We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the weekend or summer rates.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanaire Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the weekend or summer rates.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

$200 a night for a 2 bedroom suite is reasonable. The weekend rate of $800 is not. The suites are small. You cant even get the closet door open all the way because the room is so crammed full of furniture.

Furniture is nice but not very comfortable. Beds are very comfortable.

Families beware, the pool you've seen photos of is beautiful but it's 21 and over only at all hours. Kids are allowed at the hotel next door's pool but it's dated and not as well kept.

I'd also avoid this hotel until at least late 2014. The time share company is building yet another hotel and the noise gets really bad.

Overall this is a 3 star hotel trying to act like a 5 star. The techno music throbbing in the lobby got really old.

Find a promo code and get a good deal but dont fall for the time share pitch. We wasted 2.5 hours of hard sales pitch (despite being told it would be 90-120 minutes). I've been through a few of these over the years, this was the most painfull by far. Not worth the $50 dinner gift card.

Room Tip: If you stay in 2013-2014, ask for a room on the north side of the building, away from the constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    55
    27
    13
    12
See reviews for
98
56
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Thank you so much for saving my baby Vacay! Stopped in for a one night stay in late April with my wife and son. Oceanaire is more for the adult lifestyle with an above 21 indoor pool and spa but all customers have access to all pools on the premises to include the indoor pool next door geared toward families with children. The room was awesome with everything you need and clean. Staff were kind and very helpful. Classy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We came down here with friends who own at the Oceanaire and attended the supposed hour long seminar,that ended up being closer to three hours.We had interest in possibly becoming owners like our friends and were subjected to that old "used car salesman"pitch.The inital rep. must have sensed that we were not too thrilled with him when another more brash gentleman came out.He asked us what he could do to make a deal today.I felt as though there was someone else next to come out if we didn't deal with him and I was right.They proceeded to drop from a $52,000 3 bedroom Oceanview,which gives you a mostly side view of the Ocean Club building,to a $12,000 2 bedroom Oceanfront at the property next door.Our kids were being babysat by our friends for this time and we were quite anxious to get back to them and so we agreed on this price.It seems that we were then "punished',by having to sit in the waiting room for almost an hour until we signed the papers.The resort is really beautiful,the staff very friendly,but the sales staff are creepy!We then went to the Martini Bar on Friday night in the Oceanaire and all the sales staff were in there.After all the time we spent with them,not a single one of them said hello or acknowledged us.Bottom line the resorts are top notch,the people ...not so much.DON'T let them pick your pocket !!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you know Oceanview gives you a small side view from a balcony.Oceanfront is a direct facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

U pay for room-u have a street view. Pay for ocean view-u may count on getting side of hotel. U pay for ocean front-have a ocean front room. Pls! those customers complain about view, get terminology right.We stayed only for weekend-the BEST room ever!!! Only year old hotel.on beach. Large, modern decor rooms-still smells like paint. First hotel n my life was not afraid go barefoot n carpet. Beds not king, but comfy, very clean. Stuff friendly and helpfull-all of them. If u have room w kitchenette, ready to cook , they have even dishwashers! I absolutely enjoyed this place. Thank U, it was my best getaway ever:)))

Room Tip: Pay more for ocean front-if u want the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The decore in the rooms was very nice. Beware of the "ocean view" versus "ocean front". Ocean view means you might get a glimps of the ocean if you turn your head at the perfect angle. Bar and pool area was small and not designed for mingling. It is dark and cozy which is great for that one on one romantic experience. The beds are small and extremely cozy for two adults. Rooms were very sound proof... you cold not hear the planes flying over unless you open the patio door.

Room Tip: Demand a ocean front room... beware that an ocean view room will not guarantee a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed there the week of March 10th 2013 and it was like staying on a California earthquake. Apparently another resort is going up two buildings over and all we heard all day was the noise from construction in addition to the entire room shaking with each pounding of the construction equipment. It was horrible. Then we were surprised that we had to pay a daily parking fee upon checkout. Parking should be included with the stay. The hotel's decor was nice, but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if construction is going on near the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Checked into OceanAire saturday night, April 6. Checkin took a while as there were two groups ahead of us, each asking a lot of questions. The staff member apologizied for the wait, she was very friendly. Actual checking in was quick and simple.

Stayed in the one-bedroom oceanfront suite. The room was amazing from the stainless steel appliances, to the granite countertops, the amazing huge windows, the whole left wall was windows! with great views. The room was very clean and everything worked properly.

The only downside is paying for parking $7 a day and we called to ask for coffee as there was only decaf provided and the staff that answered the phone was quite rude.

Other than those two things amazing hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanaire Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Address: 3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanaire Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanaire Resort Hotel offers oceanfront or ocean view deluxe rooms or one- and two-bedroom high-end suites with fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, and private balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. As the newest luxury resort at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Oceanaire combines a state-of-the art meeting facility with the very latest in accommodations and service. With two oceanfront outdoor pools, two indoor pools, plush bedding and linens, jetted tubs, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, an ocean view fitness center and valet parking, the guest experience at Oceanaire is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceanaire Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanaire Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.