We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Reflection on the Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanaire Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“New Year Reflection on the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed being at this resort to kick off 2015. Very comfortable accomodations with floor to ceiling windows providing amazing views of the ocean. Being here in winter worked for me, no crowds and the quiet helped me focus on the beauty of nature. Also the indoor pool was a favorite...often times I was the only one in there..like a private space! 10th floor relaxation area was nice for reception and movie night.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Front Office Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Happy New Year Navigator556! Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing us to ring in the new year with you. We all agree that while the beach is warm and fun in the summer time, winter here is peaceful and very relaxing. I have also shared your kind words with the team and they are ecstatic that they helped start your year off right! Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next adventure to Virginia Beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    56
    27
    14
    12
See reviews for
99
57
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sisters and I went for a week beginning Sun. Oct 26, 2014. We had a beautiful oceanview room (which we had requested since it was my sisters 50th birthday celebration--absolutely awesome). We loved the unit and the people employed here were all so kind, friendly and helpful. Everything was grand until we had to check out early Weds. morning due to a family emergency. We had no choice, but we so wished we didn't need to leave. Absolutely worth every penny here!! The two days we had will be remembered for a lifetime--and it was off-season!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Front Office Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Kimberly C. for your rave review! The team appreciates your kind words and we love that we helped make your sister's 50th Birthday an amazing one! We hope to see you and your sister (and maybe the rest of the family too!!!) on your next vacation to Virginia Beach. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville md
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of All, The Staff at this Hotel was Top Notch always trying to figure out how to make us happy. We decided to upgrade this year at the Beach after seeing this Hotel on a tour of Gold Key Resorts, we know Gold Key well since for the last 20 odd years have stayed at two in the area at the same time of Year , mostly affordable rooms with kitchens etc. So given the year of just not having a clear view of our future, we decided to splurge and stay at the nicest of all of them. We were so disappointed, first the room carpet smelled of dirty diapers ( turns out Mildew in the carpet, than we find the "Queen" bed is not really a "Queen" as described but as stated a Hotel "Queen" more like a double bed, not good for a 6'5" frame and another person. The staff tried to fix us into another room but to be honest, we had already unpacked our stuff to stay for a week, they ended up letting us stay in the room, we bought carpet fresh and kept sprinkling it around mostly because we loved our view and location and just did not want to repack to move to another room, they were booked for the week so another room would have changed everything since they had to squeeze us into a vacant room. We slept on the small bed only to get up early and leave the room every morning so not to smell the smell and to stretch our backs back to normal not what we thought we would be doing on our week vacation. Than the pool area was so crowded and the Hot tub filled with so many kids that you could not enjoy it. Plus the Hot tub we kept seeing scum come up in the suds, gross. So we would not stay at this upscale hotel again but would rather stay at the Residence Inn down the street or the Turtle Cay another Gold Key Resort for about half the price. We did end up leaving the beach driving to Richmond VA to complete our Vacation where we stayed at the Glen Allen Wyndam, slept in a wonderful bed and had a more relaxing time for the night than we did for 5 nights at the Oceanaire Resort Hotel. Oh and please do not get us started on the constant asking us if we wanted to goon a tour of Gold Key Resorts, we finally told them we had been last year and they said no problem, sign up again for the $75.00 gift card, they will not care even though it was clear if you had attended one in a year's time , you could not go again, we signed up, took a rainy day for another tour so the girl could get her credit for a signing and we could get the money ( selfish us, we learned ) only to be turned away because guess what we had been last year, at that point we just said fine, checked out the next day. After 20 plus years going to a place we love just the two of us, this visit really did us in at what we thought would just be the best of all the years. Once again the Staff could not have be better the day we told them we were checking out early,( The hotel Manager offered us and we decided to take 25% off our bill at the end of our stay), they were just up against a Hotel that would sell you anything just to get your business, Looks like Gold when you see it than it quickly turns to tarnish when you get to the rooms and the so called upgrades. Would check other places out Turtle Cay, Residence Inn for starters , pay half the price and get the same thing only better.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at this hotel unless you are wanting to waste your Money and not value your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Front Office Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Oceanaire. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay as much as your previous stays at our other properties.

