We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oceanaire Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early & Save 15%
Ranked #33 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Hopewell, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pros> nice pools
>good lounge
>Nice staff, very friendly
>stayed in 2BR apt, VERY NICE!!!
>good housekeeping in the rooms!

>Cons--Hot tub stank and had green foam in it.

all in all very suitable and nice hotel! Kids loved it and it is right there on the beach! We went in Oct and the outdoor pools are warm enough if the sun is out and it's warm... the indoor pool is very warm and the room was warm too! kids loved it.

Room Tip: almost all rooms have at least partial ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    50
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
48
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spend 75 percent on my life living in hotels due to my profession. I have been to a very large variety of them and have experienced the many pros and cons to hotel life. While on vacation, the first in years mind you because I work alot, I was hoping that the experience would be something to remember. Your first step into the lobby reminds you of stepping back into the days of the "Rat Pack". To your left is a martini bar, the atmosphere is fantastic. You are immediately met by staff. In fact you cant get away from the staff enroute to your room. They were incredibly helpful. The adult only pool provides, near the martini bar provides an oppotunity to enjoy an adult night yet through the doors no farther than perhaps 100 feet is the family area with an outdoor and indoor pool. The views from the rooms are awesome. I was treated like and felt like someone worth having there... They make you feel very welcomed. They provide top notch atmosphere at the beach as well, insuring that sun umbrellas are provided which are not 15 yrs old but very neat and clean. There is a tiki bar approx 150 feet from the front lobby and near the pool area. It has a retro yet classy taste to its atmosphere that particularly caught my intrest. I inquired on my own as to how to purchase a time share and did so.... I am already looking forward to returning and its been two months. I highly reccommend this hotel for a chance to get away and give it a 10 out of 10. You wont regret it...

Room Tip: Right now is the time to reserve a room. They are offering deals due to the hotels upper stories bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great staff - very friendly and accomodating. Great views from all rooms, and hotel is steps from the beach and boardwalk with many dining and entertainment options in walking distance. I recommend this hotel for work or personal trips and

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I loved my stay at the Oceanaire! The hotel is absolutely beautiful & the staff was wonderful. The hotel is great for families, as there are several pools that are kid friendly but the hotel would also be a great place to ''get-away'' for a romantic weekend!! I will definintely come back!! This time for a longer stay!

Room Tip: ocean front rooms are amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great place to stay, great location. Front desk not friendly, adding extra charges to bill. Internet charges showed up on my bill, when asked about them the young lady was not so nice bout it. Kitchen was lovely, of course we had to cook in it one night. It was worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was in Va Beach for a meeting and the hotel where my boss was staying was sold out so they told me about the Oceanaire. Wow, I sure got the better end of that deal. My room was glorious. I had a wonderful view and I can't wait to go back with friends.

The hotel upgraded me to a two bedroom suite and it was such a treat. The rooms are lovely, the balconey's are private and spacious and the bathrooms are a real gem.

The staff was incredible. I was especially pleased with the valet/bell service, these guys were curteous and prompt and seem to really enjoy their jobs. That says a lot to me about how the hotel is run.

I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The adult only pool and the club area on the 10th floor (i beleive) was the only thing that impressed me about the Oceanaire. I rate the room service below average because the lady seemed like she had an attitude with us when we kindly asked her to return in about 10-15 minutes to clean our room. The safe worked when we opened it, but locked and our code wouldn't work so after calling maintenance, he came, couldn't fix it, said he would come back and NEVER did. The room was extremely small which is crazy because I expected so much more at $700 a night. Mr. Dexter was extremely rude at the front desk, but luckily there was another lady there that was nice. Parking is ridiculous. You pay $700 plus a night for room, only to pay an additional feel for parking, sheesh. I've stayed at other places on the strip that offered free parking and free breakfast, oceanfront and had a great time. I did love the adult only pool; otherwise, I honestly wasn't impressed with the place and wouldn't recommend it to friends because they can stay somewhere else for cheaper and still have an amazing vacation.

Room Tip: check out the rooftop area, it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanaire Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Address: 3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanaire Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanaire Resort Hotel offers oceanfront or ocean view deluxe rooms or one- and two-bedroom high-end suites with fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, and private balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. As the newest luxury resort at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Oceanaire combines a state-of-the art meeting facility with the very latest in accommodations and service. With two oceanfront outdoor pools, two indoor pools, plush bedding and linens, jetted tubs, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, an ocean view fitness center and valet parking, the guest experience at Oceanaire is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Oceanaire Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanaire Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.