotel is conveniently located 20 minutes from the Norfolk International airport and just steps to the Virginia Beach waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Oceans 2700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans 2700, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.