I personally apologize that your expectations were not met regarding the property. We do appreciate your loyalty as a returning Gold Key guest, as we strive for consistency and excellent service at all of our properties. After reading your review, I will address your comments with our team. Again, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us this time, but I hope you give us another chance to earn your business back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here after last year staying at sister property next door. Ocean aire is modern and clean as well as v spacious for the price paid. Having a clean kitchen w granite and stainless steel in which to prepare meals was great. Indoor pool was also v nice and was allowing kids from noon til 8 in the off season. Would not have been so nice though if more than 25 people there as space is rather small. Would definitely stay here again. Would however plan on bringing my own coffee and cream since on site coffee provided is subpar and only powdered creamer was provided.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Front Office Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks Goodtimes4ever for your great review of Oceanaire! We shared your comments with the team and were delighted to hear that you enjoyed Aqua21 and the appointments in the room. We look forward to welcoming you home again on your next trip to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneys Point, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

This hotel resort is well worth the stay ,we have stayed at both ocean beach also and now we are so spoiled by the luxury of this one that we don't want to go back to ocean beach club although the are both great resorts the oceanaire out does the club substantially,i think that the windows that go from floor to ceiling gives it the ultimate touch and the fact that all rooms are ocean view,you wont be disappointed,we now go every year but be sure to book early they sell out fast.

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms,the balcony is larger and less noise if any,i also get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Front Office Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2014
Thanks Nathan T for your wonderful review. We have shared your review with the team and we all agree that the floor to ceiling windows add that little extra luxury! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back each year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Wonderful stay! They made sure we had our special room: the pelican unit, this time two floors higher than the last. I was very pleased that they made sure our "tradition" of spending our anniversary weekend there was possible. At first I did not think it was going to happen. They did not have the room I was looking for on the internet. I called the resort and they made sure we had our special room on the highest floor possible. The rooms were spotless! Thank you for making our weekend very special indeed!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Front Office Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Happy Anniversary GLioness! Thank you for including us in your anniversary weekend! We love being part of such a wonderful tradition and the team is ecstatic that they made it a special one! Our Pelican rooms are beautiful one bedroom Oceanfront suites (also rentable as a two bedroom with the adjoining studio) and we do our best to accommodate a request for one whenever they are available; we are glad we could make it happen and exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you for your next anniversary weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

WOW! if you need a place to unwind and relax in the most gorgeous of settings, come to Oceanaire - and make it more than one night!

The staff was so very professional and very welcoming. Parking was a breeze and even after we checked out, they kept our car for us so we could have breakfast across the street.

The room was lovely, and had a clean, modern kitchen area and a gorgeous balcony view of the beach. LOVED the bigger than normal size tub in the bathroom. The double beds were comfortable, although I would have preferred a queen bed.

The pool, with it's spacious jacuzzi and walk-out fire pit area afford a spectacular open view of the beach. It looks exactly as the pictures show and when you get to enjoy something like that with no screaming little kids underfoot, well...it's just heaven. It IS a 21 and over pool, but no, I was not about to be cheated out of the jacuzzi and firepit experience, so yes, my 15 year old (who is the silent type, was with us too. Frankly, it's one of the most relaxing, visually appealing hotel pool set ups I've ever enjoyed.

One minor complaint: the blue ray players, which are equipped with usb ports, do not work. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but we had bought a movie to enjoy via flash drive and after 30 minutes, and even bringing another player, the engineer gave up and admitted they don't work.
That's kind of a "lack of attention to detail' that makes one scratch their head because they clearly put a lot of thought into so many other things.

For adults, I definitely recommend this place to visit during the Fall season when kids have gone back to school. For parents: bring your kids during the summer months, I am sure kids have a ball in the kid pool which looks like a whole lot of fun!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Front Office Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thanks Romanse for your review of Oceanaire! The staff are all elated that you had a wonderful experience, in particular with the Valets and Aqua 21. Also mentioned in your review, were the troubles with the BluRay players accepting a USB flash drive; of which we have discussed and are addressing with our Engineering and IT departments. We also loan a variety of DVDs and BluRay movies (for free) from the front desk- so you are never without movie night! Thanks again for your great review and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanaire Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Address: 3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanaire Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanaire Resort Hotel offers oceanfront or ocean view deluxe rooms or one- and two-bedroom high-end suites with fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, and private balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. As the newest luxury resort at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Oceanaire combines a state-of-the art meeting facility with the very latest in accommodations and service. With two oceanfront outdoor pools, two indoor pools, plush bedding and linens, jetted tubs, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, an ocean view fitness center and valet parking, the guest experience at Oceanaire is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceanaire Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanaire Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.