We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very pretty!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oceanaire Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3rd Night Free!
Ranked #22 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Manassas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Very pretty!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we arrived we were warmly greeted. The clerk informed us that we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom condo/ suite. Glad because it the master had a king bed. We had a beautiful oceanfront view, make sure you ask for a room 12 floors or higher. The room rooms were clean and the kitchen had everything you needed to cook in.
The down side, construction right next door and they start early. Self parking is about 1 1/2 blocks away and is $12.00 a day Valet parking I think was $16.00 a day. Only 2 elevators which at times you had too wait for one. The AC in the master is very loud. But overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello SFK09,

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. While they are beautiful, the room type that you were upgraded into is not typically available as most are owned through our timeshare program. That being said, when the rare opportunity does present itself, we are happy to oblige requests for this room type. We do apologize for the construction noise; however, once the Hilton Garden Inn has completed construction (May 2014), there will be very little in the way of development on this side of the beach that will affect the guest experience at Oceanaire. I must make one observation regarding your post. You wrote that self parking was $12 and valet service was $16. We charge $8 for self parking and $16 for valet service. If you were charged incorrectly, please feel free to contact me at 757.213.0601 ext. 4566 and I will be happy to credit you any amount due. Thank you for your business and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again during your next trip to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    52
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
93
50
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I spent the weekend of Sept 21-23,2013 for our 6th yr wedding anniversary. We were not to pleased with the parking, the garage was a block away and you had to pay, but nevertheless that wasn't a big deal. The resort was beautiful as well as our oceanfront suite; but would have much rather had the balcony off the sitting area as well as the bedroom. The AC vent was located on the balcony & we could not here the ocean when it was running. The bed was very hard & small to be a queen size bed, but over all it was a really nice weekend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great hotel, very friendly staff. The suite was beautiful, very clean. The indoor pool, and fire pit was very nice. Was out there every night to relax. The children's pool is great for the kids. The view was amazing for the ocean.

Room Tip: Rooms either with ocean view or ocean front are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Hotel is very clean and nice. The staff are very helpful. I loved the Queen suite. Only thing..The queen suite does not have a queen bed, it is a standard bed. This is misleading on purpose. The view from the room which was an ocean view was wonderful. Not a lot of shopping and dinning close by. We walked several blocks to eat. Next day we drove. Parking if Valet is $16 per day. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was friendly, the room was very nice, and the price can't be beat. The amenities were enjoyable, there were 4 pools to choose from, my 5 year old enjoyed the children's pool, I enjoyed the 10th floor sundeck and the outdoor fireplace they have. Much better than the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront. Will stay here next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I was moved to this hotel which actually has cell phone reception whichost of the ocean front hotels don't. Huge rooms with floor to ceiling ocean views.
Staff was friendly. Pool was clean and heated which was great for December swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This would be a raving review, but I must start it out with the worst part, because it's the first thing we encountered. The hotel's parking garage is TWO BLOCKS AWAY, and as if the inconvenience isn't enough, you have to pay $8 a day for it! Let's be reasonable, it should cost money for the public to use it, but be free if you are staying with the hotel company that owns it. I was very surprised and disappointing with that from the get go.

Another issue we had (and this would effect nearby hotels as well) is the fact that gold key is building another hotel right next door, so we heard construction noise almost the entire day. Nothing like the sweet sound of waves crashing, and jackhammers hammering. I wouldn't normally count this against a hotel, but it's the same owners. I certainly wish they would have waited for winter months.

The next issue (which is minor, but mentionable) is that we never found a door that was direct access to the beach. Maybe we missed it, but from what we could tell we had to go out the main door, play frogger through the cars in line for valet, cross part of a road and then hit the sand. Not a long distance, nor a big deal, but seems like a silly design.

As far as the hotel itself, the room was great, the pools were excellent, the hot tub that seats 12 was a perfect temp (not blazing hot), and the staff was really friendly. Having a kitchen in the room was also excellent.

We did enjoy our stay, and had it not been for expensive & far away parking this would probably be a 5/5 review.



This would be a 5 star review if they had free

Room Tip: If you are asked to come to the concierge to get your wristband, don't bother. It only takes 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanaire Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Address: 3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanaire Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanaire Resort Hotel offers oceanfront or ocean view deluxe rooms or one- and two-bedroom high-end suites with fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, and private balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. As the newest luxury resort at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Oceanaire combines a state-of-the art meeting facility with the very latest in accommodations and service. With two oceanfront outdoor pools, two indoor pools, plush bedding and linens, jetted tubs, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, an ocean view fitness center and valet parking, the guest experience at Oceanaire is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Oceanaire Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanaire Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.